We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Authentic Thai”

Thai Orchid Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
208 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Genuine Authentic Thai”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was so good to be in a real Thai restaurant and to experience beautiful, delicious, genuine Thai food. The service was impeccable and prompt but the best part was eating the authentic tastes of Thailand. Just brilliant service and food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravellers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is the second time I have visited the Thai Orchid Restaurant (last time two years ago). Again, we found the food to be delicious and the service outstanding. We were very happy with the dishes we chose, in particular the Pad Thai Prawns which were lovely. If you're looking for good Thai food in Palmerston North you can't go past the Thai Orchid Restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank insertnamehere26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrolia, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Caveat emptor”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Rainy night in Palmerston North, and dashed out to the restaurant after arriving in town-- we were in nearby hotel. My husband ordered a duck dish and I had a scallop curry. My husband, who grew up in a Chinese restaurant, realized the duck was chicken, and i found pieces of breading in my curry, obviously the scallops had been processed. We complained to the manager and had three dollars off the overly expensive bill. We were told it was a 'kitchen error'.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Aniversary”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Would recomend a visit to all who like Thai food, but must add is a little pricy for the experience.
We went back with the family for our second visit last night.
All four of us enjoyed our plentiful meals.
The mixed entrée we had was very tasty and good value.
I had Sweet & sour pork my wife had Pork oyster and the kids had Chicken satay. All four meals cooked perfectly and both starter and main delivered quickly by the well mannered staff.
Only problem was the price of the drinks. Basicaly all our soft drinks were £5 each.
A bit pricy and took the edge off the rating I have given.

Helpful?
Thank Wheller151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner for my wife. Great food and service.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Went with the family for the wifes birthday.
We did not book and just walked in on chance.
We were seated at a nice table immediately and we ordered our meals after about five mins of viewing the very good menue.
Starter and main courses all arrived in equaly short time. Food quality was excellent.
Both my 13 year old twins along with the wife and I all enjoyed the food and pleasant atmosphere.
Was a bit pricy but not outrageous and to be expected for the good standards.
We will definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank Wheller151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Thai Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing