We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally taken care of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosewood Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally taken care of”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the moment we booked to the moment we headed home, having booked the Rosewood Guesthouse meant our stay in Margaret River was fuss-free and incredibly easy. From tips about the best wine tours, restaurants and other activities to the tasty and filling breakfast each morning, the place is designed to ensure that your stay is genuinely comfortable. The guest sitting room is warm and inviting, with complimentary port and sherry to accompany a cheese plate or a sit on the beautiful veranda. There are books, board games and dvds if you fancy a quiet night in, and barbecue facilities if you fancy eating outside rather than out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Fiona
We are delighted that you found Rosewood a comfortable, and friendly place to stay. We like to ensure that every guest has a wonderful break while here and it is lovely to know that you enjoyed our hospitality.

Sure hope you enjoy some good Margaret River wines in the near future!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    57
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
249
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very convenient location - just off the main road about 500m, so a very short and comfortable walk to the restaurants and shops. We had the Walcliffe suite, which lived up to our expectations - I was surprised to see how well appointed the kitchenette (more like a small kitchen) was. Several (nice) sets of plates, bowls and mugs - often the bug bear of B&Bs! Tasty and diverse breakfast choice and coming home to the warming lounge after a day of trekking around wineries was very welcoming. The suite was comfortable and with a separate bedroom as well as the large main "studio" area with another queen bed, made our few nights stay not appear as if we were living out of a suitcase in compromised space. Very much a B&B, so if you like the sharing of breakfast with others and a more homely feel of accommodation, I recommend Rosewood - good value for money in the Margaret River. Thank you Paul and Sue for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: The walcliffe suite has both the extra bed (and room), which means you can spread out. The bath is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Melven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Keith and I are very pleased that you found The Wallcliffe Suite so comfortable. We recently spent a considerable time reviewing the kitchenettes and what we offered there and had added a better range of equipment so we are delighted that our guests do appreciate quality!

We find the suite suits guests who like to have more space, or a traveling with a friend and both want separate sleeping areas and a comfortable bed.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review Rosewood.
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Rosewood last week. A lovely guesthouse with loads of added touches such as inviting lounge room and a late night port to help one sleep :-). Hospitable host and an excellent breakfast make this worthy of a repeat

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungDe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Part of the charm of staying in a B&B are those little touches like raiding a biscuit barrel for a home made treat to enjoy with a cup of tea or a fortifying port! We are always pleased when guests make the most of their stay and we hope that you repeat the experience!

Regards
Jane & Keth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rüsselsheim
Level Contributor
803 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hosts Mr. and Mrs. Purdie are very worried about their guests. You get tipps for excursions and restaurants near by. Wonderful is the rosegarden in front of the B & B. We stayed here 5 wonderful nights. The only problem was: it was a little bit noisy ( Trafficstreet about 50 Meters distance from the house) Wonderful the individuell breakfast each morning. The room was well equipped with spa and a small kitchen. All of it very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfritschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rosewood, our gardens are lovely and make for a very relaxing outlook.

We do try to tempt you with our breakfasts and are really pleased that you enjoyed them.

Best wishes now you are home
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The guesthouse was very nice and picturesk. It has a lovely garden and once inside the grounds and your room though the traffic is noticeable it did not have an negative effect on our stay.. The service is excellent and the assistance that was provided was top notch. The owners were very happy to sit down and chat and find out about you and what you wanted to do in Margaret River. They provided maps and directions to wineries and other places to visit. They also were very happy to ring up an find out information on your behalf concerning bookings, opening and closing times.
Breakfast is only available between 8-9am so have to be up and about eary if want to have breakie, which came with the room deal with booked. The breakfast though it very nice, fresh fruits, jams, breads, beverages and choice of cooked breakie, waffles, porridge, and breakie special of the day.
The room was comfortable and suitable if your spending the whole day out an about. The owners were very nice and encouraged you to sit upstairs in the nice comfortable living room area with fire. There was a laptop with internet available if needed and there was port and brandy in the living room area to help yourself and to relax by the fire with. Will def stay there again in the future

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi Chris
How kind of you to take the time to review us. We are always happy to take the time to help our guests make the most of their time in Margaret River. As you were here during the very busy holiday period reservations are important for that special meal and we are happy to make sure you are not disappointed!

We hope you are enjoying your wines.

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our third stay at Rosewood - Keith was very helpful and we enjoyed the dinner recommendation and the chocolate factory. The room was nice and comfortable although the traffic was noticeable it did not impact on sleep.

The stay was really spoilt when we arrived for breakfast at about 9.20am (somehow we had wrongly thought that breakfast ended at 10.00am) and were met with a somewhat irritated Jane who proceeded to embarass us (for daring to arrive late) in front of other guests finishing their breakfast. Breakfast had a sour taste and was not up to expectation ... and we made sure we left before 10.00am which we were informed was check out time!

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 if you do not want traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Nikkie
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and experience at Rosewood. Keith is glad that you enjoyed his suggestions and recommendations and that the room was comfortable.

I am very sorry that you did not realise breakfast service is as stated on the menu you filled out, served between 8-9am. I actually thought that you had decided to give breakfast a miss and had come to check out. I do apologise if in my confusion my manner embarrassed you and detracted from your morning.

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Rosewood Guesthouse and had an awesome stay. Margaret River is a favourite of ours and now we have found the perfect place to stay! Jane and Keith were very helpful and gave us great advice on the best wineries to visit. They also recommended two of the very best restaurants for dinner. The breakfasts served at the guesthouse must be mentioned - what a way to start the day! We didn't try the waffles but will definately try them next time - I have heard that they are awesome. Thank you so much for helping make our stay so memorable. (Brian and Karen Williams - Brisbane, QLD)

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful - it overlooked the garden, was peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Brian & Karen
We love sharing Rosewood and this fantastic region with our guests and are really glad that you had a great holiday.

The waffles will be waiting for you and we hope you will return!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.6 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Guesthouse

Property: Rosewood Guesthouse
Address: 54 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosewood Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Guesthouse is friendly, well located and award winning hosted accommodation just 10 mins walk to town. With 6 beautifully detailed guest rooms all en-suite and air-conditioned with your own fridge, TV/DVD and tea coffee facilitie. Rosewood provides a convivial atmosphere, free WIFI with an included great breakfast featuring local produce, good coffee and interesting conversation will ensure that your stay is memorable. With restaurants and shops within walking distance, and wineries, beaches and forests within 10 minutes allow at least 3 nights for the sights! Rolls Royce Tours available. Suits guests over the age of 12.We can accommodate children if the entire house is reserved otherwise we regret we do not suit infants or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rosewood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing