We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Gem of Margaret River!”
Review of Wharncliffe Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wharncliffe Mill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem of Margaret River!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nestled in the trees sounding Margaret River is Wharncliffe Mill Bush Retreat, almost like walking through the wardrobe into Narnia. At night you can see the stars shining through the trees; something which you simply can't see in the big cities. The experience here is basically unlike any other camping grounds than I've seen in my life. Facilities are above all expectations, entertainment areas are awesome and there is plenty of space for all. Would absolutely recommend this retreat to anyone. Period.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't miss the off-road into the camp! It's hard to see and mightn't be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAdvisable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Wharncliffe Mill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Damian, thanks for your review and for the photo you posted on our facebook page, it really captures the essence of the camping experience here. Hope to see you down here again soon. Cheers, Claire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    19
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to camp. Camp sites are well spaced throughout ground, and have clean amenities available.
Only about 5 minutes from town, yet due to the surrounding bush/trees it feels like you are ages away from civilisation which is great to allow you to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brendanstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Wharncliffe Mill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for posting a review. It is bizarre how secluded it feels and we did try and make sure our sites were set well apart so people had the real bush camping feeling! See you again soon. Cheers, Claire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was lucky enough to be able to stay at Wharncliffe Mill before it officially opened to the public as myself and some friends were helping to renovate it. I have stayed in both the dorms and in one of the cabins and they are just completely perfect accomadation for all price ranges. It's such a beautiful site right in the heart of the woods. Adrian and Claire are both amazing owners and are so helpful they know a lot about the surrounding areas and are full of great advice. I really felt at home there. One of the nicest things about Wharncliffe Mill is the nightly fires and of course the amazing view you get of the stars! Absolutely incredible place and would recommend a visit there if you're going to be in Margaret River. Keep it up guys and see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Wharncliffe Mill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your review and for all of your help getting WM ready for opening. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you back down this way again soon. Cheers, Claire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Wharncliffe Mill and would recommend this unique place to anyone, a real back to basics camping experience in the lush forest of Margaret River!

This place has history and is really in tune with its surroundings, with the Mill being the focal point of the campsite. A great place to cook up a feed on the BBQ’s, big camp kitchen, and even fire pits!

Excellent amenities, very clean and well maintained! The staff were awesome, Claire in particular was very accommodating after we’d accidentally booked the wrong dates on the web-site. She was always cheerful, and made an excellent coffee in the on-site café!

We also hired mountain bikes (which were top quality) and Adrian gave us some tips and hints on all the trails so we were able to enjoy the forest even more so.

It’s a new project and the guys are incredibly passionate amount making it a success. We will definitely go back again, maybe even to try out one of the cabins or lodge that are currently being renovated!

Thanks to everybody at Wharncliffe Mill, good luck and see you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Wharncliffe Mill, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi RT, thanks for the great review. We look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon. If you get a chance - check out our Facebook page (links off our website)... I have just put up the pictures of our new Safari Tents that were put up yesterday thanks to our wonderful hardworking crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful little oasis for 3 nights, a week after it opened. A great place in a National Park, so close to Margaret River township yet secluded, quiet and peaceful. The owners and extended family were friendly and made us feel part of the family and very much at home and nothing was too much trouble, even bringing the firewood over to us for our campfire. Large campsites, new, clean amenities and a huge undercover area. Highly recommended to other travellers on our trip and will definitely come back again - the owners have lots of ideas they will be implementing which sound exciting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Manager at Wharncliffe Mill, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hi Maria, thanks for taking the time to post a review...and even more so for recommending us to other travelers along the way! We are starting to get a few people coming here after having it recommended to them, which is just AWESOME! Especially as we have only been running properly for such a short time! We will be opening our cabins, lodge rooms and safari tents in the next couple of weeks, so you will notice a fair few changes next time you head over this way. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thanks again, Claire & Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in Wharncliffe Mill for three nights recently. The campsite was nestled right in the bush, but conveniently not too far from Margaret River township. The location was ideal for exploring the Southwest. Amenities were excellent, showers and toilets were very clean. Barbeque area was great with nice shade when the mercury started to rise. The evenings were spent relaxing around the camp fire. I'd have no hesitation in recommending Wharncliffe Mill and would certainly go back the next time I'm in Margaret River.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Wharncliffe Mill, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Stephen, thanks for your review. The undercover area is very handy - especially when it is too hot, too cold or raining! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Cheers, Claire & Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at this perfect little place not long after it opened to Campers - what a wonderful place, right in the heart of Margaret River yet still so 'secluded' in a National Park. Great spot to explore and enjoy the vast Region that surrounds Margaret River. Have already recommended to everyone along our trip. Easy and Open Powered / Camp Sites with Lovely new amenities and an abundant of space to relax, hike, cycle, enjoy a campfire and take in the peaceful surrounds before your next Winery Visit or Surf Break. Well done to the Hosts - Great place, goodluck with it all!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo_Liza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Wharncliffe Mill, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi Guys, Thanks heaps for the great review, we were stoked that you rated our little campground highly as it sounds like you have stayed in more than a few campsites around Australia!!! Hope the rest of your trip round Australia is going well and safe travels back to Queensland. Cheers, Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.3 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#13 of 51 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
9.0 mi away
Taunton Farm Holiday Park
Taunton Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 9 in Cowaramup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#2 of 51 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Margaret River Tourist Park
Margaret River Tourist Park
#23 of 51 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharncliffe Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharncliffe Mill

Property: Wharncliffe Mill
Address: Carters Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wharncliffe Mill is a family run bush retreat, nestled amidst the tall timber of the National Park in walking distance to Margaret River. It is the perfect spot for an enriching nature based holiday or group camp venue where you can stay in a safari tent, cabin or lodge room or if you have your own tent or caravan, set up on a site powered campsite. Enjoy Margaret Rivers best walk and mountain bike trails, visit nearby wineries and beaches or just relax in comfortable accommodation surrounded by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wharncliffe Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing