We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy and well appointed”
Review of Drovers Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drovers Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and well appointed”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed during busy weekend of NZ Grand Prix & Stockcars. Spacious room, comfy bed with feather pillows. Nice if you like them but horrible if you don't. Good bathroom supplied with shampoo & conditioner, no shower wash but hand soap and a hand wash dispenser. Well appointed kitchenette with pots for use with two hot plates. Plunger coffee was good. Easy to use microwave. Good size but noisy fridge!! Nice lazy-boy recliner seating to watch large TV. No clock, alarm or radio but could have radio/music via TV. Hosts were pleasant and friendly. Good value for money and recommend staying at Drovers.

Room Tip: If you don't like feather pillows bring your own. Two floors so upstairs may be quieter but coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Martin, thank you for the review. Hope to see you again and next time we will make sure you have some firmer pillows. We have since changed fridges and made sure Alarm clocks are in every room too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
21
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mikerae
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel. We had one night here and left wishing it was a much, much longer stay. Super spacious and well appointed ... and the trampoline was the icing on the cake. Very helpful owners. We would go back there when next in Palmie.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mikerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the review, We enjoyed having you. Hopefully when you return the tramps in one piece! Lost it a few weeks ago when it blew down the street....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My son and I stayed at Drovers in November when attending an interview at the university. Although not the closest to uni we chose it because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. From the moment we booked the personal service we got was brilliant and without fault. The motor inn is really well located, easy to find and the rooms were excellent. Israel and Sieda went above and beyond the norm and we will definitely be staying there again every time we are back in Palmerston North (which will no doubt be frequently as our son is now studying there) Thanks Israel and Sieda! :)
PS The bar over the road has great pub food and the breakfast in house was really nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for the review! Hopefully he's still enjoying Palmerston North. Hope to see you again soon and see how he's going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Super friendly hosts, lovely clean & tidy units! good location, added bonus of comfy lazy boy chairs (nice touch from the usual chair/couch) - partner greatly appreciated them.

Only feedback would be: slightly darker window dressing would keep light out.
Will most definitely stay again. Thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni2013roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hey guys! thanks for this review. Glad you loved the unit and tell your husband anytime he wants a comfortable chair we would love to have you guys again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Simply Amazing is how I describe Drovers Motor Inn. It certainly was a fantastic find, just a short walk to the city and Sieda and Israel are a young couple who know the meaning of the word service. They are warm and welcoming, told us about the cute Olde English pub tucked away nearby, made forward bookings for us in Taupo and gave us FREE internet too. Our suite was tastefully decorated and had a Super-King sized bed, a 42”TV and Lazy-boy chairs. We stayed here a few years ago just after Sieda and Israel took over and are pleased to see they now have a family with another on the way. Our stay was Superb and we'd recommend Drovers Motor Inn to anyone heading to Palmerston North.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardJ020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you! hopefully we see you again soon. =]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Comfortable bed. Nicely renovated modern and clean unit. Very noisy though and kitchen blinds didn't block out enough light. Beautiful bathroom with great shower. Very nice And good reception service. Very nice comfy chairs with footstools and large tv.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citylights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time is has taken you to write the review, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Coolum, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay overnight at Drovers Motor Inn. The unit was lovely andw arm and as it was a very wet and cold weekend in Palmerston North . Our only complaint was that the on-site manager did not quieten down some noisy guests yelling out at 2am in the morning in the motel courtyard. Apparently they did not hear them. We enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back of the complex, not on the Main Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1w1shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are glad the unit was to your liking and was comfortable.

Unfortunately we did not hear the guest you were speaking of, however we do provide in the rooms our direct contact number, had you given us a call it would have been sorted immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.2 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drovers Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drovers Motor Inn

Property: Drovers Motor Inn
Address: 746 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Drovers Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the suburb of Terrace End, the Drovers Motor Inn offers a variety of well-presented apartments and suites to suit your individual needs and budget. Choose from our spacious family apartments to relaxing spa suites. Each offers comfortable seating, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable place to rest your head. Situated just 1.6 km from the central city you can enjoy a leisurely stroll into town, the Hospital or even the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Drovers Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing