We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooray - awesome Japanese in Margs!”
Review of Mikis Open Kitchen

Mikis Open Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $56
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Miki's Open Kitchen is tempura dining restaurant in Margaret River that features an open kitchen where guests can comfortably sit around the counter and watch Miki and his team prepare amazing dishes, located at the back of the arcade behind Cafe 131, with a great local wine list Japanese beer and sake, be sure to make a booking as we are only a small restaurant. Open dinner service only Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm
Margaret River Region, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hooray - awesome Japanese in Margs!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A friend had highly recommended Miki's so we wen in Feb (first time) and then a couple of weeks ago and it was fabulous both times. Both times we and our friends sat around the kitchen which is great to watch the goings on and ordered the "Trust" degustation - highly recommend that if you're unsure about what to order (as we were). So glad that they decided to set this restaurant up in Margs - only hope they stay here for a long time to come!
We've promised ourselves that next time we'll order off the menu - can't wait to go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TKB_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    53
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We loved our visit to Miki's. We had the 'Trust' menu, which was a mini degustation menu, absolutely delicious. And great fun watching Miki and the other chefs at work. Definitely a highlight of our visit to Margaret River.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Mikis has it going on! First, the food was excellent - well prepared, presented and served. The wine list is small, carefully selected and reasonably priced featuring (exclusively, I think) wines of the region. We had the 'Trust' degustation, but added the pork and duck dishes. We're really happy that we went - it was delicious, entertaining and expertly done.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely do not miss this!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This restaurant has the yummiest prettiest Japanese food in WA! We tried a variety of the tapas and could fault none!! Service was top notch and the food came out in perfect timing throughout the night. Miki made the experience even better engaging in friendly conversation, he is definitely a hidden gem which Margaret River is lucky to have snagged!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbo2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wanted to know what the fuss was over this resturant”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Me and wife tried the set menu. with yellow fin tuna and well the rest was a blurr just great to eat. we were seated at a table but a space on the counter in front of the kitchen was available, we were offered if we would like to sit there of course !!!!. atmosphere was great, food is just as good and even better than the Japanese in Perth. Highly recommended and you have to book nearly missed out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank byu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikis Open Kitchen also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Mikis Open Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing