We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect jewel in the midst of many wineries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craythorne Country House
Ranked #15 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A perfect jewel in the midst of many wineries”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Craythorne House is the ideal place to relax in beautiful country surroundings.Situated about 2 km along an unsealed road from the Bussell Highway, it is a peaceful retreat from everyday rush and bustle. The scent of the roses, the call of the birds quickly erase any stresses you may have arrived with. Add the friendly and most helpful hosts, Julie and Ken, a wonderful breakfast, home baked cup cakes chocolates and port,every evening to complete the perfect spot to enjoy the many wineries in the immediate vicinity. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haematocrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metricup180, Owner at Craythorne Country House, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about Craythorne Country House.
We very much appreciate your views.

Julie and Ken Poultney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay in Margaret River, but outside of the town centre. Craythorne Country House is just outside of the town centre (approx 15 mins), and it's beautiful! Very close to local attractions, like the Margaret River Chocolate Factory, Cape Lavender and the wineries. It was nice and quiet, so we were able to enjoy a sleep in, and to wake up to the sounds of the birds!

Beryl was our host, and she was an absolute pleasure. Breakfast was yummy. It was a lot of fun sitting around the table with the other guests having a good chat and a laugh, while enjoying your bowl of fresh fruit, yoghurt and muesli. In addition, Beryl served a cooked breakfast; eggs, tomato, hash browns, bacon, toast and tea/coffee! The jams were made in-house (and I bought several jars to bring home!).

It was an absolute pleasure staying here, and it deserves to be higher up the list! We really loved the at-home feeling, which was thanks to the hosts warm welcome and friendly service. It was also the little touches, like chocolates by the bed, handmade biscuits for afternoon tea, and port in the guest lounge room. It's clear that the house was built with love, as there is quality finishings and the interior decoration is consistent and warm. It was recently renovated, so the rooms are very clean and new. Something I appreciated, was that there's no TV in the bedrooms. Who needs TV when you're in Margaret River? I enjoyed some time away from technology. The bed was VERY comfortable as well.

I cannot fault Craythorne. We have already decided that it's out number one choice for when we stay in Margaret River. (Feel free to contact me if you'd like more info!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Fliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metricup180, Owner at Craythorne Country House, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Beryl has been our relief manager since we started Craythorne Country House in 1998.
Beryl is my cousin Graeme's wife, so we have worries leaving Craythorne in her very capable hands.
Your comments about Beryl and Craythorne are very much appreciated as we do try to present a wonderful place for our guests to relax.
Thank you so much and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards, Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed two nights just before the Easter Break and it was devine. Surrounded by a beautful rose/ flower garden, sheep int he back paddock and free roaming chickens this it was so peaceful and relaxing. The hosts were more than accomodating with providing tips and advice from where to watch the best sun set, great wines and great places to eat. The breakfast is faultess - muesli, yohgurt, fresh breads, eggs from the barn and a complete fry up. They have an indoor fireplace and complimentary port as well. It was a nice change not to have a tv in the room - the perfect way to unwind and slow down. Its 10 minutes out of town and right near some great wineries and brewries. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Craythorne House just after the Easter Holiday.
It is nestled away in quiet bushland approx 15 minutes drive from Margaret River town. The house and gardens are beautiful and it was refreshing to hear animals wandering outside our window in the morning, rather than the sound of a busy street.
We were disappointed that there wasn't a TV in the bedroom and although there was a TV for use in the guest's lounge, we definitely did not feel welcome to use it...or the lounge area in general in fact! The owners gave very little advise on the local area - instead directing us to a few of the brochures in our room.
Although very clean and nicely presented, the house and owners had an unwelcoming and cold feel....not what we are used to having stayed in many B&Bs over the years.
For this reason, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t-bar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were delighted with Craythorne - the location, property, accommodation is amazing.
The gardens are a credit to Ken, the accommodation, beautifully presented breakfast and friendliness from Julie just wonderful.
We visited Margaret River during the Easter break, only to find every man and his dog had ventured south due to the extra long weekend. Being visitors to the state, we had no idea how busy the region can be, however the location of Craythorne 15 minutes north of M/ River proved to be perfectly situated to escape the crowds in and around the township.
Our accommodation was charming, complete with freshly baked goodies for afternoon tea in our room. A TV in our room would have been nice, however we were quite welcome to visit the guests lounge any time during our stay.
Breakfast was included in our rate, and what a breakfast we received!
Thanks Julie and Ken - we had a wonderful stay and will recommend your B&B to all our Tassie friends planning to head west :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCThotelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We have stayed here on two occasions. Rooms are immaculate, breakfast superb and very peaceful. There's even some port in the lounge to help yourself to!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

This b&b is a kilometre down a dirt road off the main Bussel Highway, about 20 minutes from Margaret river. It's a newish house with 4 guest rooms, I think, with a nice guest lounge. The gardens are very good and bushland and farmland surrounding the b&b hold a variety of wildlife.

Our room was roomy, clean and well equipped. There was no TV but there was one in the guest lounge if you wanted it, and that led you to mix with other guests which we really enjoyed.

The breakfast was excellent: fruit, cereals, yoghurt followed by full cooked brekky, on a big table you share with other guests. Julie the owner is lovely - full of fun and very helpful on restaurants and places to visit. It was Melbourne cup week when we arrived and though Julie enjoyed the racing events to the full (with lots of champagne consumed) she always looked after her guests. Chocolates and port were nice added touches.

It is a little more expensive than most b&bs but Margaret river is not a cheap area, so we felt that it was worth the cost. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
11.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
10.9 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
13.8 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bridgefield Guest House
Bridgefield Guest House
#13 of 20 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craythorne Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craythorne Country House

Property: Craythorne Country House
Address: 180 Worgan Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6284, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craythorne Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craythorne is a 4 star Bed and Breakfast down a tranquil road on 60 acres. Minutes from 35 wineries, SANDALFORD, HOWARD PARK, VASSE FELIX, GRALYN AND BROOKWOOD TO NAME A FEW. Plus attractions CHEESE, CHOCOLATE, NUT AND CEREAL, ICE CREAM AND SOAP FACTORIES. Craythorne is suited to Guests seeking a relaxed atmosphere. All our Extra Large Ensuited Rooms over look cottage gardens from wide verandahs. An Elegant Country Breakfast is served each morning in the Breakfast Room. Afternoon Tea is left in your room each day a Bedside Chocolate with port for the evening.Airport Transfer and/or Customised Tours available in our Executive Car ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Craythorne Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing