We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Margaret River Resort
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A mixed bag...”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

In May I stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment, which although the furnishings were a little dated, was absolutely fine...HOWEVER...we took the room as it was advertised as sleeping 4 persons (we are a family of 4, 2 children under 6). The sofa in the lounge was a sofa-bed, however sadly when we pulled this out at night, there was no way any of us could sleep on it as the matress was so thin, you could feel the wood base on your back/shoulders. Our way around this was to take all the cushions off the couches, and we made a bed on the floor for our eldest, and had our toddler in bed with us.

Therefore, if you are a couple - I would recommend it. Its in a great spot, with excellent facilities - probably the best hotel facilities in the area actually. But if you are a family of 3 or more - do yourself a favour and stay in the chalet. They are much more expensive, but at least you know you will all be able to sleep (and I have stayed in these a few years back, they were lovely).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    68
    45
    19
    25
See reviews for
26
102
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Paid $99 through Bookings . com - excellent value Room 42 was I suspect basic but had Queen and single bed - and roomy.
Good selection of pillows and efficient aircon. TV was old but worked ok.
Had excellent English pub and Indian restaurant attached to Reception.
No menues in my room - strange. Burger in Pub was superb.
No breakfast available - at least they can offer a take to room continental pack - milk/cereal/bread slices/butter pat and jam!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insearchofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are happy with our spa suite. It was spacious much larger than we envisaged. It had large spa which worked magic. There were 2 flat screen TVs in both living room and bedroom - very handy. Views from the balcony to very relaxing bush were a cherry on the cake. Very close to town centre. Happy as! The reason we give 4 and not 5 is because we felt that bed cover and curtains could be updated. They looked clean but a bit dated. Otherwise great place. P.S. There is a great bar as you drive in. Well worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nats888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I booked this for my partners birthday stayed in a spa apartment what a waste of money the only good about this hotel was the proximity to Margaret river centre. We had a groupon voucher so this was meant to be worth $700 no way . The 2 bedroom villas looked good though

Room Tip: Don't bother with a spa suite choose another room or try else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Margaret River hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice place, stayed in a spa suite, great space. Adjoining door makes it seem as if your neighbors are on your sofa with you. Quite noisy at times. Good value for money though. Handy having a bottle shop on the premesis.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaBlo2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Enjoyed our stay and have no specific complaints about the hotel. The hotel appears to have raised it prices lately. We stayed there cheap, only about $120 a night or something for a queen room and that was probably worth the money. I agree with some of the other reviews that it is old etc, the place does need a bit of new paint etc.

Customer service was good, we had been camping the nights before and brought with us some good pillows. We left them in the hotel. On arrival back into Kalgoorlie (800+ Kilometres away) we contacted the hotel and they had put the pillows aside for us and then posted them back to us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked a spa apartment for a romantic weekend getaway. We were given the keys to Room 17 and upon entering we were just about knocked out by the mouldy smell. The apartment had a large sitting room, a good sized bathroom and a large bedroom. The sitting room had a double couch and a chair which seemed to get lost in the space. It had an old fashioned tv which you wouldn't want to watch as the couch was so uncomfortable you couldn't sit there for more than a few minutes. One look at the spa with its dirty jets and filters was an instant turnoff. The king sized bed was actually two king singles pushed together and didn't make for a comfortable nights sleep as the springs dug into your back and sides. We kept the window open to clear some of the mouldy smell out but were kept awake by the heat pumps right outside the bedroom window. On a positive note, the grounds were lovely and the pub out the front was pretty good.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank DarrenandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.2 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
948 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Resort

Property: Margaret River Resort
Address: 40 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Margaret River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing