We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
Destiny on Fitzherbert(Palmerston North)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
$87
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzherbert Castle Motel(Palmerston North)
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harringtons Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$78
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aubyn Court Spa Motel(Palmerston North)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerston North Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Studios Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broadway Motor Inn(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
103
172
84
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
172
84
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicetwin roomgood sizelocation is greatwould stay againbed and pillowsbuffet breakfastfree wifibusiness tripheat pumpcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 383 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This Hotel was chosen because it was in a good position when travelling from Wellington to Napier. After experiencing the Hotel which apart from the front desk and restaurant did not seem to have stayed up with the times. Felt that I was in the 80's when in our room. The Staff were ever so nice and were what I remembered of my stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We chose the Travelodge for the price to begin with but realized that we made an excellent choice. We stayed in the Heritage Queen room and it was comfortable and nice. There is a 24 hour check in, which was nice after a 2 hour drive from Wellington and an option of dinner, even though we were after the dinner time.
Customer service was a big plus, very hospitable and nice. Everything was clean and tidy, very new decor and we really enjoyed ourselves there.
The hotel is in walking distance of the main street and gorgeous little cafes are around the corner .
Highly recommended to partners and business customers alike.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKEandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We were surprised how good this place was for the price ($89), maybe it was an introductory special as the place is near brand new when we stayed.

It was a 5 minute walk from main part of town and had very secure parking, although limited to a first come first served basis.

Very clean and modern room, reasonably sized. Nice beds - maybe could have done with a table and chairs though as we had nowhere really to eat.

The restaurant looked good but was booked out for a wedding so can't comment on food, menu looked nice however.

I'd expect the room to be more expensive in the future, and would still go back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

The Travelodge in Palmerston North is a very pleasant hotel. The rooms are new, very clean and most importantly, the beds are new and comfortable with good quality linen. All the usual services are available with a reasonable restaurant and a nice bar called Noir. The Travelodge is a very good quality four star property and to date it is the best property that I have stayed in on visits to Palmerston North.

Good deals can be found on various accommodation websites so shop around. You will be very content with your stay here.

We have held a number of conferences at this venue and they have always been very successful. I would recommend the conference facilities here. The hotel is conveniently located close to the main square with good parking on the surrounding streets. Parking is available at the rear of the hotel for guests.

I would be happy to recommend the property to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

My Husband, Our 8 Year Son and I have just come back from a 3 night stay at the Travelodge Hotel in Palmerston North.

When we checked in we were given a room which had 1 Queen Bed only in it, I went to check in and asked for another room as we had booked a room with 2 Queen beds. The reception staff were very good and very professional, and they apologised for their mistake and we were given another room with 2 Queen sized beds.

The room was very clean, I was most impressed by that and for a Hotel room I felt it was a good size. We were on the third floor and we were in the newer block.. The bathroom did`nt go all steamy when having a shower as they had a really good fan system. The shower was over a bath and they provided soap, shampoo and conditioner - but not shower gel.
The room had air conditioning, and the rooms were sound proof, but above us we could hear the people above walking around. We did`nt hear showers running or people talking next to us, even though those rooms were being used. I think the windows are sound proof, as we did`nt hear any cars or outside sounds at all.

The beds were firm, but we got used to that after our second night. They had feather down duvets and pillows on the beds which were nice.
The staff were very professional. We asked for wake up calls each morning and on the second morning I had accidently not hung the phone up properly - well one of the staff members knocked on our door to tell us , they were manually telling us it was our wake up call as the phone was off the hook ! The phone manners of the staff were very professional too, I would ring up to ask for extra bath towels etc and each time I rang the staff members would say " Thankyou for ringing reception, this is...speaking how can I help you." If They had to contact me for some reason in our room, they would always call me "Mrs ... " which I did`nt expect at all, but it showed me they have a high standard of manners there.

The lobby was always clean, and each morning when we would go to breakfast at the Hotel the staff would always say "Good Morning " to us with a smile!

The Hotel has an old lift which would have been with the building when it was first built, the lift leads to the older rooms, and "I just HAD TO have a turn on the lift! "I asked as well if I could please see one of the older rooms, just out of curiosity and Laura (she was my favourite receptionist - so full of smiles and pleasant and she was not TRYING to be pleasant it was natural), well Laura took us to see what one of the older rooms were like and they were nice too! The older rooms have been renovated and the room was nicely painted and they had a new bathroom in it which went with the old style of the room, they had a heat pump and an oil heater in there, and the furnishings, although new went perfectly with the room ! It was very nice. I would prefer to stay in the newer part which we stayed in though as it was warmer and lighter.

The Hotel have free apples at reception too which I thought was a nice touch!

The restaurant was nice, we had breakfast there each day and they had on 2 of the days a buffet breakfast, which consisted of 5 different cereals, yoghurts, tinned fruit, fresh fruit, toast, crumpets, danishes, baked beans, scrambled eggs, poached eggs, bacon, sausages, french toast, pancakes orange juice, pineapple juice, coffee etc. The third day was continental breakfast and we ordered off the A La Carte menu, which was nice. The restaurant itself was nice and big and light, with nice chairs.

The Hotel is situated within walking distance to the CBD, we would leave the car at The Hotel and go shopping and we walked to restaurants as well.

My only complaints about the Hotel, is the lack of parking, there are 20 secure car parks which are in a locked area, and there are heaps more rooms than 20. You had to "be in " to get a secure car park otherwise you ended up parking your car on the road outside the Hotel, I was told they have a security person there at night, but I did`nt see one. Luckily we were able to park in the secure park each night.
The TVs were also not wide screen, and I would have like it, if they had have supplied shower gel. There is also no laundry there to do personal washing.

But other than that I would DEFINATLY stay at this Hotel again! It was very clean, very tidy, the staff were professional and I just LOVED it there!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minnie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews