We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family overnight”
Review of The Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villas
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Would have to say that although the staff gave excellent polite service we were extremely dissappointed with our stay here. The room was very smelly, and dirty. Skirting boards, very dated and mouldy bathroom. Queen bed was 2 bed zipped together and collapsing in the middle. Sheet had small holes, duvets very old.
Had pool complex which was supposed (according to signage) to be closed after 8.30pm for the comfort of other visitors. Our room directly across from this. Partying continued until 2.30am. Notified office at 10.30 of the noise, owner went to room however did NOT ask them to cease as was expected, simply had quiet word and left with occupants still partying!! Spent the night with very drunk girls using "funnels" to drink from (stock car enthusiasts who had returned from racing) and indian soccer team partying into the night. No problem with either of these, however would have been good to have been advised of this BEFORE we were given the key to the room!!!
Receptionists both lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful stay. The kids had a blast in the spa pool and swimming pool and the rooms were clean, comfy and the kitchen well-stocked. Although the room decor is quite dated and the rooms could do with new carpet, we were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. The free wifi was a bonus, and other little things like the welcome cookies, the late checkout (at no extra cost) made our stay very enjoyable. Most hotels/motels charge you for every extra little thing, but this place seemed to genuinely want our stay to be pleasant and hassle-free. The price was also reasonable for a family of 6 and it looks like we got charged per room, not per person which makes a big difference in our case!
I hope you will soon be able to replace the carpet/furnishing to make the rooms perfect! Thank you and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We bought on Grab one-superb value for our money. We came as a family and loved all the extras. The spa attached to our villa was superb-we hardly got out of it. Our 12 year old son thought all his christmas' had come at once. The games facilities were great too for all round family fun. Staff were courteous, helpful and friendly.
The motel follow-up service was amazing when we received a phone call as we left Palmerston North to tell us we had left a precious item behind. thanks for your quick service, kind thoughts and honesty. Well done to all the staff.
The Allens, NAPIER

Room Tip: executive suites great. Perhaps not the one by the road if you are a light sleeper but still good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked this on Grabone. It was great value for money! We stayed in a unit with our own spa outside and loved the seperation of the rooms. the spa was amazing and bed was very huge and comfy. Great service, friendly staff and nice clean rooms. loved the cat at reception too. Only down side was that it was super hot and a fan in the room would of done wonders as there was no cooling.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this on an online service called GRAB ONE. It was worth every penny & more!
We stayed in a unit with our own spa on the back deck, which was amazing. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and of course , the spa. The rooms were great and lots of bedding for the 3 of us.

If I have one negative it was that the noise from the outside spas kept me awake, as people were using them at various times in the night. Putting a timeframe on when they can not be used after 8pm until 8am in the morning, would be great, otherwise it was fabulous.
We would recommend this accommodation to anyone and would come stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms with private spas are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a exec suite while we were visiting family in Palmerston North. The suite was very comfortable and the shared pool and suite spa was lovely after a long days sightseeing. Most importantly the service was beyond the expected-we appreciate that the staff were always happy to help, board games (cluedo) and dvds were provided free of charge and even the dishes were done one morning when we had to leave early. Thank you econo lodge- we would definately stay again!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a spa unit and i thought it was great. as we walked in i couldnt belive how big it was and liked the seperation of the rooms. the spa was amazing and bed was very confey. great value for money. highly recomend to all

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fee911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#12 of 25 in Palmerston North
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Motel
Avenue Motel
#13 of 25 in Palmerston North
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas

Address: 665 Pioneer Highway, Palmerston North 4412, New Zealand (Formerly Econo Lodge The Villas)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range: $82 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing