We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Keep Coming Back Because,...”

Bella Vista Motel Palmerston North
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Palmerston North
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“I Keep Coming Back Because,...”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I'm a repeat user of this and other Bella Vista motels around New Zealand. I have stayed at the Palmerston North motel numerous times over the last couple of years. I have always found the proprieters to be welcoming and friendly, and accomodating with any request I have made. The accomodation is always meticulously presented, and maintained in the same order when staying for more than one night with the room serviced daily. Great in-room facilities include multiple tv channels, free wi-fi, and a nice touch with the complimentary biscuits. I will be continuing to use this motel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
8
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

They charged $180 for 4 people and provided ONE small cake of soap. When asked for 3 more, he said he was in bed already and on informing him that there should be 4 pieces in the first instance, he provided another TWO and asked me to collect from his reception. There was no gel for the shower and he said he was sorry as he had run out of stock.
Their website stated $5 for 24 hours of internet but he charged an additional $18.50 for the internet.
There was also no newspaper given as stated on their website.
He was rude, recalcitrant and had no sense of customer service. He should be put out to pasture if he is so unhappy to accede to his guests' reasonable request for soap and shower gel.
There was no heater in the bedroom except for an electric blanket and the wall heater in the living room had a roaring fan that sounded like a kettle boiling.
The lamp in the kitchen was blown and he replaced it eventually.
Do not come to this poor excuse of a motel as there are numerous motels everywhere whose owners provide what is expected in a hospitality industry.
We were only expecting minimum standards and did not make unreasonable requests.
There is certainly less than a minimum standard here - blown lamp, ONE soap, no shower gel, high internet charges, no newspaper and absolutely NO SERVICE.
If you need anything, you have to collect it yourself from the reception as he is too comfortable staying in his warm bed.
What a RIP-OFF!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joni A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLAPN, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Palmerston North, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanyou for your feedback and it was certainly disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us.
Whilst we do welcome feedback and are always looking at ways to improve,I would like to make a few clarifications to some points that have been raised.
100mb of complimentary WI-FI is provided each day,excess traffic is charged at 2 cents per m/b.
This is stated on our website and was advised at checkin.The total amount used in your case was 1024mb or 1.024gb therefore has been charged accordingly.
We were advised of light bulb not working in your room prior to your leaving property for dinner, it was replaced and working on your return to the room.
Three pieces of soap were provided to you at reception at 10.30pm and our office hours are 7.30am to 9.30pm each day. Unfortunately we were out of shower gel due to a supplier shortage and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.
We provide a complimentary newspaper Monday to Friday on request as outlined in our room compendium as well as our website.
It was unfortunate that you did not raise your concerns or the fact that you were unhappy with your stay to give us an opportunity to make it right for you.
Warm Regards
Erin and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

As a return customer, my wife and I recently stayed for two nights while attending my eldest son's wedding. The first time was to attend my youngest son's wedding two years ago. My sister and her nephew also stayed here both times.

The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean, tidy and comfortable. Having a hot shower is an amazing experience on its own.

We will always stay at Bella Vista in Palmerston North. As it is a hotel chain, no matter which city you stay at, Bella Vista is setup the same and therefore feels comfortably familiar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OniTora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I spent 2 nights at Bella Vista PN and found my stay enjoyable. The room was cleaned to the highest standard and the room I had was a good size, great bathroom facilities. WhenIi returned back to the motel on the second day my room was again presented to the same standard it was on my arrival,I was impressed. The owners were very friendly and helpful and I found the motel served my purpose very well while I was there on business and I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Very close to the inner city for those on business
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Three generations of women shared a room at this lovely studio apartment motel. Everything was great, from the daily servicing to the friendly helpful staff. The room was a bit cold and the wall heater noisy, but it was no trouble to be given a column oil heater as well. A quiet environment and great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for disabled access if you need it - the Bella Vista Palmy North can cater for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I booked at this Motel and on the day before I travelled I became ill and couldn't go. Today I discovered that the owner charged me $155.00. You expect that in big cities in Europe. It is not acceptable in New Zealand. Do not deal with these people. They don't deserve to be in business.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank agwAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Bella Vista - beautiful view. Well, there is no view. Palmerston North is flat and the only vista is a carpark.

The Bella Vista is a chain in NZ. Most of their hotels are very similar layouts. The rooms are small, very small. Clean and tidy but the linen is old and the bedspreads tired. It's a cheaper option so I'll cut them some slack but you really couldn't swing a cat in their rooms.

The bathrooms are clean and there is good shower pressure. The hotel is close to the CBD and restaurants. Palmerston North is a student city and my visits are for business. This place does not feature on any tourist itineraries and rightly so.

My advice? Book elsewhere but only if you have to go to Palmerston North.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.8 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmerston North Motel
Palmerston North Motel
#14 of 25 in Palmerston North
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Palmerston North

Property: Bella Vista Motel Palmerston North
Address: 172-174 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Palmerston North 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing