We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, great staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed one night in the Travelodge Palmerston North. I managed to secure a very good last minute rate. I was so pleasantly surprised that from check in to check out, the service was fantastic, the rooms where super clean and fresh and the hotel itself had a fabulous location. Having stayed in the Kingsgate Palmerston North previously, I wasn't expecting much from a Palmerston North hotel but I was very surprised and would happily recommend Travelodge to anybody.

The only let down was that I arrived at the hotel at approx 1:30am after being out in Palmerston North and the nightbell buzzer wasn't working. I had forgotten my access card and the only way I gained access was by luck that another guest arrived at the same time and let me in. I questioned the receptionist when he gave me a new card and he told me it hadn't been working in years. To me this is simply not good enough and should have been resolved as soon as it was discovered it wasn't working as a matter of security. This is the one thing that made my overall rating "very good" instead of "excellent". Other than this my stay was great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realaucklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel.

I am very pleased that you did enjoy our team, rooms and facilities, we are very proud to have such great feedback from guests like yourselves. The issue you encountered with being able to access the hotel at such an early time of the morning has been resolved. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 362 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

I used to live around the corner from the Travelodge, actually watched it being built, but for obvious reasons never got to stay there. I recently paid a visit to Palmerston North and was able to get a good rate on the Travelodge: I was very happy with the experience of staying here. The check in was friendly, the wee bar area off to the side was warm and had Becks on tap, and the room was very good - clean, decently sized, with a good sized desk area. As I didn't have the problems the previous reviewer had with the TV, I presume I stayed after they were replaced. The hotel is on Cuba Street so it is only a short walk to the cafes on George Street and, once there, you're only a block from the Square.

The only slight downside, and its more of this being a hotel in Palmerston North than the hotel itself, is that the views are almost guaranteed to be uninspiring. But, hey, with a nice warm, clean hotel room does that matter?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel, and that after seeing the hotel being built, you had opportunity to come and stay!

I am very pleased that you did enjoy our team, rooms and bar one7five – you are correct, it is a lovely bar. We are very proud to have such great feedback from guests, especially from those returning to Palmy to enjoy the city and all it has to offer. You are absolutely correct, the TVs and receiver have all been upgraded away from the old analogue system and now is completely digital with flat screen televisions.

Welcome back anytime!

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

As our son lives in Palmerston North, we stay often and have always been happy with this hotel. However, after our latest visit, we received a Visa bill for $4 for peanuts from the mini-bar, which we did not consume. We wrote to the hotel and explained we did not remove peanuts from the mini-bar. They did not even reply. Out of principle, we wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 420Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I appreciate the time you have taken.

I am genuinely concerned regarding the feedback about the peanuts and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to - and certainly credit back the peanuts! Unfortunately the system appears to have broken down in this instance and your email has not reached me, however I am very happy to rectify this for you, please do contact me directly and personally at the hotel.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed for a conference - the staff were very helpful and attentive.
Food was good but there is no room service breakfast, have to buy a newspaper and the channel on the TV never worked properly. When Iasked for a service man he came smelling of cigarettes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Dear Alicia

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

Just last week we have had a new digital system installed at the hotel to replace our old analogue system which has certainly improved the reception on the televisions - we were very excited to see the new clear picture!

I am pleased you enjoyed our teams' service - we pride ourselves on being helpful and attentive. In the future, we are looking into providing room service breakfast in addition to our full weekday buffet, and if the demand is there, room service breakfast will be added to our in-room dinner service. Newspapers are provided free of charge to return guests.

Also, my apologies for the cigarette smell on the person who came to your room, we do have strict guidelines around managing this issue for the comfort of guests however obviously that was insufficient at this time.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. If you do have any further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

It's OK, in a basic chain-hotel way. But they gave us a scrap of paper as a 'voucher' for a reduced price breakfast (why not just check room number in the morning?), the full breakfast options were only available for the central part of the stated availability time; and in my room, the kettle wouldn't fit under the tap so could only fill it cup-by-cup!

Oh, and the garage security gate makes a lot of noise - don't accept a room over it!

But the people were fine - friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid proximity to garage entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirabelle-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Dear Mirabelle

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your feedback with our food and beverage team to improve future guest breakfast experiences and we certainly appreciate the feedback about the kettle!

Just last week we had new (and whisper quiet) carpark doors installed which will certainly eliminate the noise which you experienced - we were very excited to see them installed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. If you do have any further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights over the Easter Long weekend. A short walk to the city centre and across the road from a street of cafes and restaurants.
Unfortunately the restaurant was only offering Buffet evening meals so we ate out the first night and ate at the bar the next. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet was huge - fantastic, although when there are many diners the kitchen has trouble keeping up.
Our room was located on the 5th floor to the back of the hotel. A terrific view, quiet and reasonably comfortable. The sofa bed needed replacing as it was particularly uncomfortable to sit for any length of time watching tv or reading, especially if you were on the more worn side where the cushion was almost flat.
The shower strength was good and the room was very clean.
Free Parking in a secure carpark accessed via roomcard from both the hotel and street was very convenient.
Overall we felt that we would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a Non-smoking, quiet and light room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

The team at Travelodge Hotel are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are also pleased to let you know that we now run a la carte menu alongside our ever popular buffet menu to allow guests such as yourselves the freedom of choice. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the refurbished heritage part of the hotel. Room was well decorated and clean, exceeded all expectations for the price. Very handy to city centre and pubs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDE_BDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#12 of 25 in Palmerston North
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
#4 Business Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range: $64 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. Accessible rooms and spa suite ideal for honeymooners. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing