We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gilgara Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gilgara Retreat
Ranked #9 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Steve and Elaine were excellent and friendly hosts when we stayed at Gilgara whilst attending a wedding in the Margaret River area before Easter.
The retreat has a fabulous setting and the rooms were well appointed. The breakfast was lovely with home made breads and locally sourced produce.

A stay here will not disappoint!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanpartridge08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Alan, for your feedback! Will pass on your comments to our house-keeping team. Steven and I were very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay @ Gilgara, the Margaret River Region & not forgetting the wedding @ Leeuwin Estate too! Hope to see you all again when you next visit the region. Regards, Steven & Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    24
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during mid Feb in the Garden Suite as a romantic getaway. The Garden Suite was superb, very spacious for two with simple cooking facilities. The jacuzzi spa was the most memorable. Will definitely visit again and recommend to all!!!!

We made a last minute booking and being an unknown to the Margaret River (MR) area, the hosts was very attentive to all needs, their patience and clear explanation of the "where to go" are very very helpful.

The retreat resides within 10 minutes drive to the MR town center. Convenient and easy to find. You definitely need to be trustworthy, honest and love the country lifestyle to enjoy this quiet and peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toastgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house on a bed and breakfast basis. We received a warm welcome and our hosts had excellent local knowledge. Even though we have visited the area before, they made several suggestions for places to visit, eat etc which were all great. The room was simple and clean with a good sized en suite. We also looked at the suites which were clean, spacious and stylish. We enjoyed relaxing in the gorgeous lounge with views onto the grounds which are again beautiful. Breakfast was made from local produce and set us up for the day! The setting is great, just a few minutes drive to MR and great access for all the local wineries, walks and attractions. We also enjoyed the peacefulness of the retreat as it is more adult focused than so many places that cater more for families with young children. Great for couples. Will definitely plan a return visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Gilgara Retreat for 2 Nights in early January, on arrival, we were greeted by our host Elaine who immediately gave us the rundown on the area, and showed us to our room (which included a nice bottle of wine as we booked online).
The Garden Suite we stayed in was MASSIVE, well furnished and modern with all the facilities one may need on a little getaway. The rooms have windows at ceiling level which make the room feel almost outdoorsy. The large sliding glass doors take you onto a semi-private patio where you can enjoy a glass of local wine and see some of the fantastic wildlife.
If you fancy a sleep in, the main house may be a better option, as the Kookaburras will have you up and about very early (not a problem when your Jet lagged anyway!)
The MR area in general is overpriced when it comes to accommodation, but I am happy to say that Gilgara steps up and delivers a great experience for the price.
If asked what could be done better? I would say that a complimentary breakfast would not be too much of a push, ($15 bucks per head per day for continental brekkie for Garden Suite Guests ). With that said, the short drive to Prevelly and the White Elephant Cafe is definitely worth a trip for some good coffee and delicious breakfast.
The retreat is on right on caves road which is a major route through the MR area, traffic noise was not a problem as the area is rural anyway but it meant great access to the region and was only a short drive from the MR township.
Overall a great place to stay, if we ever end up back in the region, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Gilgara Retreat 22nd to 24th December and as I got out of the car I could hear Kuckaburras laughing, and see a kangaroo drinking from the birdbath - just what we came to Australia for!! The warm welcome from Steve and Elaine put us immediately at our ease, and our room and the lounge areas were beautifully appointed and comfortable Sitting on the Terrace in the evening with our friends sharing a glass of wine was lovely. Very relaxed environment, Doug was able to watch the football on T.V until late in the evening (sound proof T.V.lounge), with the only instruction being to turn out the lights. Breakfast of home bread and preserves, and plenty of locally grown fruit and delicious fruit juice set us up for the day.
A beautiful and tranquil oasis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieandDougAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a great experience while staying at Gilgara Retreat over the New Years holiday. Elaine and Steve were excellent hosts and the rooms were second to none.

We stayed in a suite room which was beautifully furnished and provided everything you could need. The location itself was ideal as it was well placed between Margaret River town/wineries and Prevelly.

We would definitely recommend this retreat to anybody looking for accommodation around MR. If you want to kick back, unwind and just enjoy your partner's company, this is the place to be.

B & Y

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Y888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

First visit was a romantic trip....which was so perfect in November, that we just had to stay again with our friends from overseas before Christmas.

Elaine & Steve never disappoint - being the most gracious and friendliest of hosts. It truly is a peaceful retreat (when the other guests abide by the conditions of booking in the main house!),

If only passing through or stopping for a couple of days when visiting Margaret River - this is the place you want to stay, for that slice of quiet heaven in a beautiful setting, surrounded by gorgeous country. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: B&B in the main house (with no children) is ideal for those seeking a 'retreat' from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_SEPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.2 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
5.6 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilgara Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilgara Retreat

Property: Gilgara Retreat
Address: 3 Old Ellen Brook Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gilgara Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Gilgara Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilgara Retreat Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing