We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

Speight's Ale House Palmerston North
Price range: $11 - $28
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Love this place, its my favourite restaurant, the food is great, I try something different every time and every time I am blown away

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justlookingtogoout, Owner at Speight's Ale House Palmerston North, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoy the selection we have on offer at the Ale House. The Speight's Ale Houses pride themselves with the extensive menu that we have on offer. Staff loved your feedback too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    113
    57
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice meal, good service”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Ate here in February, prompt service and good food. Meals are of a good size. Young wait staff are always very good, efficient and helpful. We eat here regulary and are always pleased with our meals. Food is a reasonable price. Will eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazyfornewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“staff were the assett on the nite”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

staff awesome I sent fish meal back as was like a sardine on a platew not happy to pay 30 bucks for that,rest of meals fine,love the beers and look of the place ,just hope they sort out the food side

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Catered well for our corporate group of 12. Food all arrived together & waiter/waitress very professional. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pomkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ordered the Hearty 250g prime rib-eye, served with potato gratin, buttered seasonal
vegetables topped with a rich beef jus and beer battered onion rings. Steak and onion rings were perfect. Gratin was bland & veges raw with no sign of butter. My wife told me this is what i should expect as it was a pub meal. However I think at $33 I should expect some finesse! Won't be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 367DarrellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speight's Ale House Palmerston North also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Speight's Ale House Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing