We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great comfortable bed, clean room, great continetal breakfast and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great comfortable bed, clean room, great continetal breakfast and friendly hosts”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at Harringtons on Monday 16 July 2012 after searching Palmerston North for a one night business stay. Money is not an issue but value for money is. I couldn't justify paying $185 for a night at other places in PN compared to hotels in say Auckland like Sky City Hotel for less. So after reviewing Trip advisor I chose Harringtons at $125 for a room, Continetal breakfast and use of ther Freyberg Lido gym.

This was excellent vlaue for money and I would return.

I checked in with Kieth and when he offered me calci trim or blue top milk, I commented that I we use light blue at home. Five minutes later he arrives with a jug of light blue. Wow.

The owners Keith and Bronwyn engaged in conversation and were perfect hosts. I've stayed at a lot of hotels and motels in NZ and overseas and often the reception is there to take your money and once that's done that's it. Not with Harringtons. There service was very exceptional and helpful.

As for the road noise. A few trucks but that's life. It didn't bother me.

The room. Not 5 star as a few years old but everything worked, was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable.

Flat screen tv was good and they had 3 sky sports and the racing channel. A big plus for me as many htoels do not have the racing channel.

And the Continetal breakfast. a very good selection and tasty. The mellow puff was a nIce touch but didn't last 'til breakfast.



I comment Keith and Bronwyn on being what I consider exceptional hosts.

Room Tip: I like being able to park in front of the unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannevegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback - we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Life has taught us that it takes more than one to form a relationship and positive guests make for an enjoyable experience for ourselves also. Thank you.
This guest booked our Corporate Special online deal (limited availability). This included a free continental breakfast and pass to the Lido Aquatic Health and Fitness centre.
Cheers, Keith and Brony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
29
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very welcoming hosts, great size room, excellent bathroom and kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peronel_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Appreciate your feed back. Trust the rest of your holiday was all that you expected it to be.
Wish you both well - Go the Cats!
Regards
Keith and Brony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Nice size rooms, friendly service close to town centre

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comm-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Appreciate you taking the time to post this review. Many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards
Brony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed for two nights recently while attending a course at the nearby Massey campus.

I initially selected it primarily due to its location, as it was an easy walk up to Massey and into the city.

The room was clean, very tidy and was exceptionally quiet given its proximity to the road. It was a little more costly than I would have ideally wanted to pay and in comparison to what you would pay in a larger tourist town for something similar.

I'll be staying again though, as the hosts, Keith and Browyn were very helpful, even when there was a mix up with a breakfast, they were gracious. Many larger hotels could learn a lot from been good hosts from these folks.

Recommended to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brady1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
HI Brady, appreciate you taking the time to post your review and thank you for your recommendation. We will pass your comments onto our team.

We note that you booked through an online booking site who charge up to 15% commission. Our rates are very reasonable for a Qualmark 4 Star property and we cannot absorb all of this commission. Sadly we have to increase our rates on these sites.

Tip: Next time can we suggest you book direct with whoever you are staying with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hosts at Harringtons are wonderful - so welcoming, friendly and helpful that you feel like you are staying at a home away from home. They are attentive to your every need and go above and beyond, making what might be an average stay at a motel something more. Clean, fresh rooms with everything you require inside - and very spacious. Great location, very close to Massey University and the city itself. Was not disturbed by the traffic noise even though I stayed on the side closest to the main road. Thank you for such a pleasant stay in Palmerston North!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insertnamehere26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback is important and we appreciate your comments. Pleased to hear your stay was everything it should be. Cheers, Keith and Brony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Well found this motel on this site after two very disappointing stays at another motel further up the road. Was in Room One, As for the road noise other reviewers on this site have commented about, what noise? Very quiet, very clean, the hosts are very friendly and informative. The ELM cafe 100 meters away was ideal for lunch, the botanical garden and sports fields are straight across the road, the golf course, and the university are just a 5 min walk away. Over all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donut4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to post this review. Thank you. The 'Team' here at Harringtons Motor Lodge take pride in our complex and we are delighted your stay with us was an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was really impressed with Harringtons - we stayed here in Feb 2012 for business. Brownyn and Keith are really lovely hosts, and were extremely helpful in assisting with our group booking. The rooms are spacious, very clean, modern, and quiet. The location is also good - close to Massey University (and town) and easy to find. Would definitely stay here again - very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
A motel complex atmosphere is created by the guests. Your group were FANTASTIC and contributed enormously towards making our home here at Harringtons so enjoyable. Really appreciate your comments, Keith and Brony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.3 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#13 of 25 in Palmerston North
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harringtons Motor Lodge

Property: Harringtons Motor Lodge
Address: 301 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harringtons Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less that 2km to Massey University, Caccia Birch House, Chalet on the Lake, Wharerata conference facilites, Wedding Venues Palmerston North and CBD The Square. Opposite Esplande gardens and walkways. All suites are Non Smoking and all Ground Floor. We offer the highest level of friendly personal service, and an atmosphere that allows for your complete privacy for the Corporate or Independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Harringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing