We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't See King Arthur, but the Motel Was Fine”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Didn't See King Arthur, but the Motel Was Fine”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Slightly bizarre castle architecture distinguishes this motel, but don't let that put you off. Quiet, comfortable, centrally located, friendly hosts, even the (Auckland) NZHerald delivered, and all at a reasonable rate. I'll stay again if I am back inPN

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
12
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Camelot is in one of Palmy's best locations.Handy to city,clubs and restaurants,yet quiet.
I stay here often.The rooms a very clean and spacious.The beds are comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful.Nothing is too much trouble,regardless the hour.I recommend the cooked breakfast.Willy does a top job.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a special via the grabone website and had good contact with the owner before getting the voucher.
Although a bit frazzled the owner was pleasant to deal with, and we received breakfast in our room in the evening for the next day. It was nice and quiet in the 1 bedroom unit we had, and if we had had more time would have thoroughly enjoyed the spa bath.
Although the tvs were not flatscreen it suited us fine. Everything was newish and clean. Would highly recommend this hotel for our next stopover in Palmy.

Room Tip: we were in room 20, this was a nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sannepanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Bedroom was off the lounge/kitchenette, so was a reasonably spacious apartment. Was clean and tidy. Quite good location. Booked online through their website. Only issue was that despite putting in all credit card details when booking still had to make a manual payment upon checking out. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank striped_tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very clean and tidy and excellent location. The service from the owner/managers is very friendly and helpful. Stay here often. Will be back definitely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen_knee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Clean, tidy, spacious motel, suitable for business stop overs.

Pros: Spacious, clean, modern, close to amenities.

Cons: no wi-fi, heat pump was broken (provided me a small fan heater).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buds_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Booked online and willie the owner told us when we arrived that he put a special on for a few hours and had 2 hits, ours being one of them to test the market, he removed the special not long after and put the price back to normal rate. Price was fair, $99 for a studio normally $120. A queen bed in lounge, spa bath with a shower over in bathroom. Clean tidy unit the Tv was a bit on the small side as my husband wanted to watch Rugby on sky but otherwise was fine. Some othe people staying at the motel decided to be a bit noisy on their return to their unit at 2.30am but thats not really the Motel's fault, just other people being unpolite. Otherwise not too noisy.
Overall a decent freindly and clean Motel, and very close to the Square.

Room Tip: When booking make a special request if neccessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.4 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadway Motor Inn
Broadway Motor Inn
#21 of 25 in Palmerston North
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North

Property: Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North
Address: 295 Ferguson Street, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing