We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Avenue Motel(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerston North Motel(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legends Motel(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzherbert Castle Motel(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Destiny on Fitzherbert(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aubyn Court Spa Motel(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'La Vista Motel(Palmerston North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
90
140
98
48
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
140
98
48
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower blockjunior suiteburger kingbuffet breakfastfree upgradelovely roomwall heatergood sizeacross the roadwould stay againshort staycentre of towngreat value for moneycentral locationmillenniumpalmysquare
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 408 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I do agree with statements of a tied looking building and rooms requiring updating but I would like to point out some of the things I did like. Handy location. The rooms were tidy and clean. The staff were very helpful and many times went out of their way when I had a request. One request was to deliver a hot dinner to my room from Zoe's Restaurant as I did not expect to return late after the restaurant was closed. The young guy at reception did all the arrangements. It was no trouble . The dinner was beautiful. A very tasty, beautifully cooked, well presented dish. Thank you

Room Tip: Request the tower rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayTheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

In its day I am sure this hotel was good but it is very tired and run down, rooms are very dated and basic. Staff manning is bare minimum and do not bother to fill our survey cards - they never seem to be followed up. Plus I hate old noisy refridgerators that stop you sleeping and waking you up at 3am!

Breakfast inthe inhouse restaurant is of poor quality food - do not use, a visit to a cafe is cheaper and better quality by far.

My advice is take a miss, plenty of other hotels in palmerston north but at times the good ones book out fast but not at the Kingsgate....

Room Tip: If you do have to stay, make sure you have a room in the tower, otherwise you have been warned!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

While we were, I suppose, originally allocated a room in the old motel, we were "upgraded" to the tower. The service was great and everything was clean, however the hotel is starting to show its age. But overall I was very happy

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ian606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The issue with this hotel seems to be the distinct difference between the rooms in 'The Tower Complex', and the rooms in the older 'Motel' building. The hotel web-site states that of the 151 guest rooms available, 73 are in the 'Tower Complex', but makes no mention of where the remaining rooms are located. The hotel is conveniently located just on the borders of the main town area, and as such, is reasonably priced at NZ$95 for a room, or NZ$145 including $50 food and drink voucher. (Special offer..??? Do the maths...) Be sure to check at time of booking what deals are available, or check the web for offers or discounts. DO be sure to specify a room in the tower complex. My advice, if it affects the price, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Read the reviews......!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwritetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Booked for a group - 4 rooms, for separate weekends. Was never told at booking time that the rooms would be in the old motel - so be careful because the old motel part is not good at all - loud, lots of street noise, very very dated, not fresh-smelling, and on the night I was there a party in the room above us started at 2.30am and kept going until 5am, despite a call to the main office to complain. No discount was given at all, Before arriving for the following weekend booking we rang to ensure we were in the hotel rooms, not motel - oh no we were booked again in the old motel, despite the complaints made previously. But at least they did manage to change the rooms and we got the much nicer, quiet, cleaner hotel rooms. But still no discount. The staff were not exceptionally friendly, almost as if any requests were too much for them. But the hotel rooms are clean, very quiet (unless you have the window open), and a good average room/facilities. It's a pity the house bar shuts down early, even for in-house guests. My ratings below refer to the hotel room, not the motel room (which I would score poor on all areas)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews