We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in convienient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Wellington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Value in convienient location”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very good value in a comfortable,clean room. The staff member on reception was pleasant and welcoming. Room felt nice and modern - shame there was nothing there to tell you how to work the tv-ie what channels were available etc. The breakfast was good - wide range of choices. My only complaint was that we had booked a room for 3 people (and were charged for 3)yet there were only 2 towels provided, 2 cups & tea and coffee for two - it is annoying when you have booked for more than 2 people that they cannot prepare the room accordingly.

Room Tip: The room in the tower block was very pleasant but I would not stay in one of the 'motel' uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. My apologies for the oversight regarding third person amenities. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know
Warm regards
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    118
    83
    38
    27
See reviews for
39
112
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visit Palmerston North frequently to visit our children and their families. We usually stay at the Kingsgate as it is very convenient being central and the staff are always very friendly. We often have breakfast there and the food and service is fine.

Room Tip: We prefer a room in the Tower for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is always pleasing to hear about the friendly staff, and i will ensure your comments are passed on
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

overall the room was alright The bed was comfortable, staff were pleasant and the room was clean. The problem with this hotel was the bathroom. It was old, felt and looked as if it had not been decorated since the 60s . The shower was awful, we had to turn the hot on full and you almost needed to run around to get wet as the pressure was so bad. The group of units we were in need a major upgrade.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main block are better than the outside units
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Refurbishment plans are in the pipeline to modernize the decor and facilities.
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmerston North hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed two nights on business, this is the second time I have stayed at the Kingsgate and the hotel is really comfortable. Its not new or super flash but its nice, comfortable and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable. I didnt eat in the resturant but did have room service breakfast which was perfect and a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmolly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Great to hear the staff are making the difference
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booked family in for 1 night as in town for election results. Studio rooms were spacious, facilities clean, beds clean and comfortable. $247 for 5 adults, in 2 studio rooms, plus breakfast was great value for money.Stayed here previously as location is very convenient, staff friendly and wouls (will) stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent one night in the Kingsgate Hotel. Had originally booked the bed and breakfast deal to stay in the cheaper outside motel rooms. On arrival was greeting with very friendly welcoming staff. Room was upgraded to in the tower Block which was a pleasant surprise.
My room was very clean and tidy however the decor was looking very dated and tired. There were stains on the carpet and the mustard coloured curtains were a bit of an eye sore. On the good side the bathroom had been updated since my last stay here and it was nice and modern. The room also had a large flat screen TV which was a bonus.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic. It covered everyones tastes and had a very good selection.
I enjoyed my stay here. The room I was in was ok and there was no problem with noise from other rooms or from traffic.
I would recommend people to stay here only if they got a package deal with the breakfast. It is worth it for that.
If you can get past the room decor looking tired and dated it is actually a very nice place to stay. Its location is central Palmerston North and it has plenty of parking. The plaza is pretty much across the street on and angle and there is a large supermarket across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Refurbishment plans are in the pipelines to modernise the decor. Great to hear staff are making the difference
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just stayed again at the Kingsgate in Palmerston North. This was my 3rd time here. Close by to all things, friendly staff. Nice buffet breakfast. Rooms nice and comfortable. There is also a gym on site. They do have a few deals going so make sure you ask. This time i stayed with a girlfriend but have also stayed at hotel with my husband. We had no problem with any noise all very quiet.

Room Tip: upgrade to the tower if poss. if cant the motel type rooms are ok too (have been in them as well)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have just started at the hotel and welcome any and all feedback
Carey Lister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Villas
The Villas
#21 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Property: Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing