We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose City Motel
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfy and great location”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Motel was clean and spacious - great for kids. The kitchen was well equipped The staff were nice. The location is great - just a few minute stroll to the main shopping centre and countdown supermarket. Only let-down was the playground was small and consistented of just a trampoline.
Being on one of the main roads into the city, this also meant a lot of traffic and noise at times.

Room Tip: We had an apartment suite, which was great with the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie_trubshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
18
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in town to find everywhere booked out, but Rose City had a cancellation. Someone's loss was our gain. Great unit, clean, comfortable, spacious and well equipped. We had 3 nights there and the management were helpful and pleasant. Excellent wifi, which we have found to be rare in NZ.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sfh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here with a sports team and they were very good at coping with us. The squash court was an added bonus for our group. The rooms are a good size and I stayed in an upstairs 2 bedroom unit. This had a fridge/freezer which was excellent for catering purposes.
The bathroom however is getting a bit tired and we were missing a couple of things in our unit such as toaster, but on the whole the unit was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0lyn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Lovely clean motel, with lovely hosts. Stayed here 2 nights whilst visiting our daughter for her birthday. We could walk to restaurants and shopping mall from the motel. So central. It was good value and quiet. Definately would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Definitely worth staying here. We asked the motel next door first if they had a unit with separate rooms and they didn't, but offered us a studio. We then went next door to Rose City and they offered us a large, two room unit for roughly the same price. Very clean, very tidy. Quick walk into town. Reception staff are very friendly, as is the motel cat the hangs around and enjoys all the attention you can give him. Highly recommended.

Was also nice to receive a letter from them a month of two later thanking us for our visit. Very kind.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
381 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Friendly and helpful front office staff, immaculate and comfortable unit and walking distance to city centre.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper due to traffic noise, ask for a room near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Arriving at Palmerston North without a booking we had though we would stay at the Kingsgate Hotel however on finding that it was fully booked we stayed at the Rose City Motel
just down from it and were not disappointed. Spacious rooms and very quiet with a well set up kitchenette. People at Reception Desk were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Motel
Hacienda Motel
#2 of 36 in Palmerston North
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose City Motel

Property: Rose City Motel
Address: 120-122 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose City Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose City Motel, quality accommodation in the centre of Palmerston North. With newly renovated studio, spa studio, one bedroom and executive units, we have perfect motel suite for that special occasion, business trip or family holiday. Conveniently situated just a 3 minute walk from The Square with shops, theatres, cafes, restaurants at your doorstep. All units with free Ultra fast internet access, and Sky Guest Select 50+ Channels for your viewing pleasure. The airport, universities, golf & other sporting amenities are nearby. On-site facilities include spa pool, squash court, guest laundry, and peaceful garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rose City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing