We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Right value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed 3 nights and was pleasantly impressed by staff.
Rooms are in need of TLC, but at least the place is priced accordingly.
Likely I will stay again as not much luxury offerings in the area. This one is at least not misleading!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryShopper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    116
    79
    38
    27
See reviews for
38
110
33
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch ,New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

A one night stay at this hotel. The 3rd time I have stayed here and the rooms can vary alot in terms of quality and decor. This was a superior room and I wouldn't recommend standard rooms.
I found the customer service to be very good with a courtesy call about 15 minutes after arriving just to check that the room was ok. A nice touch.

The good points:
The room was bright light and airy and had a nice view out to the city. The room was a good size and quiet.
The bathroom was very clean and the shower worked well.
There is plenty of free off street parking and the lift was quick to access the room.
The hotel is a couple of minutes walk to central Palmerston North so handy to everything.

The not so good:
The bed is very spongey and I prefer a firmer mattress. This is unusual as hotels almost always have a well sprung bed.

I had the buffet breakfast which had the normal general selection of hot and cold items.

This hotel will suit most people fine so long as you avoid the standard room! The standard room if you choose that type is more like a budget hotel, and being at ground level may have issues with security as well.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the superior room unless you are on a tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband & I booked a night in the beginning of June 2012 just to get away from it all, Checked in by reception was fine but it was when we checked into our room & found not one light was working but the heater, the TV was on but couldn't get a single channel we tried everything we could as we are familiar with key lights operation, rang reception & directed us how to use the key to switch on lights which we did 10 times before we rung them. Then came, could a maintenance man or porter or DM, he tried the key himself & still nothing happened & he noticed was broken. What I couldn't understand was how did housekeeping clean the room without lights? and why the room attendant didn't report this issue that shows people are in for themselves they have no sense of responsibility, being proud what little jobs they do.The maintenance man do not know these types of issues unless housekeeping reports them.
Or who knows, could the room was OOO for maintenance but released to get that last bucks.
But thanks for the second room with electricity.
I know the hotel is been around for long time now but at least put some effort on cleaning or fix missing hooks on curtains. there was a dull feeling that hit me when I walked in the second room which was no different from previous room, no clean smell just an old dragg atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poplarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I spent two nights here recently on business.

The hotel itself is in need of a little tender love and care. It leaks when it rains and looks like it has seen better days in general. That being said, the rate was fairly competitive so that made up for these shortcomings to some extent.

The rooms are very basic (I stayed in the tower block). The bathroom and shower were ok, and the bed was good enough for a decent nights sleep.

The hotel restaurant delivered a nice dinner, I had a pork dish which I quite enjoyed. I had room service for lunch and despite the limited menu, managed to find a tasty toasted sandwhich that filled the gap nicely. The coffee was fairly average though.

The staff were good, answering questions and providing a friendly response to requests for amenities etc.

The location is good, quite close to the city centre and main shopping mall. It was an easy walk to other eating establishments as well.

Overall, the Kingsgate in Palmerston North was good value for money. Nothing flash, but it did the job. A reasonable choice for a short business stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCameleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

A very cheap rate for room and breakfast. Room was at back of hotel, where it looks a bit worn but very quiet. Bathroom a bit tired but other than that everything was very comfortable. It is in a fantastic location - very central. I would recommend it. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

As with other reviewers of this hotel, I was pretty nonplussed. My work travel coordinator booked me in to the Kingsgate for a night this week. I stayed in a room in the main building which the receptionist referred to as "the tower"...it was old, slightly decaying and really cold. The net curtains were disintegrating with holes here and there, the curtains were hanging off their track, and the only form of heating was a little wall heater that just didn't have the oomph to warm the whole room...which on a positive note, was of a good size. I ordered a room service meal in the evening from the restaurant, and it was OK...pretty mediocre, but if I had been paying for it myself, I probably would have been disappointed. In the morning, I got half way through my shower (which was not a long one) when the water went cold and stayed that way. Given that the room was really cold, the temperature outside hovering around zero, I had been looking forward to at least thawing out in the shower, but this was not to be, so with plan B in mind, I headed downstairs to the restaurant for a cooked breakfast. Needing to get to work as soon as I could, I opted for the buffet breakfast...not good...I definitely couldn't recommend it...the food was lukewarm and the plates stone cold so by the time I'd had 2 mouthfuls, everything was cold and starting to congeal. And there is just something about tinned spaghetti for breakfast that is just not cool. The waiting staff were pleasant though, and I wouldn't include them in my criticism of this hotel. I think next time I need to stay over in Palmerston North, I will opt for somewhere else...anywhere else!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar_Holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Got a cheap rate so can't really complain - the room was big but very dated with old tv and even 80's radio knobs on the wall, but the bathroom had been renovated and was large and modern with lots of marble and a good sized spa bath. I expect the bedrooms would have been all renovated if the recession hadn't hit. If you want a cheap deal this is a good option, if you want a bit more modern or luxurious then try elsewhere.

Room Tip: The restaurant food wasn't that great - I'd recommend having dinner out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#18 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Property: Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing