We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Coachman
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable & welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a pleasant hotel, comforting, helpful staff and all within easy reach to the city centre. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer! We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    46
    17
    1
See reviews for
38
58
14
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Coachman, and both times have been excellent. The studio rooms and bathroom are done to a high standard. Bed is large and comfortable. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. Buffet breakfast in the cafe is excellent with a huge range of juices. The spa pool is so relaxing at the end of the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyloo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have been staying at the Coachman since I was a child and I have always taken away the most fantastic memories. The accommodation has always been modern and super clean and tidy. The staff are exceptional and always ready to help out. Its in a great location and only a minute's walk to the plaza which has great shopping. All and all its always a great experience :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy101HawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckalnd
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

WE stayed over Easter along with 2 other couples, the hotel itself is older but very clean and comfortable.
The staff were all lovely and the cafe is exellent, we found the food to be of a very high standard and service was EXELLENT !!
The location is good to, just a short walk to the shops and other cafes.
We got the deal on grab one and it couldn't of been better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We took advantage of the grab One coupon offer and were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was warm, reception staff welcoming. We had upgraded and found the suite to be very roomy. The mini bar was very well stocked and very generous supplies of top rate the complementary tea and coffee. The hotel has an outside swimming pool spa and gym, all available at no extra cost. The full cooked breakfast in the adjoining restaurant La Patio included in the coupon deal was excellent with an extensive menu to suit all tastes. I was especially pleased to see soya milk on the counter without having to ask for it. The breakfast was so good that we returned for lunch even though we had checked out that morning. Special mention must be made of the Maitre ' D, Tama who was so welcoming. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: As its on the busy road, choose a room away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vomo2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We spent only one night at this hotel. The rooms are nothing to write home about but the service was very good and accommodating as we had two mountain bikes that needed safe storage that they let us put in the front office. The restaurant was very good. We had the venison, which was excellent! The only negative aspect of this stay was the bed. It was terrible! Honestly, the worst bed I have slept in...well, ever. It was a giant sink hole that my partner and I could hardly get out of. We did tell the desk staff the next day and they said they would replace it. Hope so. Just in case, it's room 101. Other than the bed, it was a decent hotel with very nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanPN, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Hotel Coachman is very disappointed to hear about the poor quality of the bed in your room. After the maintenance department investigated the issue they found the foundation had been broken and was in need of repair. Everything has been sorted out and we hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the Coachman 23rd 24th 25th March, Had not been here for a number of years and it was a pleasure to come back.
Many facilities including very good restaurant/bar, gym, etc. The staff wer eall very good and the restaurant meals were to a very high standard, all in all a great place to stay....

Room Tip: we had a great room upstairs at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#16 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Property: Hotel Coachman
Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing