We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend”
Review of Losari Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Losari Retreat
Denmark, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

What a fabulous retreat ..... myself and 2 girl friends decided that we needed a weekend away in Margaret River and had heard great things about Losari. From the moment we were greeted by the owner Kerry to the time we left, we felt very spoilt. We opted for a two bedroom villa, which was very well appointed and indeed very spacious for the three of us. It was very private, a home away from home, the beds and bedding were luxurious and the bathroom had big fluffy towels and local Margaret River toiletries. The freshly ground coffee in the morning was a real treat. Kerry is certainly an advocate of promoting local Margaret River goodies. For lunch we followed her recommendation for lunch at Leeuwin Estate and in the evening she arranged a magnificent Margaret River platter for dinner. The outdoor area is large, very secluded and quiet and the spa a perfect temperature. The wildlife is fabulous, kangaroos and beautiful birds. All three of us couldn’t recommend it enough. Thank you Kerry for a lovely weekend, we will definitely be back.
ps - we loved your little dogs

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15SueS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This has to be one of the best retreats if not in the South West of WA, then in West Australia!. We have stayed in many five star villas and retreats, but this topped them all! The architecture of the villa is exciting and innovative. Even with windows everywhere, it was exceptionally private. From the double rainwater showers, to the hand made basin, coffee maker, remote control blinds, eco gas fire, 2 flat screen TV's, outdoor spa and day bed, king size bed - it was all luxurious and worth the dollars! Air-conditiong and mood lighting just added to the comfort. Going to sleep with the sound of frogs and waking to the sound of birds is just a delight! We will definitely visit again next year!

Room Tip: We chose the Lakehouse Jacuzzi Spa villa - more expensive but had the view over the lake. Spa - def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchgrove, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in "Belle" "Endless luxury villa" for 2 x nights. Delightful, architecturally inspiring large self contained villa. Awesome double shower bathroom, with lovely hand made soaps from neighbouring shop in Cowaramup called "Moon River" - worth a visit.

Great layout, good kitchen, good finishes, lovely outdoor spa on the deck overlooking established lillipillies and olive trees. Very well done.

New management/owners in last 2mths, looking a little lost/bored/depressed, but trying hard to put on a brave face - perhaps not what she was expecting.

Someone must have spent a fortune on establishing the place - hard to recoup that kind of outlay.

Breakfast delivered on first day - simple but lovely, eating on the deck in the morning son. Surprised to find the tray still there when arrived back late in the afternoon. Also surprised that room not attended to at all during the day.

Gorgeous "28" parrots and rosellas both regular visitors. Horses aplenty, and many wallabies. Feral rabbits though out of control.

Spa smelled like a wet dog - mould/mildew/yuck, only real negative.

We will return. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in a Lakehouse Spa Villa for a weekend in June 2012. I have never written a review of any hotel before but I was so impressed that I felt compelled to share my feedback! Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our villa.The new owner of Losari is lovely and so helpful. You can tell that there has been a lot of love poured into the villas as the attention to detail is faultless (down to the Margaret River Yahaha coffee beans provided for coffee machines, accompanied by hand made chocolate!). Everything was spotlessly clean including the spa, and although we only stayed for 3 days, the villa is really well equipped for an extended stay. We spent the days visiting wineries and galleries in the area and then came back to our villa (passing the horses and kangaroos in the paddock) to enjoy a glass of red in the spa. It was the perfect romantic winter escape!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed in a Boutique Garden villa for 4 nights in May 2012 for A$300 p/n (4 nights for price of 3 special).

Have stayed at Losari before in a few of their villas and can’t fault the standard of fit-out, especially after renovations were completed a few years ago. The pictures on the website reflect reality. The location is also great, only a 10-15 minute drive out of Margaret River, set in spacious well-tended grounds with plenty of wildlife around.

What I find incongruous is that the owners have obviously laid out a lot of dosh in kitting out the villas (there’s even revolving corner drawers in the kitchen cupboards!), but then they seem to have taken a miserly approach in some areas. For example - there is a coffee machine, but no milk in the fridge for your first day of arrival. The guest information book requests that you wash your dishes (pretty standard), but also take out all the rubbish and remove the sheets from the beds .. and it comes with a caveat that a $50 fee may be charged if excess cleaning is required. True, none of these are exactly taxing things to do.. but this isn’t a caravan park and when paying a premium for luxury accommodation you don’t really expect to have to strip the beds when you leave! Ironically the shower had a large build-up of slime in the grout areas.

There’s also a bit of a lack of communication. It’s possible to arrange spa treatments and breakfast – but these are not mentioned in the confirmation email when booking, nor are there details on how to go about this in the in-room information book – only the menu and prices. The villas have been given names (not just boutique, luxury etc as per the website) but the name isn’t advised to you by email… not much use when arriving late at night and you’re trying to find the correct villa. We had to phone the resort to confirm the villa name which made us feel like we were intruding even though the lady who answered was fine with us ringing that late at night. These are all little things that can so easily be corrected with one email, so it’s disappointing that they’re not already doing it.

They are nice villas and we did have a nice stay. If you email beforehand and ask for the details I’ve mentioned then it will go smoothly. Just disappointing to see the service level slipping over the years.

Room Tip: Email ahead to confirm your villa name and to inquire about breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherrySparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Losari498, Owner at Losari Retreat, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you Sherry for taking the time to review our property - your comments on our facilities are greatly appreciated. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with the property changing hands. It is now under new management and we have fresh milk and homemade chocolate on arrival, all the old notices about stripping the beds and taking the rubbish out have been removed and we have a new housekeeper who prides herself on spotless cleaning and presentation.
After reading your review, we were of course, very upset that your stay was a disappointment and we have taken onboard your comments about improving our communication with guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas Dec 2011. It was just the two of us and the cottage was beautiful. Really modern and well thought out decor and high spec fittings. The cottage included 2 double bedrooms and a large open plan kitchen - lounge area which would be brilliant if you wanted to travel as a group.

The outdoor hot tub and deck area is very relaxing and the other cottages are very well placed so that you feel as though you are completely on your own. Cooking facilities are excellent with the choice of outdoor BBQ, indoor oven, hob and microwave. Large fridge is perfect for storing your many purchases from the local wine region.

We would recommend that you would need a car if you were choosing to stay here as it is a long way from town and there are limited taxis in the area, however this does make it a very serene retreat. Massages can be booked for you to have in your cottage, although we didn't get the chance to enjoy one of these.

Only minor downsides would be that not all cleaning was to the standards we had expected and there is no internet access in the cottages. You can get wireless access in reception, but this is very slow, however I think this is the same throughout the region.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in an Endless Luxury Suite. It was great! We spent the days visitng the wineries, margaret river township, the beaches or on a tour and then came back the stylish villa and chilled out on the deck or in the jacuzzi with a bottle of wine and some music on the sound system. With great local ingredients, a pretty well equipped kitchen and a barbeque it was easy to cook a great meal.
We would definately saty there again! Visit the website - it looks exactly the same as the photos!

Room Tip: I would recommend the Endless Luxry Villa for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
5.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
#17 of 51 in Margaret River
99 reviews
11.5 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#6 of 51 in Margaret River
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
218 reviews
18.9 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
223 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
#14 of 51 in Margaret River
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losari Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losari Retreat

Property: Losari Retreat
Address: 498 Osmington Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Losari Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Losari Retreat offers unique country accommodation Losari Retreat offers six architecturally designed villas offering optimum seclusion, set within 27 hectares of stunning landscaped grounds and bordered by the National Park. The Margaret River township is a leisurely eight minute drive from the Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Losari Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losari Retreat Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing