We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfectly relaxing retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnside Organic Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside Organic Farm
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A perfectly relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 night's, the chalet was perfectly comfortable with a gorgeous wood fire, comfortable couches, spacious bathroom, well equipped kitchen and a lovely veranda.

Our accommodation was lovely and private, and whisper quiet. We loved the vege garden, and our fill in host steph was wonderfully warm and helpful. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had four nights at Burnside Organic Farm over Easter while we were finishing the Cape to Cape track. The bungalows are privately situated on the farm and only a 10 minute drive from Margaret River. Our own walking adventures didn't afford the opportunity to take up the walk loop around the farm or some of the other farm activities on offer. We simply enjoyed the well appointed bungalows to prepare our own meals, wash our walking clothes (days 1 & 2) and relax (days 3 & 4). The spa bath is one of the largest we have come across in many years travelling domestically and overseas and the outdoor terrace area with hammock was a great spot for breakfast in the sunshine as well as an afternoon siesta. Beyond the well designed bungalows, there is a genuine philosophy to an environmental sustainable principle that is all encompassing when you turn off the road and Jamie and Lara are to be applauded for their holistic approach to their life at Burnside and for sharing it with their guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aputula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great for families and young children to experience a working farm. It's not a 5 star hotel with all the trimmings as i have read a previous review that came from someone looking for a Shangri-la in Margaret River and they don't exist! The rooms are basic but I don't know wbout you but I just tend to sleep in a bedroom. It's the outside that makes the place and if you want a fancy hotel go to Bali! This is a working farm and so much fun. Jamie and Lara are great hosts. Go there expecting to be on a working farm and make your bungalow a little home. The other complaint about the fire not being wam enough is down to your fire making skills city boy as I got the place roasting when I was there fromt he same little fire!

Room Tip: Room with outside bath is great for the kids they love to bath outside but can be chilly in winter m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Comfortable, spacious rammed-earth bungalows situated on a small organic farm owned by a lovely family. Very peaceful and private. Had lovely walks around the farm and surrounding bush land and enjoyed fresh eggs for breakfast and sat by the fire in the evenings. Well-appointed kitchen with BBQ outside and hammock for lazing in. Would love to return one day - didn't want to leave!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtrain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I had the perfect Margaret River escape staying at Burnside Organic Farm. Lara and Jamie have created a wonderful haven to relax and get back to your roots. The place is lush thriving with animals and trees, and the owners can teach you a few things about permaculture. In my view Jamie and Lara are true environmentalists as they respect the environment and tread lightly every day.

The accommodation is luxurious, spacious and very private. At the end of a big day of wine tasting we couldn’t wait to get back to our Bungalow to cook a meal at home using some fresh produce from the garden and sit by the fire. You will feel revived and inspired after staying here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good - after all there is only four !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KATE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife booked a surprise weekend away for our first anniversary at Burnside. I was excited! She sent me clips for the website and gave me a few hints.

Upon arrival the lady at the "reception" greeted us and told us where our bungalow was and gave us a bowl of eggs. She was quite hastily going through everything to do on the property and then we left to drive to our weekend retreat.

We unlocked the door and walked in. The first impression was quickly reduced down to sinking feeling. We walked around inspecting the rooms as you normally would and we were quite disappointed. There was a fireplace, which was rather small. And small it surely was. It didn't do anything to warm up the cold Margaret River winter nights!

The bedroom was rather large, and cold, and a very small oil heater to keep it warm. And again, it just kept the 2cm around it warm.

Next up, kitchen - dirty utensils (food still left over on "washed" spatulas and cutlery). A kettle that had no filter, a chopping board that looked like the mold was have a party and the tea towels felt and smelt as though they hadn't been washed.

We were quite disappointed so we didn't cook anything apart from one breakfast.

Oh, one last thing to add, there is no way this place is worth $290 a night!

I will never be going back here again, nor will I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perthsafarilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrganicMum, Owner at Burnside Organic Farm, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
This review is not typical of customer responses to the experience we offer at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We loved picking our dinner in the kitchen garden at this beautiful farm. The breakfast basket is worth the splurge.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amandaarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.8 mi away
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
2.5 mi away
Sunflowers Farmstay
Sunflowers Farmstay
#10 of 53 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
#13 of 53 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Bussells Bushland Cottages
#3 of 53 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.8 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 53 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
12.4 mi away
Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary
Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat ...
#15 of 53 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside Organic Farm

Property: Burnside Organic Farm
Address: 287 Burnside Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside Organic Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avoid mainstream tourism and stay on a certified organic farm and vineyard. Burnside Organic Farm is only a 5 minute drive from Margaret River and central to all the renowned attractions of the region. Pristine beaches, world class wineries and beautiful Karri forest. Couples can indulge in a private and luxurious 1 bedroom Rammed Earth Spa Bungalow or families and small groups can enjoy a 2 bedroom Limestone Bungalows. All bungalows have cosy wood fires for the cooler months. Built from natural rammed earth or limestone the bungalows are cool in summer and warm in winter. The bungalows are set apart to ensure peace and privacy for all guests. Enjoy our farm animals including heritage chickens, geese, pigs, sheep and cows. Watch the kangaroos come out to feed each night. Pick fresh produce from our vegetable garden and whip up a tasty feast! Breakfast baskets available. Enjoy forest and farm walk trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Burnside Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing