We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Margarets Forest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margarets Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked through Wotif mystery location and got Margaret's Forrest holiday apartments. Not knowing what we would be expecting, to our surprise upon arrival to the room we were pleasantly surprised. Full kitchen layout with dishwasher and even a laundry with washing machine and dryer. Even for the standard pricing of this apartment we would happily pay. Service was great and overall we are very pleased with the result. We will definitely be returning for our next visit to Margaret river

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CartledgeMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

It is such a pleasure to read your comments. We look forward to your company again in the near future. Warmest regards from the team @ Margarets Forest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 484 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

The apartments are extremely well-equipped, clean and spacious. It is in easy walking distance from the amenities, as it is located in the town. The staff are friendly and helpful and recommended the Neil McLeod winery trip which we found excellent. The apartment had a spa bath, which was a nice added extra. The bedrooms are upstairs and the soundproofing was good if someone was watching TV in the room below. Would definitely recommend and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your gorgeous review, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked a two-bedroom apartment at Margarets Forest for three nights and had a lovely time. It's a located close to town so it's easy to walk (though I suppose the same can be said for most places in town!). The staff we met were friendly and courteous - there was a mixup with our booking but the staff were friendly and happy to help in any way they could.

The apartment was spacious and having it over two levels gave a lot of privacy - we were two couples and no one felt cramped. The rooms weren't really luxurious or lavish, but they were totally comfortable with good beds and lots of extra bedding if it was too cold (there was a fan, heater and an air-conditioning unit tucked away in the closets, so they looked ready for any eventuality!). We got both a shower and a spa in our room which was nice. The kitchen was very well stocked and there was even a washing machine and a dryer!

The only possible downsides I could see was the fact that the toilets (one upstairs by the bedrooms and one downstairs by the kitchen/lounge) were shared between the rooms (i.e. you didn't get a full 'en suite' with your room) and the apartment was not cleaned on a daily basis (though I'm sure staff would be happy to provide extra towels, coffee, etc).

This hotel was considerably less than anything else available for our travel dates and was exceptional value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you and all the best in your travels : ) Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at Margarets Forest for a couple of days while attending a local function. Lovely friendly staff. Clean apartment with big comfortable bed on 2nd floor. Upstairs balcony overlooked the forest and yet I was still in walking distance of shops and restaurants. Would be happy to return for a longer stay as apartment was fully equipped for self catering and had laundry facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmrperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. Please contact us direct on (08)97587188 to receive our latest specials and loyalty card option for your return stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We found these on the off chance as we wanted to stay in this area.
We had a lovely appartment which opened out onto the forest.Bit surprising as the resort is very central to the town.
The staff could not have been more helpful and made a few changes to accommodate us for 4 nights.
The appartment was beautifully clean well furnished and extremely comfortable and well provided for in terms of crockery and cooking facilities.a washing machine and dryer was a godsend as we were touring.We are able to self cater and use the gas barbecue(coming from the UK a real treat as our weather does not give many opportunities!!)Ther are supermarkets and bottle shops within walking distance as well as lots of restaurants.
We got a good deal for 4 nights but understand wotif is a good site for discounts.
It is a good location to explore that region.can't comment on noise factors.Ours was a quiet facility only the birds to listen to..
Have no hesitation in suggesting this place

Room Tip: Ask about their location on the site,we loved our forest view with a patio and bedroom balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lit39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you, we are delighted you had a lovely stay. Till we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked Margarets Forest for a quiet getaway. However, we were extremely disappointed to find the spa studio we were allocated was right next to Bussel Highway...the noisiest room we have ever stayed in!! A warning in advance by Reception was not forthcoming. For anyone considering staying there....i would strongly recommend verifying your room's location before checking in, if you are after a decent nights sleep. Having stayed at quiet a few hotels in Margaret River over the years ...this is definitely not one we will be returning to.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21,020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear guest, we are obviously very disappointed to read your review. I remember your situation and I was informed by the receptionist at the time of your desire to be moved after you arrived at the property. She told me she offered you an upgrade for the friday night, as we were fully booked on saturday night, however you declined as it would mean you had to move back into your original booked room for the saturday night. In the case where we are fully booked (particularly the spa studio's as they are located on the roadside) but where this is mentioned on a booking before hand, we will always do our best to accommodate any request for a room away from the road. I am sorry if you didn't feel looked after by us in this regard, due to the busy weekend. I trust you otherwise had an enjoyable visit to the area and wish you the best in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights with an 11 month old baby and we were very comfortable. Great value for money, however we did get a $150 per night special on wotif.com and saved alot of money that way. Bit tricky with crawling baby (if she was walking we would have had lots of safety issues) as there were stairs and living area is on top floor. We had the 2 bedroom fully equipped apartment and they supplied portable cot and high chair. Having a washing machine and drier helped out heaps. Very clean, new and fresh, great location if you want to be in heart of Margaret river (opposite bakery), if you are chasing more of a country-feel stay this might not be the way to go.

Read my full trip of Margaret river at
http://catskidscake.blogspot.com.au/2013/03/margaret-river-road-trip.html

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amycdeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. If you are returning, please ask about our loyalty card and specials, just phone us direct on (08)97587188. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.4 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
735 reviews
5.5 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarets Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Forest

Address: 96 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $138 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margarets Forest offers a range of stylish 4 star, fully self-contained forest studios & apartments. Most have spas and are designed with privacy & serenity in mind. Each studio and apartment offers guests a choice of views of the forest from expansive decks or manicured courtyards. Our Margaret River accommodation is available in various configurations for singles, couples, twin share, families and two couples sharing. The two bedroom, two spa apartments are designed to offer exceptional value and style for two couples getting away together who want both generous shared living areas, as well as spacious private bedrooms with their own spas. Inside the decor and furnishing compliment the extraordinary natural setting. Offset walls, raked ceilings and highlight windows cleverly enhance the natural aspect from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Margarets Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Forest Hotel Margaret River
Margarets Forest Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing