We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Get Away”
Review of Gilgara Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gilgara Retreat
Ranked #9 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Get Away”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We love staying at Gilgara. We have stayed a number of times over the last few years. You feel like you are miles from nowhere but you are so close to everything. The hosts are fantastic, a wealth of local knowledge and nothing is ever too difficult. The abundance of wildlife is a pleasure to wake up to in the mornings. The wrens and lizards amused us while sitting reading and watching the world go by a slower pace than usual. The frogs in the evening made the evening glass of wine pleasurable. For the type of weekend away that we enjoy Gilgara is perfect. The Garden Suites are great for couples to get away from it all, the rooms cleaned to a high standard every day and the staff are friendly and helpful. Relaxing in the spa bath, cooking our own breakfast, close to wineries and restaurants, The taxi service has always been reliable if we needed. Loved our stay, yet again.

Room Tip: Garden suites are very quiet and private, however you wake with the day, this is fine for us as we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi Lorraine, thank you so much for your review. It’s very satisfying to get a response like this. Thanks again. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    24
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over Xmas day and Elaine and Steven are wonderful and very welcoming - Elaine is quick to share information about the region and is very sweet and super helpful.

I enjoyed our stay - the room was very clean and serviced well, the garden view lovely, the kitchenette facilities and supplies fantastic (better than expected - you could make all meals if desired), great sized tele if you want to watch a movie, lovely spa bath and extra blankets if you get cold plus the retreat is close to everything!

I would agree with another reviewer that the lack of blinds in some areas means an early wake up, but it also means you can watch the stars and you don't feel locked in - we used blindfolds (which are considerately provided).

NOTE: the bed doesn't overlook the garden itself, the kitchenette does with a small lounge and dining table.


On the downside - due to the concrete you can hear your neighbours at times but it isn't overwhelmingly noisy just not particularly romantic!

The rooms are a little 'tired', but, for 10 years old they are looking pretty good!

It is a lovely, well kept property but it was closer to the main road than I was expecting. This is not a huge deal as it isn't 'noisy' at all but if you wanted a place that feels secluded this isn't the one for you... However, it's fab if you want to spend your time driving and discovering the region and want a base you can return to easily.

The only really disappointing thing about this property was the bed for me :( it was rather small for two people, the sheets were like hospital ones and it was uncomfortable with flat pillows (we even added the spares) and the quilt cover a bit dated and old. I think they are due for an update...

Having said that, Elaine and Steven know the meaning of good hospitality and do it well.

Overall, a great stay but just missing that edge of 'luxury' ...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank atripaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi 'atripaway'!
Thank you for your positive feedback and thoughtful comments, and for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We try and do our best at looking after our guests at Gilgara. Your comments and concerns have been passed onto the owner of the establishment and we hope to improve on these amenities. Warm Regards, Steven and Elaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in a garden suite which was lovely and clean, fresh and quiet. Elaine was very helpful when needed. The information book in the suite stated that you could order a breakfast basket but when we enquired we were told that that had never been true. There are not curtains/blinds to cover all of the windows so therefore it was a bright wake up very early in the morning and they could do with better pillows but other than that all of the furniture, bedding etc was very comfortable. With basic cooking facilities provided in the suite you can be very self sufficient.

It feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but it is only a short drive to all the local areas of interest. The retreat itself has a lovely atmosphere. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Thank you Elaine for accommodating us at the last minute. We decided on a spur of the moment trip to Margaret River, from Perth yesterday. We arrived at the Margaret River Visitor centre 10 minutes before it closed, only to be told there was no accommodation left in the whole town!

A quick phone call to Gilgara Retreat and the last place 'was held' for my husband and I.
We were so very pleasantly surprised when we drove up the beautiful driveway. Elaine greeted us and showed us our accommodation in the garden suite.
WOW! It was amazing. The décor, including the polished concrete floors, huge windows and the beautifully decorated lounge and bedroom area was perfect. The apartment was stunning, immaculate and SO peaceful - it felt like we didn't have any neighbours.
We had a fantastic nights sleep after lying in bed looking through the high level windows at the star.....very tranquil indeed!
The bathroom with spa was amazing and put to full use!
The grounds are beautiful, with private views of lush meadows.
We highly recommend Gilgara Retreat, and will definitely return.
Thank you for a lovely stay,
Helen and Michael

Room Tip: The garden chalets are so well designed and insulated (from the heat and cold), it wouldn't matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Thank you Elaine and Steve for accommodating us on short notice.
Perfectly positioned with just a short drive out of Margaret River township and you feel you are in the middle of nowhere. We had a lovely stay at Gilgara and will recommend it on our travels. All creature comforts were highly satisfied.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The worst 2 nights in a hotel in a long time. The queen bed was old and worn with the big dip in the middle with terrible pillows, the standard I would expect in a motel. No view from room 2 it was dark and dingy, decor of the 70's. You hear the noise of other rooms taking showers and cars coming and going. Nothing peaceful or tranquil with this place.
The common lounge is nice and the home made bread for breakfast very good. Service is good, the big let down was the room, very dated but worse very uncomfortable. What really annoyed us too was we went out for dinner last night, locked our room on leaving, yet the managers came to our room whilst we were out. A blanket was left, but the hearing turned off and not even a turndown or tidy service, so why was out room entered? Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't get room 2, no view, you fall over the bed as you enter, the bed head is against the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couplewholovelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Couplewholovelife. Thank you for your review.With reference to the state/comfort of the bed & pillows: there were extra pillows in the wardrobe; you were the first couple who was dissatissfied with the condition of the bed.Thus far, our past guests were very happy with comfortable and restful nights/sleep in R2. We will, however, inform the owner to look into this matter as well as the sound insulation matter, bearing in mind that this is a Homestead setup. As the evening (in question) turned out to be rather cold, I decided on the spur of the moment, to quickly slip an extra blanket into your room and slipped out after that. I apologise that I didn't perform the turndown or tidy service that you expected. It was remiss/oversight on my part for not turning the heater on too. My apologies!
Elaine/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent three nights here in March on what was our first visit to Margaret River, and we could not have asked for a better sanctuary to base ourselves in. Gilgara Retreat is nicely situated along Caves Road right by the turn to Carter Road (which leads into Margaret River town). Everywhere was an easy drive away - Cowaramup, Yalingup, Dunsbourough, even Augusta.

The main house has a timeless quality, with self-catering modern suites further down the path. These latter suites are extremely well-lit, with floor to ceiling windows looking into the surrounding wood. The split-level design provide tidy sightlines throughout the suite. The bathroom was airy, clean and well-lit, and the bed was very comfortable. Our evenings in the suite were peaceful, and in the morning we woke to birdcalls right outside. Elaine and Steve were warm and hospitable, and we felt very well taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Minn Y, thank you for posting your comments about your 'Gilgara Experience' and, of course, thank you for the positive feedback. It is always appreciated when guests take a little time out of their day to come on here and share their experience.
We are glad that you had a good time in Margaret River. It was a pleasure having you stay @ Gilgara. Hope to see you next time.
Regards from Steven & Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
690 reviews
3.2 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
491 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
642 reviews
3.6 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 20 in Margaret River
568 reviews
3.5 mi away
Heritage Trail Lodge
Heritage Trail Lodge
#5 of 20 in Margaret River
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilgara Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilgara Retreat

Property: Gilgara Retreat
Address: 3 Old Ellen Brook Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilgara Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Gilgara Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilgara Retreat Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing