We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, highly recommended”
Review of Margarets Forest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margarets Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location, highly recommended”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location. We stay regularly in the region but not usually so close to town. Our room was at the front of the property, which is located on the main road. We expected to be kept awake by traffic, but by good design were not. The property is within walking distance of good places to shop and eat. It is well maintained with everything you could need. The room was clean and a good size. Whilst not luxurious the "suite" was well appointed and really comfortable. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Margaret River.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatung01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    174
    36
    4
    1
See reviews for
155
175
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

What a fantastic place to stay - a hidden gem! We stayed here for a couple of days while on our Honeymoon and were upgraded to a Spa apartment. It was wonderful. The apartment was well equipped - best I have ever stayed in. It catered for all home comforts - DVD player, candles etc. Made for an excellent base and also cosy nights in! Excellent location, right in the middle of Margaret River and close to restaurants. The girls at the front office couldn't have been more helpful - super! We'll definately be back if we're ever in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedTartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboune
Level Contributor
179 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in a pleasant 2 bedroom apartment. The property is in the main street, at the edge of town, so it's close to all the facilities. Many of the apartments (including the one we had) do indeed have a “forest” outlook with a secluded patio area (with BBQ), which was nice. The apartment was well-designed, with kitchen/living area (and a laundry) downstairs and 2 bedrooms upstairs. There wasn't an en-suite, but there was a spa bath, with a window through to the main bedroom which might not appeal to everyone. It didn't trouble us, however, as the blind could be adjusted to block any view! . All expected facilities were present, including electric blankets and effective heating (reverse cycle air-conditioners). Although some of the units are quite close to the road, noise is not really an issue as there was little traffic in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The first thing i like is that it's really convenient. Situated along the main street, it's just minutes walk from the nice shops and restaurants in Margaret River. The place is clean, and i like that there's the BBQ pit on the balcony. Had an evening of barbecue and enjoyed the starry sky in the cooling night. It's also generally safe even though i had a 1.5 year old toddler running around. For a self-contained, it has basically everything you need!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teetoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at Assured Margarets Forest for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment which was guaranteed to overlook the 'forest'. This was a great choice as there was very little/no road noise, which I suspect there would be in the units closer to the "main" road.
The property is located at the northern end of Margaret River township, first property on the right after you drive across the river. There are nice walks adjacent to the property which we did not get a chance to experience due to the weather (rain and storms, plus very soggy ground.).
The property is on the main street of Margaret River but maintains a nice outlook due to the adjoining 'forest' and even the units which do not overlook the forest still have a nice outlook. There are a number of other places in Margaret River which overlook backs of shops etc so this is much nicer.
The property is located really close (2/3 minute walk) to shops, restaurants etc, as well as the large Visitor Centre being located pretty much across the road.
The apartment itself was clean, modern and well equipped. The (2) bathrooms were located within each bedroom in our apartment, both with spa baths and 1 with a separate shower as well. There is a separate toilet upstairs as well as another downstairs off the laundry.
Each room had a King Size bed with at least 1 able to be split into 2 King singles. There was a TV in each of the bedrooms with same TV channels (including cable) as the downstairs TV.
There is a nice small outdoor deck but we didn't get a chance to use this either.
We got a good winter rate by booking direct with the property.
Overall, this was a really good value, well equipped and modern self contained apartment with a nice 'forest' outlook but still really close to the main street and facilities of Margaret River

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmjtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

This was the third time I had stayed at this resort. The first two times I went with a group of girlfriends and stayed in the 2 bedroom units. This time I stayed in the one bedroom unit with my hubby. I prefer the 2 bedroom units and would not book a one bedroom unit again (too pokey and a bit dark, didn't like the layout or the fact that we could hear a lot of road noise). I recommend staying in the 2 bedroom units and I'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank positivecutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

One of our favourite places for a weekend retreat - a spacious and well-equipped apartment, with one of the most comfortable spas I've ever used. It's just across the road from a wide range of restaurants and shops, and a short drive from other attractions in the area. Helpful staff, and reasonable rates. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Space, spa, kitchen
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank N0MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.4 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darby Park Serviced Residences
Darby Park Serviced Residences
#16 of 51 in Margaret River
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarets Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Forest

Property: Margarets Forest
Address: 96 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margarets Forest offers a range of stylish 4 star, fully self-contained forest studios & apartments. Most have spas and are designed with privacy & serenity in mind. Each studio and apartment offers guests a choice of views of the forest from expansive decks or manicured courtyards. Our Margaret River accommodation is available in various configurations for singles, couples, twin share, families and two couples sharing. The two bedroom, two spa apartments are designed to offer exceptional value and style for two couples getting away together who want both generous shared living areas, as well as spacious private bedrooms with their own spas. Inside the decor and furnishing compliment the extraordinary natural setting. Offset walls, raked ceilings and highlight windows cleverly enhance the natural aspect from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margarets Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Forest Hotel Margaret River
Margarets Forest Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing