We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible motel ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspree Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aspree Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Horrible motel ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night with family.

Motel is very cleaned but there are noise heater on wall and no electric blankets and very small room for 3 people.

Also, when I came into room, there are very strong new paint smell.... So bad... They should not sell the room until new paint smell is be dried....

I regret to chose this motel but receptionist is very kind but not professional

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hdhyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Started well, the premises appeared modern & well cared for, receptionist was friendly & helpful, however went downhill from here.

The room was very small, but we were only staying the one night so felt we could put up with it. After settling in & getting food, we sat down at the tiny desk area (no proper table) to eat. Well we could hear every sound from the next room, TV, talking etc & they were not loud, just normal conversation level.

Went to reception to request another room. Again she was helpful. We packed up again & moved to the new room.

Appeared better than the first, was certainly larger. On looking around, no room guide to advise what channels the TV was set to, no Sky TV guide, no phone or even a bedside clock.

When we went to have a shower, found you had to move the couch to close the bathroom door, fit was so tight. The was no soap or any other holder in the shower, had to put the soap & shampoo on the floor, after looking at the mould on the ceiling was very concerned on how clean the floor actually was, ended up balancing everything on a flannel on the shower head.

No electric blanket, Palmerston North is a lot colder than home & could really have done with a warm bed, have never had a motel with no electric blanket before. The pillows were so high, could have been split into four & still been very generous, no other pillows or blankets in the room to choose from, spent the night cold.

Only mirror in the place was in the bathroom in an awkward spot. I need to put eye drops in & couldn't clear the mist from the mirror or even see on the angle, you need to be a contortionist to use it.

The back of one of the chairs was disgusting with a large stain on it.

All up a very disappointing stay, certainly very poor value for money, we are back in Palmerston in a couple of weeks, & certainly will not be staying here.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a connecting door, absolutely NO soundproofing, bring your own electric bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fibreartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmerston North hotels

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
366 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

THe motel is very popular and rightly so. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff fabulous - friendly and helpful.

Good powerful shower ( bath towel a bit small though) bed comfy, complete with electric blanket.

Breakfast available. Restaurant next door.

Bliss.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed for 9 days with a sporting team. The team room with full kitchen is an excellent area. Michelle and her staff were very friendly and most helpful.The rooms were clean and comfortable. Serviced daily. Quite frankly we were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at Aspree Motor Inn recently and found my room to be very basic (no coffee plunger, no device to listen to music on, no dining table and chairs and no shampoo and conditioners) however the bathroom and kitchen looked new, the shower had great pressure and was massive and the sheets were clean and of a good quality. The location isn't great in relation to town so you would have to drive in if you want a meal, however it seems like a spot for truckies and people who just need a bed for the night. This is somewhat irrelevant but I think it's market audience is men - very basic 'trimmings' and the soap in the bathroom smelt like aftershave. So if you're a lady and don't want to smell like a man, I suggest you bring your own soap. I'd stay here here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Patchavanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Could not fault this place for the price. The unit was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of parking available. I am a light sleeper and had no problem at all with traffic noise.
Yes there is no bottles of shampoo but they do provide foaming soap and shampoo. Everything else is provided.
The Chinese restaurant is amazing. The food was so yummy and the service was the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy22NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

For $80 a night (for a standard budget room) it was very good value and I would stay again. Clean tidy and in very good condition.

Being that cheap there was not surprisingly a couple of things not provided:

- no soap/shampoo etc, instead there are foaming cleanser dispensers (we had automatically taken our own supplies)

- no aircon or fan, although if we figured a fan would be provided if we asked. Could get warm in there especially if you aren't prepared to leave the upper windows open

- no extra pillows, again probably just a case of asking

Some basic cooking facilities, basically a microwave and an electric frypan, but again at the price of the room that is perfectly fine. Usual fridge/toaster/jug.

Very close to a whole range of supermarkets, takeaways, and liquor store.

No complaints, overall better than expected!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drovers Motor Inn
Drovers Motor Inn
#13 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspree Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspree Motor Inn

Property: Aspree Motor Inn
Address: 700 Main Street, Palmerston North 4414, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspree Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Aspree Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing