We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like sleeping in daylight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Kauri Court
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like sleeping in daylight!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Clean and tidy, but.....

The bathroom has been recently renovated with a great shower and bath, but the heater in the bathroom is a joke.....on a timer that only operates for about two mintues before turning off!

Kitchen was OK, but lacking if you like to cook for yourself.

Studio room had a king sized bed, that could be split into two singles, and a single bed, with a couple of chairs, a very small table with three chairs jammed around it (it was not big enough for three people to dine at) They are trying to squeeze as may people as they can it to a very small space. I would certainly not consider three people sharing this space.

The worst feature was there is a school next door with big bright lights that shine all night, along with the outdoor lights of the motel, it was like sleeping trying to sleep in daylight! I felt like a possum caught in headlights.

I travel alot with my job (away very week) and this has to be one of the worst nights sleeps I have had in over six years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauricourt, Owner at Comfort Inn Kauri Court, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We were not aware with the school lights in the unit however the light has been black out. We are very sorry for the lack of sleep that you had experience.
The bathroom heater was newly install and therefore was on 2 minute timer unknown to us. This has been adjusted. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Our refurnished kitchen meets the 4 star Qualmark requirements which is first negative comment from guests.

Kathryn MacManus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
14
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Are you looking for a well appointed, very clean and spacious motel room? Do you like a large, firm and comfortable bed, a well-appointed big bathroom and a good kitchen? And is a quiet location within 5 minutes drive of the city centre important? You won't do better than Kauri Court, which is a solidly built, fully refurbished motel with both upstairs and ground floor units and good parking. The owners are very flexible too, allowing us to turn up late and check out early as we travel from Auckland to stay here when motor racing at Feilding, and they also happily accomodate our race cars on trailers in their car park. We get great service, friendly people and a good nights sleep every time. We are regular (annual) customers here and have no reason to look elsewhere. Recommend.

Room Tip: Access to the upstairs rooms is via an external staircase so keep this in mind if you have young chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanfamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnybrook, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is another one I would return to. It was in a quiet location even though only a couple of blocks from the main part of town. It was clean, room was quite big enough, armchairs for watching TV or just relaxing was a plus. Kitchen layout was one of the best I've seen with even a bench (table) and chairs to eat at. Hostess was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 303heatherlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Marvellous accommodation with a high spec and fully equipped kitchen (full oven, hob, microwave and even a dishwasher !), also high spec TV's, washing machine, tumble-dryer, comfy beds, grill barbecue on site, good speed wireless internet - what more could you wish for ? The proprietors were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. It was the best place that we can ever remember staying in - during many years of visiting New Zealand. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Basic, tidy, big room that was a boring layout, but had all we needed.. But was not cleaned after the person prior to us. There was half used milk in the fridge, more than half used soap in the bathroom and the bed was not made properly (I realised when I pulled back the covers and it was like someone had just got out- not cool). That was all a shame that this was overlooked as it didn't make me feel comfortable. Never mind, I'd give it another go. But seriously, make sure the room is cleaned! This matters a lot to people :D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Within minutes of having enquired (in person) after the apartment accommodation at this establishment, the gentleman at reception, presumably the owner, proceeded to tell us "these are quite expensive". Perhaps he thought we did not look like we could afford it? We were neither rude nor dressed inappropriately so my daughter and I were both very surprised and quite offended by his less-than-friendly attitude. He did, however, show us one of the apartments which was modern, clean and well appointed. Too little too late I'm afraid as I had already decided that we were not going to be treated like second class citizens. Unfortunate as this could have been a pleasant long term accommodation option for my daughter who next year is completing the final year of her degree.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaN289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Owner at Comfort Inn Kauri Court, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review You have brought to our attention problems that we were not aware off.The heater timer had just been replaced and had not be reset by the electrician to it maximum time.It has been reset now.Looking to attach black out linings to the drapes. Very sorry for the lack of sleep.The layout for the kitchen and lounge will are looking at ways to improve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this place using our FlyBuys points and when we arrived we were greeted by this little gem.The Apartments were very well appointed and very quiet.
The only let down was a bathroom door that was stuck.
Overall it was great find in PN.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.1 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rose City Motel
Rose City Motel
#4 of 36 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Kauri Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kauri Court

Property: Comfort Inn Kauri Court
Address: 248 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand (Formerly Kauri Court Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Kauri Court 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Kauri Court is a well maintained property that offers 4 star accommodation, with 12 studio units and 4 well appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments opened in May 2011. Located 1.5 kms from the CPD and 3 kms from Massey University. Close to parks and major sport venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Kauri Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing