We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing animal experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing animal experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband organised our trip for my birthday it was a wonderful surprise and my mother in law organised an in room full body massage (WOW!). The animals are super friendly we had kangaroos, woylies, and possums come and visit us. It is fantastic to see a place like this and giving back to the environment. We will definitely be back to stay. Rooms are light, roomy, and clean. The spa under the stars was the cherry top.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_panda_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
101
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very clean and comfortable chalet, great bed, awesome linen and towels. The kitchen is well stocked with just about everything you would need.

The wildlife do really come up to your front door, which was a great experience, they are also a bit cheeky, the kangaroo knocked on the door wanting his food!

Slight negatives: the water pressure the shower is very low (this is most probably due to the water saving shower head), and does let the place down in my opinion. Having thick long hair was hard to wash! Note the bread is no longer included in the price, and this is now a chargeable item ($5), which was disappointing, but we accepted this charge. The bread was very good!

Overall its an awesome get away from city life, and we had a fantastic trip. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthgirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This place is really special. We traveled down early on Friday morning and arrived around lunchtime, initial impressions were looking good. We followed the winding path in and pulled up outside our chalet. The key was waiting in the door and our fridge was stocked with a few goodies, the chalet was light, clean and cosy, exactly what we were hoping for.
Our top priority was to get some of the supplied kangaroo food out to see tempt them to visit us. It only took them about 20 minutes for two of them to come bounding up through the bush. At times we had up to 8 of them eat, playing and resting right next to the patio. They were incredibly friendly and clearly had no problem with us feeding them!
Once the sun goes down the Possums and Woylies come out to play, we had a possum visit us both nights we stayed, and again was very friendly, even climbed onto Charlotte's lap while we were sat watching the Woylies hop about!
Once the fauna was quite sure they'd eaten every last scrap of fruit they headed off (presumably to the next chalet) and we made use of the outdoor spa to check out the incredible view of the stars. It's worth noting that the spa was cleverly raised so you don't need to worry too much about extra visitors!
Staying at Yelverton Brook meant our money went towards a good cause and that was clear from the moment we arrived. The animals here live freely within the 100 acre area without the danger from introduced species like cats and foxes. I would recommend this experience to anyone.

Room Tip: Our review is based on the "Banksia" chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just experienced a wonderful couple of nights away. A gift from hubby for Christmas.
It was a wonderful 2 days with my sister, with massages organised at our lovely 2 bedroom chalet.

The wildlife are delightful. Thoroughly enjoyed spending time out doors surrounded by nothing but quietness. Beds were also amazing to sleep in!

We only live half an hour away and it is such a pleasure to not have to travel far for a getaway. Support local! I will be back, with Hubby and daughter next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlengert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrogin, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The photo's on here really do this amazing place no justice, It's heaven!
At first we were thinking it was going to be a really old style chalet maybe even a tad dingy but it is so far from that, it is beautiful!
It is quite "old" but that is the style we love! Absolutely gorgeous chalet even better than some of the 4 star places we have stayed at!!
I didn't want to go home I could quite happily live there!
The spa is AMAZING! We didn't want to get out!!
The best thing about this place though is the wildlife!! So awesome! The Kangaroo's and Woylies were a delight to feed and watch!! Very entertaining and there is one female Kangaroo who loves a pat and is very friendly and comes back numerous times and even waits outside your chalet in the morning for you! So gorgeous!
We stayed in the Peppermint chalet and it was perfect for us nice and private we didn't see any other guests the entire time all we did was go in the spa, eat, drink and relax!!
Perfect weekend away for our Wedding Anniversary I cannot fault it at all!!!
Thankyou so much Joy and Simon we will be back in a few months :)

Room Tip: All the chalets are equally spaced and facing away from each other so any chalet would do :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaZfItZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozelle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 14 nights away at this little slice of heaven here on earth!

One of our best holidays ever.

We've come back to Sydney de-stressed and ready for another year in the office.

This place is so unique, with kangaroos literally hopping up to your back door to say hi, as well as possums and then the little woylies hopping around later in the evening. It's a fauna haven. It was amazing how friendly the animals were - I could hand feed the kangaroos and pat them - so lovely.

I love the fact that the chalets are really well spaced too so you aren't on top of other guests - I didn't see any of the other guests at all!

Joy is a fabulous host and can't do enough for guests. I love her home baked bread so much so that I ordered a few loaves. Our washing machine broke over Christmas and so Joy did our washing, hung it out and folded it all for us. So accommodating.

The chalets have everything you need while away even a picnic set! We are coffee lovers so we took a little stove top coffee pot with us as the chalets offer instant coffee.

The proximity to local beaches, wineries and Margaret River is excellent! We spent every morning at the beach and then local cafés for lunch and in the evening we'd cook in the chalet.

The chalets are not 5 star, but they are very comfortable. Beds are really comfy.

For us this place is a retreat away from busy city life - and a welcome break from crowds.

Highly recommend a trip to Yelverton Brook.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank craig_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Finding the place using GPS was a challenge, but the instructions given to use was sufficient to get us there without difficulty.

Located in the Margaret River region, visiting attractions is just a short drive away, and the Sanctuary is at a nice quiet location, so spending the day in the cottage and taking a nice walk around is just as wonderful.

The cottage we stayed in (Fern) was lovely, and easy to settle into, the grounds are great for walking.

The feeders attract birds and animals alike, and the Woylies are simply a joy to watch. Perhaps our days spent there weather was changing, but the birds didn't quite appear, but it's wildlife, so we can never predict when they will appear. Still, we had a good number of feathered friends visiting to keep both myself and my son pre-occupied.

Joy & Simon are wonderful hosts, and the bread made by Joy was delicious!

We'll never forget our stay here, and hope to come back again someday!

Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhekThong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
16.4 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
10.4 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#6 of 53 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
#17 of 53 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
14.4 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 53 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
18.5 mi away
Acacia Chalets Margaret River
Acacia Chalets Margaret River
#2 of 53 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary

Property: Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary
Address: 118 Roy Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found just 15 mins from Margaret River, Busselton & Dunsborough, set in one of the State's few private, fully eco-certified 100ac conservation sanctuaries. Here friendly native fauna visits your doorstep, wildflowers flourish and enjoy the meandering walktrails through the bushland. The perfect setting for romantics, couples travelling together & families plus visiting nature enthusiasts. Offering fully self-contained chalets, with private 6 person "spas under the stars". Set in 100acs offering peace & privacy and to provide a sense of escaping back the very essence of the natural bush.A welcome food package for your arrival day contains, freshly baked bread, small fresh milk, butter, free range eggs, local paper & maps. Plus special feed for the friendly wildlife.Plus special packages, day spa treatments, even a Private Chef option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing