We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Australian wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
AUssie
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Experience Australian wildlife”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights here was fab and such lovely owners! If you are coming to australia and want to get up close and personal with kangaroos, woylies and possums this is the place. Love how secluded it feel.the bathroom is quite basic, but everything you could ever need is supplied. The owners really have thought of everything from toy boxes and games for the kids to milk, butter and eggs for brekkie. We Will be back and can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gizmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Peaceful, relaxing weekend getaway for a couple. Lovely accommodation and great interaction with wildlife. Short travelling distance from wineries and the town of Margaret river.
Thank you Joy and Simon for the lovely weekend we had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank bec t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just got back from a weekend staying here - was overall fairly happy. The outdoor spa was fantastic, as were all the animals coming right up to the door. I've seen some complaints about the price, but I thought that it was pretty reasonable, given the prices similar local establishments charge, and you're supporting the conservation work. My girlfriend called the decor a bit "nanna-ey" but it's not really a problem.

The one thing that spoiled the experience a little was the fact that the chalet we stayed in was littered with Christian and worse, creationist propaganda. I get that the owners probably feel strongly about this stuff, but it doesn't need to be shoved down guests throats. It's particularly disturbing when you see reviews from people who're bringing their kids to learn about nature, when the chalets are filled with pseudoscience books and DVDs denying the basic biology of evolution. So if you're going to bring your kids along, let them learn by watching and interacting with the animals, but keep them away from the books and the DVDs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyMargaretRiver, Owner at Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi Mathew thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Yelverton Brook & meeting our friendly wildlife.
You may realize we have been open for 22yrs now & are still the original owners/builders of Yelverton Brook, we believe the cottage theme suits our forest environment, we have toned down the "nanna-ey" decor where possible but still feel a "home away from home".

We are sorry you felt strongly enough to air your views on the various books, magazines & dvds supplied in the chalet.
Just to clarify, yes we are Christians & offer an alternative in some material in the chalets.
You may be interested to know the ratio of materials -
In this chalet there are 50 dvd's of which - 2 x by Focus on the Family plus 1 x Darwin Voyage that Shook the World, plus secular movie theatre movies of -
Passion of Christ by Mel Gibson, Fireproof & a cartoon - Moses Prince of Egypt.
Also a "Native Orchids of WA", cowboy & lots of secular movies make up the balance.

We have 56 books of various sizes in that chalet with Bird Identification, 2 x Wildflowers, 2 x bibles for 2 bed chalets by Gideons as most hotels do. Plus many regular novels for guys & girls.
There are 2 x small books on alternative Evolution views

Plus many magazines - 4x4 & car x 14, gardening x 4, Ethical Investing x 4, Eco Living x 1, Spa magazines x 2, Australiana 3 & Craft & home x 3.
Evolution based ideas are in - National Geographic, Landscope & Wingspan a total of another 8 magazines.
Creation magazines - only 2.

We have a large range of dvd's, books & magazines left in the chalets for our guests convenience with a small amount of christian material.
Our guests are free to choose what they watch & wish to read.

Kind regards Joy & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Have been coming for years now and everytime is such a pleasure to be here with all the kangaroos, possums, and woylies running all over the place interacting with us, it is such a buzz to see it all so close up❤️And the owners are the best! Nothing is too much for Simon and Joy they finish the experience off.I can't say enough about this place, come and find out for yourself u won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwi78perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyMargaretRiver, Owner at Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi thank you for your kind review for your birthday stay at Yelverton Brook, we are very happy to meet returning guests.
Your reviews make our job so rewarding after such a long time from building & running the retreat for 22+yrs now.
The wildlife are wonderful although building a new orchard is challenging, as to keep them out of it so we hope to have an abundance to share in the future with our guests.
Kind regards Joy & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here a couple weeks ago and I loved it so much that I was refusing to leave. Coming from another rural coastal town where wildlife is abundant but to actually have the really friendly kangaroos greet you each morning and the woylies and bandicoots greet you in the night is truly a treat. We love the cottage. It catered for everything and was very homey and comfortable. The outdoor spa was another winner. We really enjoyed laying back and relaxing in the warm spa with the cool night air staring at the stars. We will definitely return with our kids and I highly recommend the Yelverton Brook for accommodation in the Margaret River area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missymee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here over in late December / early January (sorry for the late review).

If you are looking to get out of the City and relax in some of WA's most beautiful nature than this is the place - you are immersed in nature and the wildlife, from the kangaroos to the wylies is fantastic!

The outdoor spa is also a great addition - it was fantastic to be able to have a spa in the middle of the bush with wildlife surrounding, it was truly something special!

The rooms themselves are very comfortable and the kitchen stocks everything required, it is not luxury accommodation but it is extremely comfortable and is perfect for its surroundings.

Will definitely be back and our friends who live in the area have added it to their list of recommended accommodation :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyMargaretRiver, Owner at Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi & thank you for your review as a Senior reviewer it is appreciated. We are glad to hear your enjoyed the "private spa under the stars" while watching the wildlife.....
Many years ago we called ourselves luxury but expectations are so high now & building constraints mean some things are not easily changed.
We do however try to maintain an high eco cleanliness with minimal chemicals for our guests comforts.
We are happy your friends are willing to recommend us as well, we look forward to welcoming you back to Yelverton Brook in the future.
Kind regards Joy & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Yelverton Brook the past few days and were sad to leave. The cottages with outdoor spas were very nice, but the highlight was definately the wildlife! Kangaroos come right up to your back door and will eat out of your hand if you choose. They are so cute and gentile. At night there are also other animals that come around. Instead do going out to eat, we made brekkie and had a BBQ each evening as the wildlife footage right out our back door was better than any view at a restaurant. Kids would love this place! Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renaldo6899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
15.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
696 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
1.7 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#6 of 51 in Margaret River
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
204 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
#17 of 51 in Margaret River
99 reviews
11.9 mi away
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary

Property: Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary
Address: 118 Roy Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found just 15 mins from Margaret River, Busselton & Dunsborough, set in one of the State's few private, fully eco-certified 100ac conservation sanctuaries. Here friendly native fauna visits your doorstep, wildflowers flourish and enjoy the meandering walktrails through the bushland. The perfect setting for romantics, couples travelling together & families plus visiting nature enthusiasts. Offering fully self-contained chalets, with private 6 person "spas under the stars". Set in 100acs offering peace & privacy and to provide a sense of escaping back the very essence of the natural bush.A welcome food package for your arrival day contains, freshly baked bread, small fresh milk, butter, free range eggs, local paper & maps. Plus special feed for the friendly wildlife.Plus special packages, day spa treatments, even a Private Chef option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing