We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Large rooms, great service, spotlessly clean and tidy. Well done to Ester and Tom on a job well done. We booked a ground level unit as we had plenty of luggage, and there was room to store this, and be able to spread out!!! WOW. Has been several years since I had last stayed at the Cornwall Motor Lodge, but I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a spa bath, very good. Don't be worried about the intersection and traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 168 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

As a rep, I have been staying at Cornwall Motor lodge for one if not two nights every month for the past year and have found the level of service second to none.
Tom and Ester, are FANTASTIC hosts.
I just love the location( 2 mins walk into the centre of town)
Rooms are ALWAYS spotless.
If you are looking for spacious, exceptionally clean motel with excellent host, look no further. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Must stay motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The rooms are large, clean and quiet. The bed is very comfortable. There is an office desk for computer work. The TV can be viewed from the spa bath or the large bed. Great hosts. Lot of restaurants close by that provide charge back to the motor lodge. Complimentary small bottle of wine is a great gesture!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights over wellington anniversary weekend. We chose a spa studio and we are glad we did. We enjoyed being able to watch movies whilst in the spa. The room we had had recently been repainted and everything about it was spick and span. We also had breakfast both mornings, my partner opting for traditional big boys brekkie and myself a different thing each day. Of note was the muesli with fresh fruit bowl. Not only was it fresh it was beautiful summer fruits and no banana,apple and pear like most places. Anytime we interacted with staff they were friendly, helpful and lovely to deal with. Having stayed in many hotels in palmy, we will definitely be back. It was quiet, the room was dark with the curtains drawn ( personal favourite) and had everything we needed.

Room Tip: Get a spa room..so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimz2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have stayed here many times, twice in the past week to and from Wellington. The rooms are large, great bathrooms, clean, fresh and nice beds. Owners are great and very accommodating. We were travelling by motor bike. The weather in the morning was not great so we organised to stay through to 4 pm for a small additional charge. Handy to city centre (2 min walk) and the early morning brekky at MacD's to read the paper and flat white and just maybe a bacon & egg McMuffin!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, some have a spa bath for an additional $20 if that's what you like. Nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to stay here to give us a break after several weeks on the road in our camper van. We chose an upstairs room with its own large spa bath - after the restrictions of a cramped motorhome shower this was total luxury. Especially having a big screen TV which can be swivelled to view from spa or kingsize bed. Very spacious with balcony and office desk area handy for our laptop work catchup. Large bathroom with shower and kitchen with all the necessaries. Tidy and clean. Everything we would want except there seemed to be issues with what was supposed to be fast internet.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther65_13, Owner at Cornwall Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thanks for your review, it is always good to get feedback. We recently connected to the new fiber cable for very high speed internet, so your internet should have worked perfectly, we do apologise, and we get this checked by our technician.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Have stayed here twice now and enjoyed it Staff are very friendly and helpful rooms are very nice and comfortable they are clean and fresh the beds are comfy love the rooms with the spas in them they are our favourite also so close to the plaza*supermarkets and fast food outlets ect we will certainly stay here every time we visit Palmerston North

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soper-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
86 reviews
0 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornwall Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Motor Lodge

Address: 101 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range: $88 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornwall Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the heart of Palmerston North. Situated just opposite the Plaza Shopping Mall, Restaurant and Cafes. Super King Beds, Self-Fill Spa Pools in rooms, Large and Spacious rooms.One Bedroom Family Suites with Super King Bed in the Lounge and seperate bedroom with two single beds, Spa Baths in bathroom or Shower Only. All suites have cooking facilities. Ample Free Parking available. Park your car and shop til you drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornwall Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing