We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really comfortable bed and breakfast within easy walking distance of the township”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosewood Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A really comfortable bed and breakfast within easy walking distance of the township”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rosewood Guesthouse deserves its plaudits. Jane and Keith are affable and interesting hosts, and take pleasure in ensuring their guests enjoy their stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the wonderfully tasty breakfasts are enjoyed in a delightful, sunny dining-room looking at the parrots and honeyeaters busying themselves at the birdfeeder, adjacent to a lounge where one can relax and enjoy a quite read or use the free wifi. We prepared our evening meal on the verandah, with Jane thoughtfully providing all the necessary requisites. We have no hesitation in recommending this well-run establishment.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed quiet, but there are some that face away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi David
This long autumn has been perfect for BBQ nights on the deck and we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. It was really lovely to meet you and to see how much your Mother in Law enjoyed a holiday with you both here at Rosewood. We think it is really great to have the option to enjoy using the guest lounge facilities and our small book exchange has a surprising amount of use.
Regards to you all and we hope you return for some more West Australian wines in the future.
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    57
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
246
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I along with our Guide Dog in Training spent the weekend at Rosewood Guest house in Margaret River. How amazing were Keith and Jane with Ida our Guide Dog puppy in training. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast - especially the waffles a must try - were delish. Anybody looking for a wonderful place to stay in Margaret River this is the place we will certainly be returning in the future. They made us feel so welcome - Thank you Jane and Keith.

Glenda

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Glenda and Ida
Can we just say how great it was to meet you, Ida and of course Bruce. It is not every day we can welcome such a beautifully behaved guest as Ida. You are doing a fantastic job training her for her future duties and we loved having the opportunity to widen her experience. It is just a shame that she couldn't have a waffle for breakfast too!

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience and you will find some great photo's of Ida on our facebook page for Rosewood Guesthouse of Margaret River, she sure is cute!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at Rosewood in February for my first trip to the Margaret River region and found Rosewood to be the perfect base to explore this wonderful area. The hosts Jane and Keith are so enthusiastic about the region and extemely helpful in planning our time there. In fact we booked a wine tour with Keith in his Rolls Royce which was a highlight.

We liked the central location which meant dinner at local wine bars was an easy walk. Breakfast was fantastic, beautifully cooked with huge array of local produce.

The free wifi in the room was a bonus as not usual offering in other B&B's we have stayed at.

King size bed also a bonus and the most comfortable during our road trip. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Joe
So great to know that your trip was a success and that our king beds won your approval. I find it very satisfying to see someone enjoy their breakfast and appreciate the our cooking!

Rose Royce Tours are designed to make your day memorable which is why the tastings are before Keith leaves you to lunch at your leisure, returning to collect you when you want to come home. It is a format which is unique andso glad it suited you!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights during the March long weekend. The owners were away on vacation and we were looked after very well by Sue & Paul. We were in the Georgette room which overlooks the garden and the garden shed which is not the best view in the world. The room itself was very nice, comfortable and clean. Two things detracted from our stay, we had a large bay window which overlooked part of the garden and shed. Paul was obviously doing what was required in the garden and made frequent visits to the shed, each time walking past our window. If you require any privacy you had to have the blinds down & closed or the curtains closed. The other problem was the shower, very low water pressure and impossible to regulate the temperature, it was either cold or scalding. The lounge / breakfast room was very nice and comfortable and there was a good selection for breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the Georgette room until the shower is sorted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtrailPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Xtrail
We are very pleased that you found the room and breakfasts to your satisfaction.
It can be very challenging balancing guests' needs with all the tasks that need to be achieved during the day. Generally our guests spend most of their day exploring the region, so it was unfortunate that perhaps you were home during the times that essential duties were being performed.

We have spent a great deal of time since our return trying to recreate your shower problem. There does not seem to be a big problem that justifies your rather dramatic description... however we did detect that getting the adjustment correct before entering the shower is a good idea, we have also replaced the shower head to improve the water flow as these water saving devices can it seems create less flow.

Those two issues aside we are pleased that your overall experience was an enjoyable one and we hope that you will return!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hosts were very attentive and professional and we were warmly welcomed. We were given advice on wineries and attractions to visit and recommendations on restaurants. The house is beautiful and the room was very comfortable with a high standard of appointments. Breakfast was well done and plentiful, with a number of home made items.

Native birds flocked to the water fountain in the beautiful garden outside the window; something you do not get in a hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and could hear people upstairs walking about. Not loud but noticeable. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Peter
It is very relaxing watching the birds having their breakfast too! We try to ensure that we maintain Rosewood to a very high standard and it great that our guests notice!

We hope you will consider a return visit!
Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed here and both found it excellent. The loungeroom had a queen sized bed so we had our own rooms. Everything was cosy, clean and comforting. After staying in an awful hotel in Perth we were welcomed by Jane & Keith when we arrived and made to feel very comfortable. Our homemade brekkie was delicious, the omelette and waffles were great and we enjoyed sipping the complimentary port from the cute glasses in the main room. We would definetely recommend this place to anyone visiting the region. We decided to leave our car in town after a drinks and dinner at "Must" and strolled back to collect it in the morning as it wasn't far from the centre of town. Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Stacey
It was a delight to host you and your friend in The Wallcliffe Suite... perfect choice when you each want a separate room. We are really glad that you loved your breakfasts and enjoyed the 10 minute walk home!

Thanks for your kind and encouraging review!
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at Rosewood in the New Year. The room was comfortable and clean. The welcome from the owners was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble, Our stay in the Margaret River area was such a success due to the excellent and detailed briefings we received and all the recommendations were just right for us. there were many little touches which made Rosewood particularly special, such as the decanters of sherry and madeira from which one was invited to take a complimentary glass in the evening to the use of an excellent gas barbecue on the stoop togetrher with a basket full of crockery, cutlery, sauces and condiments for only a very few dollars extra. We had our own car but for those travellers who don't, the owner has a beautiful old Rolls Royce which he uses to take residents on personalised tours of the local Wineries. Compared with all the other comparable guesthouses and Bijou Hotels in which we stayed in SW Australia, we rated it the best experience.

Room Tip: I suspect that all their rooms are of a similar standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Frank
Your very kind assessment of Rosewood is greatly appreciated. Given that you travel so extensively on business we know that you have a great knowledge of what makes accommodation memorable. Often it is a recommendations and little touches which make the difference between an OK visit and a great visit. We always try to make sure our guests are not left wanting!...especially for good coffee!

We hope you have the opportunity to visit again and even take a tour in Rose!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.9 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Guesthouse

Property: Rosewood Guesthouse
Address: 54 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosewood Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Guesthouse is friendly, well located and award winning hosted accommodation just 10 mins walk to town. With 6 beautifully detailed guest rooms all en-suite and air-conditioned with your own fridge, TV/DVD and tea coffee facilitie. Rosewood provides a convivial atmosphere, free WIFI with an included great breakfast featuring local produce, good coffee and interesting conversation will ensure that your stay is memorable. With restaurants and shops within walking distance, and wineries, beaches and forests within 10 minutes allow at least 3 nights for the sights! Rolls Royce Tours available. Suits guests over the age of 12.We can accommodate children if the entire house is reserved otherwise we regret we do not suit infants or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing