We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hosts”

Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Hosts”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Like Shona B I too have been coming to the Camelot Motor Lodge for the last 5 to 6 years.
Willy and Peggy are one of the best hosts I have had the pleasure of dealing with.They are very helpful and accommodating and you are guaranteed the best start to your day with a Willy mean as breakfast.The motel is handy to town and reasonably quiet.You are also guaranteed a safe and secure environment at Camelot.Through my company I have had many a colleague stay at Camelot and they have all commented on the helpful staff there and the mean as breakfast.This motel has been a home away from home on many occasions and Willy and Peggy made me feel part of the family.I would not hesitate to recommend Camelot Motor Lodge to any of my friends family and work colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
12
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have been staying at the Camelot for over five plus years now on at least a monthly basis. I am extremely fussy with the cleaniless of were I stay and have never had an issuse here.
The rooms are always clean and sparkling and very homely and have very little road noise compared to other Palmerston North motels - the baths in the one bedroom units are great!
Willie and Peggy are wonderful hosts and are extremely friendly and helpful and have a very loyal corporate business due to the fact the motel is extremely clean and they are great hosts. I have certainly never had any privacy or security issuses here.
And add bonus is that Willie cooks an awesome breakfast too!
As someone that travels every week I would highly recommend Camelot, Willie and Peggy go out of their ways to make everyone feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Don't bother stopping at this place keep driving the pictures on the website are deceiving its dirty and unclean the doors on the rooms didn't even lock properly hows that safety for you the owner is very rude,unfriendly and unhelpful he thought it was ok to let himself in to my room without knocking or any notice in advance he gave you no privacy he didn't even think there was anything wrong with it when i approached him about it he said he was doing his job more like being a nosy pervert!! Worst of all while we were staying there our room and others there were broken into and our documents were taken our id's passports and phones while we were out to tea we were disgusted by the way he handled the situation it was like he didn't even care we thought it was him or someone he knew who did it he shouldn't even be running a business hes very dodgy and i would not in a million years recommend this a place to stay while in palmy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week due to business, was paid from my new company. I have never felt such disrespect staying at a motel. The place was dirty, the sheets didn't smell clean, the dishes were only half washed! But that was not the worst of it. The manager of the motel felt it was appropriate to walk in whenever he saw fit with only two minor knocks. No privacy at all I was shocked especially due to my wife being there alone at times. We were encouraged to vacuum our own room and received endless smart comments regarding unwashed plates, which was just a small scale of disrespect I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone the man seems like he is nice at the start but has a horrible attitude and personality towards his guests I am very disgusted and disappointed and would urge everyone to chose anywhere else in this area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inarad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A good experience that started with the booking. Willie took my details over the phone and I knew instantly that I'd enjoy my stay here. Its a well situated within the CBD. The motel is priced at a similar level to many other Palmerston North Motels but its location is what makes it my preference.

Room Tip: The studio's are large. Ask for a room at the rear of the complex to avoid any road noise. I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

And friendly hosts, not more than three stars, but gets five stars for cleanliness and hospitality. Don't write it off!
We stayed next to a noisy family, who left early but weren't too organised, so hollered for an hour
The place was clean, the bed was comfy and we would stay again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank julznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Another trip to Palm Nth and again great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for Willie and they go out of their way to make you welcome. Clean and tidy rooms would highly recommend for a reasonably priced accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North

Property: Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North
Address: 295 Ferguson Street, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing