We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Reviewed February 22, 2014

It was a real pleasure meeting Keith and Bronwyn who were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay in their motel a pleasure. Thank-you very much for extending your hospitality and allowing us to secure our motorbike in your garage. Very highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Many thanks for your recommendation Belinda - really appreciated. Safe travels out there....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Harringtons Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 90 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed last weekend after being given a list of possible hotels close to the wedding venue we were in Palmerston to attend and having done some research decided on harringtons - we were definitely not disappointed in any way. Very clean, comfortable bed, helpful and friendly hosts. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Glennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Many thanks for your recommendation Glennis - pleased the weekend was an enjoyable one and the accommodation was well suited. Cheers, Keith and Brony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here before xmas as an inbetween for Auckland and Wellington.

We had read previous reviews which suggested not getting the room beside the road, which we had requested, but ended up getting it anyway - but it wasn't as loud as another reviewer had said (barely a peep - just a low hum when a car/truck went passed)

Quite dark rooms - easy to get too, enough room for the toddler to go a little mad in, and a park across the road perfect for kids(as well as a ton of other parks and gardens for kids)

Fantastic spa bath, small dining room table and only two lounge chairs to sit in(main bed in lounge room). Most of the menus in the information booklets are out dated so we had some embarrassing phone calls trying to order dinner.Very clean.

No wifi

Friendly people running it

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberbob2097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Sorry but as we cannot identify which guest you are we are not sure if your booking was made direct or online. If made direct and you requested not to be beside the road we would certainly not have allocated that unit to you, and all online booking sites state that this particular unit is beside the road. Pleased to hear that the unit worked well for you, that you enjoyed the Spa and the Esplanade playground / gardens across the road.

All Compendium restaurant menu's are updated regularly as and when these are provided by the restaurant.

Your No wifi comment is puzzling. Our Corporates tell us repeatedly that our TrafficMate Wifi is the easiest wifi to connect to. It does however require a secure keycode for access obtainable from Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Harringtons Motor Lodge recently, for a few days. The hosts, Brony and Keith were most welcoming and made the stay enjoyable.The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, quiet and very clean. The location is perfect, for either the corporate traveller or for families with a lovely big park just across the road from the Harringtons and walk ways along the river. We would most definitely stay at Harringtons again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Diane, many thanks for taking the time to post your review and for your comments. Pleased that our location worked well for you and that it was a positive experience staying with us. Safe travels out there......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights, and found the host extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Large room with all you need, and very clean. Parking fine, and location good just out of the bustle. Value for money and very comfortable.
Will definitely be back when next in Palmy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Ivan, thanks for taking the time to post this review. Pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable time. Safe travels out there.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this establishment for three consecutive weeks in July just prior to heading overseas for a vacation. I chose the motel because 1) it gets good reviews here and 2) I was working out towards Massey University (one of the weeks I was at the university) and this motel is very convenient by car.

I have stayed in three different rooms; each room was spacious with a small kitchen in one corner adjacent to the bathroom. I found the bed to be confortable (but I can sleep anywhere) and the surroundings to be peaceful. There was a workstation for my laptop and a flat-screen TV (TIP: there are buttons on the TV the cleaners have been known to push inadvertently causing the TV not work--just ask Brony or Keith and they will show you how to fix it). As I recall there were a couple of easy chairs and a small coffee table in the room also.

Brony and Keith do their best to look after you really well and you get the impression they would do everything they can to make your stay more comfortable. One morning, after a severe frost I found Brony pouring (cold) water on my car windscreen to help remove the ice for me--most appreciated!

If you like walking there are really good tracks beside the river just a couple of hundred metres from the front door. I enjoyed walking the tracks making a round trip into town for dinner in the evenings when the light and weather allowed.

All-in-all I enjoyed my stays and will be back next time I am in Palmerston North.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonChris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hi Chris, many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Your support and kind thoughts are really appreciated. At the end of the day - All we do is try to make each guest's visit an enjoyable experience. Pleased to hear that the overseas trip went well. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I travel to Palmerston North regularly for work and always look forward to staying with Bronny and Keith at Harringtons. Large, beautlfully presented rooms with great work stations in each for lap tops and papers. Bronny and Keith are always happy to help in anyway, with faxes, directions and restaurant selections. The motel is well situated near the town centre with easy access for out of town travel both north and south. I can only give this motel an A plus for the corporate traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaJean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Andrea many thanks for your A plus review. Sometimes 'life' works for you and you find just what is needed - Pleased that we can make your stay away from home an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.3 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harringtons Motor Lodge

Address: 301 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range: $88 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harringtons Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less that 2km to Massey University, Caccia Birch House, Chalet on the Lake, Wharerata conference facilites, Wedding Venues Palmerston North and CBD The Square. Opposite Esplande gardens and walkways. All suites are Non Smoking and all Ground Floor. We offer the highest level of friendly personal service, and an atmosphere that allows for your complete privacy for the Corporate or Independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing