We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home and location, shame about the hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craythorne Country House
Ranked #17 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Craythorne House just after the Easter Holiday.
It is nestled away in quiet bushland approx 15 minutes drive from Margaret River town. The house and gardens are beautiful and it was refreshing to hear animals wandering outside our window in the morning, rather than the sound of a busy street.
We were disappointed that there wasn't a TV in the bedroom and although there was a TV for use in the guest's lounge, we definitely did not feel welcome to use it...or the lounge area in general in fact! The owners gave very little advise on the local area - instead directing us to a few of the brochures in our room.
Although very clean and nicely presented, the house and owners had an unwelcoming and cold feel....not what we are used to having stayed in many B&Bs over the years.
For this reason, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t-bar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were delighted with Craythorne - the location, property, accommodation is amazing.
The gardens are a credit to Ken, the accommodation, beautifully presented breakfast and friendliness from Julie just wonderful.
We visited Margaret River during the Easter break, only to find every man and his dog had ventured south due to the extra long weekend. Being visitors to the state, we had no idea how busy the region can be, however the location of Craythorne 15 minutes north of M/ River proved to be perfectly situated to escape the crowds in and around the township.
Our accommodation was charming, complete with freshly baked goodies for afternoon tea in our room. A TV in our room would have been nice, however we were quite welcome to visit the guests lounge any time during our stay.
Breakfast was included in our rate, and what a breakfast we received!
Thanks Julie and Ken - we had a wonderful stay and will recommend your B&B to all our Tassie friends planning to head west :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCThotelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We have stayed here on two occasions. Rooms are immaculate, breakfast superb and very peaceful. There's even some port in the lounge to help yourself to!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

This b&b is a kilometre down a dirt road off the main Bussel Highway, about 20 minutes from Margaret river. It's a newish house with 4 guest rooms, I think, with a nice guest lounge. The gardens are very good and bushland and farmland surrounding the b&b hold a variety of wildlife.

Our room was roomy, clean and well equipped. There was no TV but there was one in the guest lounge if you wanted it, and that led you to mix with other guests which we really enjoyed.

The breakfast was excellent: fruit, cereals, yoghurt followed by full cooked brekky, on a big table you share with other guests. Julie the owner is lovely - full of fun and very helpful on restaurants and places to visit. It was Melbourne cup week when we arrived and though Julie enjoyed the racing events to the full (with lots of champagne consumed) she always looked after her guests. Chocolates and port were nice added touches.

It is a little more expensive than most b&bs but Margaret river is not a cheap area, so we felt that it was worth the cost. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

A lovely B & B, immaculately clean, great location, beautiful garden with 800 rose bushes, foxgloves, cornflowers, pansies, croquent on the lawn, delightfully presented food with eggs from their own chickens, a very warm welcome and every comfort. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank annfiorentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Craythorne House and really enjoyed the quiet and comfort of this B&B. Our room was large, very comfortable, and well maintained. All rooms look out on to a beautiful rose garden. (700 rose bushes and numerous other plants) The room had a king size bed, a large bath area, closet, chairs to sit in, refrig and coffee tea . Some homemade cookies and chocolate on our night stand were also provided. Our host recommended several dinner options to us, as we had not made reservations and it was 5 pm on a Friday night. If you are so inclined Craythorne provides board games , cards, and a library to relax in. Also you can wander the gardens or play croquet. The full breakfast was wonderful as were the good conversations over breakfast. Craythorne is 15 min drive north of Margaret River and we prefered to be out in the valley surrounded by open acreage. I also recommend taking a look up at the night sky...it really is spectacular when one is far away from the city lights. I would return to Craythorne Country House if ever I have the opportunity to visit the Margaret River area again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MK_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
9.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
8.4 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
11.1 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Margaret River Guest House
Margaret River Guest House
#4 of 20 in Margaret River
597 reviews
12.2 mi away
Llewellin's Guest House
Llewellin's Guest House
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
401 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craythorne Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craythorne Country House

Address: 180 Worgan Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6284, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: $125 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craythorne Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craythorne is a 4 star Bed and Breakfast down a tranquil road on 60 acres. Minutes from 35 wineries, SANDALFORD, HOWARD PARK, VASSE FELIX, GRALYN AND BROOKWOOD TO NAME A FEW. Plus attractions CHEESE, CHOCOLATE, NUT AND CEREAL, ICE CREAM AND SOAP FACTORIES. Craythorne is suited to Guests seeking a relaxed atmosphere. All our Extra Large Ensuited Rooms over look cottage gardens from wide verandahs. An Elegant Country Breakfast is served each morning in the Breakfast Room. Afternoon Tea is left in your room each day a Bedside Chocolate with port for the evening.Airport Transfer and/or Customised Tours available in our Executive Car ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Craythorne Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing