We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drovers Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drovers Motor Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the two bedroom unit. We loved the space and cleanliness of the unit. It has the biggest TV in the world. The spa bath was lovely, the king beds soooo comfortable, the crisp white linen fresh and clean and the showers powerful (almost painful!!!). The staff were welcoming and friendly. I would certainly recommend the Drovers. Perhaps my only negative was the lack of atmosphere. The Drovers provides a great room but the establishment is not built in a beautiful part of town so it feels very roadhouse and the grounds, barren. However it is at 'Motor Inn' so it does not pull the wool for potential punters. Thanks for the stay. We enjoyed it.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BayBoyz102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the Lovely Review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
20
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bulls, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I had to unexpectedly stay with Sieda and Israel at the Drovers Inn for 7 weeks. Our initial booking was for 3 nights, and then my husband required emergency surgery which delayed our move to Australia. Israel and Sieda went our of their way to accommodate us. They even moved a special chair into our room for my husband when he was discharged. Their helpful, friendly and 'can do' attitudes are a refreshing change. We wish them great success with their business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the Lovely Review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I really enjoyed the stay we had at drovers motor inn.We only stayed on night but I wished we had stayed longer.The rooms were clean and they catered well to the fact that we had 2 couples and a baby with us.They made us feel very comfortable.After we had gotten comfortable we asked them for recommendations on places to eat and they were extremely helpful giving us so many options.We also ordered a continental breakfast for the following morning and were impressed by the amount and obvious care they put into making our experience enjoyable!The only criticism I had of the Inn was that they didn't have a customer laundromat on site.However they did point us in the direction of one nearby :) which I was very pleased about.We travel to Palmerston north every so often and I can guarantee that we will stay there every time we got To Palmerston north from now on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the Lovely Review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in Unit 5 which is a one bedroomed ground level unit, with kitchette, table and chairs, corner leatherette couch, private enclosed courtyard and a king bed. The bed and pillows were softer than we prefer, but not a major. The bathroom shower was modern with brilliant water pressure. Unit colour scheme could be better but still of a good standard. Only negative was that the proprietors have used decorative lizard touches here and there as a theme i.e. big one on courtyard wall and the hand towel hook in bathroom was a chrome lizard. Close to city centre (within walking distance). Kitchenette adequate for our stay. Staff were exceptionally courteous and welcoming. We would certainly highly recommend this Motor Inn to other travellers and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picky-Feb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the Lovely Review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We returned to The Drover's Motor Inn in Palmerston North as our previous experience was excellent. They didn't disappoint. This time we were given the one bedroom studio with separate toilet, two televisions, double-head shower and private outdoor retreat with table and chairs. We really like staying there, the proprietors are friendly and very helpful, it is quiet, scrupulously clean and very convenient. The bed is very comfortable and there is extra bedding and pillows if you need. There is a lovely little pub straight across the road for a drink and a meal and also a brilliant baked potato and fish & chip takeaway right next door that also does a delicious salad with your meal. We are definitely staying there again and with the added luxury of an early check in and late check out, we will always choose it as it is the best motel we have experienced in Palmerston North.

Room Tip: The one bedroom studio is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the Lovely Review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piopio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Booked on friends recommendation and couldn't have been happier, from the twin head shower to the TV in the bedroom for hubby to watch cricket! Clean, tidy, upmarket furnishings in a spacious unit and friendly helpful staff, all value for money. Already planning our next booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the Lovely Review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Have stayed in this motel recently and we have been satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort. The Kitchen is well stocked, the bathroom is very nicely appointed and the bath linen excellent. The bed linen was cotton and of high quality and the bed (king, 2 singles joined). was comfortable, feather pillows very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carryon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the Lovely Review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drovers Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drovers Motor Inn

Property: Drovers Motor Inn
Address: 746 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Drovers Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the suburb of Terrace End, the Drovers Motor Inn offers a variety of well-presented apartments and suites to suit your individual needs and budget. Choose from our spacious family apartments to relaxing spa suites. Each offers comfortable seating, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable place to rest your head. Situated just 1.6 km from the central city you can enjoy a leisurely stroll into town, the Hospital or even the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Drovers Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing