We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent a relaxing couple of nights here while at a conference. Room was very comfortable and clean with feather duvet & pillows. Staff very friendly and helpful and room service prompt. The hotel is close to main attractions, cafes & shops that are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Kaye W

Thanks for reviewing the hotel I am pleased you had a pleasant experience and the hotel suited your needs. It’s always good to get positive feedback from our guests. We do pride ourselves on our team friendliness, and I will pass you’re feedback on to our team

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 358 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Each year, for the past five, we have hosted a seminar at the Travelodge which has included our use of conference facilities, rooms for accommodation and the restaurant. For the first three occasions this property was managed by and branded Novotel, and in the past two years, Travelodge. On each occasion we have been extremely satisfied with both the facilities and the service. This is not luxury, but of a suitable standard for business travelers. The premises are clean and professionally presented; staff are courteous and helpful; restaurant food enjoyable.

We needed to stay alert - we had to ask to be relocated to another conference room after a musical show started up in an adjoining room making our room unusable. We were also not happy with the packeted cookies served for afternoon tea. However, these incidents did not dampen our overall rating of the Travelodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear DavidandSuzanne

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. I only recently taken over this property and I was a bit concern about the cookies. I have spoken to our conference team and we have identified the problem. We are looking forward to your next visit to show that we do pride ourselves in excellent service.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Best sleep I had all week on a business trip. Not sure if it was the bed, the pillows and/or the quiet rooms but I had a great sleep. Staff at check in and check out were fast and efficient which helped when were catching an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay - we often get great feedback about our comfortable beds, we are pleased you were nicely rested before your early start.

We welcome you back at your next visit to Palmerston North.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly helpful staff. Room well laid out with comfortable bed. location is great such a short walk to the city.Nosh resturant was well worth a visit with a good menu.Book direct online and it is cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurfette352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for providing your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit to Palmerston North.

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As aircrew we are here every night.
The rooms are ok,apart for the air con in summer,which doesn't seem to work in most rooms on the 5 th floor.
Not enough towels,face cloths,very basic bathroom.
As for minibar prices,well cheaper in the Hilton in AKL. All other hotels we stay in are far cheaper.
Breakfast very average selection and when the chef does turn up staff very unfriendly. Croissants are not fresh and are hard and stale. U could take someone out if u through it.
Dinner meals very average.
Stay at the Kingsgate or Coachman Hotels. They are better.
Oh and the night audit guy is never there,as rung many occasions with no answer. What if there is an emergency?

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Aircrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We acknowledge we did have a problem with the air conditioning last summer however we did all we could to ensure guests were kept up to date and comfortable, including other room options, till the fault was located and parts arrived from overseas.

We welcome your other feedback and have taken note.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a 24 hour break here on a wet, winter Saturday and enjoyed the warm, well appointed room and comfortable bed. Everything looked clean and fresh.
The staff were efficient and friendly. The restaurant looked a bit bland so we did not venture in but had a wonderful breakfast at the brilliant "Tomato" cafe a short stroll away and there are lots of other cafes nearby.Location is ideal for shopping and eating out.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as it's quieter. There are great online deals available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LCJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed the lovely George Street cafes and shopping areas of the city.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is one of the better business type hotels around. The rooms are big, clean, comfortable and airy. Service is friendly and helpful without being over the top. The hotel is well located with a view about as good as it gets in Palmerston North.

This will be my first choice on any trips to Palmerston North and I think that generally it sets a standard that other hotels would do well to follow.

I liked thr breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback following your stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and even more pleased Travelodge is your hotel of choice. We welcome you back.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
#4 Business Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range: $65 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. Accessible rooms and spa suite ideal for honeymooners. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing