We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, book with confidence.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Margarets Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great resort, book with confidence.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised. We had a two bedroom apartment, the lounge area was comfortable and spacious, the bathroom was ridiculously huge and yes the shower was basic but for the price we thought it was great. Breakfast on the beach was lovely, definitely a very reasonably priced place to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. 2 Bedroom Apartments are great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    226
    78
    20
    11
See reviews for
150
222
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apt, it was very clean with nice accommodations. We were there easter holiday so we paid 299 a night which wasn't to bad. The location isn't right on the beach but it's only a 5min walk. their is also a great little breakfast place down on the water where you can eat and watch the surfers. Over all we had a good stay, I do feel that it was slightly over priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola_1LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. "White Elephant Beach Cafe" is a great venue for breakfast or a casual cuppa. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Can't be beaten locally , good value , great location and above average accomodation. Close to the beach , walks , surf but away from the crowds . Restaurant attached with bar . Regular guest and will be back !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for taking time to review our resort. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was in WA on a 2 week photo and video shoot for a surf magazine. Our first week we spent in a house rental and ended up here the 2nd week. I thought this place was going to be great and from appearance it looked incredible. The hotel was packed and in order to accommodate us the manager, Lee, needed to switch us rooms 2 times during our 5 night stay. I really appreciated him going out of his way to do that for us as most hotels were full during the holiday. So I agreed.

Here comes the lame part. Our first switch went smoothly and we moved all our gear from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom unit our second morning. We dropped our gear and left for the day. When I returned that night I went to grab my laptop and the hard case that my computer was in was moved and a latch was open. I opened the case and my laptop was stolen. Someone...staff or other (previous tenant with key?)... went in our room and stole my laptop.

Slept it off, woke up and visited the office 2 times that morning to inquire about the missing laptop. We left for the beach shortly after but the staff didn't tell us that we had to move rooms again that morning. We returned that night to a completely empty polished room, all our gear was gone. They went ahead and moved all our gear and food to another room and in the process lost my friends $100 camera battery that was plugged into the wall. We called Lee again to alert him of the issue but he put the blame back on us... two days in a row things went missing from our room and here Lee was still blaming us. It was a fact his staff lost/stole something of ours this time... but Lee didn't offer to compensate us at all. Lee really put a bad taste in my mouth after that and how he handled these situations. In the end he was no help at all. if you plan to stay here, keep your valuables under close watch and pray your stay will go more smoothly than ours!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The descriptions of this place are misleading. It's not a resort (maybe a last resort?), it's not "by the beach", it's a 500 metre walk away along a main road, it's not four-star and it is certainly not 'idyllic'. We paid nearly $400 a night for a two bedroom spa apartment and were expecting something really special after our lovely stay at Seashells at Mandurah. We were very disappointed. The views? One bedroom looked out onto the carpark, another onto a paling fence, while the balcony offered distant views of the sea beyond the car park. The décor and furnishing were adequate but there was nothing special or welcoming about it - not even a biscuit to have with coffee. For a 'resort', the facilities are certainly limited - the beach cafe was closed mid-afternoon and the restaurant/bar on-site didn't open until late afternoon so you really have to fend for yourself or drive into Margaret River. A minor thing - I called into reception to ask to borrow a can of flyspray to deal with the spider's web and nest in the toilet and was told someone would come and see to it for me. An hour and a half later, I called in again and the manager Lee apologised and saw to it straight away. After midnight, I had more serious concerns. I was woken by screaming and shouting from a group of 30 or so people leaving the on-site restaurant/bar who were running up and down outside the apartments. When I phoned reception Lee first disputed that there were people outside my apartment, then told me he was trying to deal with it and suggested I come out and give him a hand! He said he was joking but this was very odd. I wonder if the bar observes RSA. How would families cope with this level of disturbance? Lee did kindly offer to allow us to cancel our second night and get a full refund which we did. The next day we moved to the Darby Apartments in Margaret River which are beautiful, professionally-run, quiet (even on a Saturday night) - and cheaper. Lee seems a nice man and I think he finds the job pretty stressful with complaints like mine seen as unreasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here. Our studio room was well appointed and we had see views from the balcony. Being on the 2nd floor we also had quite a bit if privacy.

The resort is only a 5 minute walk down to the gorgeous beach and the sunsets from there are stunning. The cafe at the beach also does a good coffee.

A 10 minute drive to Margaret river township was handy for picking up essentials. It was also well placed to visit plenty of vineyards.

We did use the in-house take-away service one night and by the time we phoned through the order and wandered down to the bar to collect it, it was ready! This even with the restaurant quite full.

We did book through an accommodation site, so didn't pay 'rack rate'.

All in all, we would stay again and recommend the place, particularly it's proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDeePh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so glad you got to enjoy many of our local attractions. The White Elephant cafe is a fabulous venue and so close, also the Gnarabar onsite restaurant is an added bonus for guests and locals alike. Margaret River town being only 10 minutes drive is great, we are still close but out of the hustle & bustle.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We came to Margaret's Beach Resort for a 3 night stay and were disappointed with the fact that the bar/restaurant didn't have ocean views like their website shows.

The website shows their cafe on the beach, the White Elephant, which closes at 3pm everyday and is 500m away. This is nice for breakfast and lunch but there is no where to enjoy a lovely dinner and a few drinks whilst watching the sunset over the water.

The resort itself was nice, room was clean and it had a washing machine, dryer and kitchenette which came in handy. Our room didn't get cleaned daily so we had no towels changed or bins emptied for the entire stay which was a little weird.

Personally overall it was a nice place to stay, but it was 10mins drive out of town to all of the restaurants and bars and no where close to enjoy a sunset!

However we did make the best of of it, after a wine tour armed with wine and cheese we walked to the pointed and soaked in the beautiful surrounds!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
690 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
244 reviews
5.9 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
238 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
936 reviews
5.5 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarets Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Beach Resort

Property: Margarets Beach Resort
Address: 1 Resort Pl | Gnarabup Beach, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#5 Family Hotel in Margaret River
#6 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Location Location Location ***Offering idyllic 4 star Margaret River Accommodation by the sea, Margarets Beach Resort is one of the best beach resorts in Western Australia (WA). It’s the perfect location for a romantic getaway or memorable family holiday in the renowned Margaret River Wine Region.Just 10 kilometres from Margaret River town, on WA’s spectacular South West Coast, and just 500 metres from pristine Gnarabup Beach, Margarets Beach Resort is the only resort accommodation by the sea.You can enjoy everything the Margaret River Wine Region has to offer, with easy access to the South West’s world-class wineries, caves, national parks, nature walk trails, surf breaks and other outstanding attractions and tours.The beach holiday resort offers a range of accommodation options for your Margaret River break. Choose from views to the magnificent coast, resort pool and gardens or the natural beauty of WA’s Naturaliste Ridge. And it’s just a short stroll to Gnarabup Beach, where you can enjoy the water playground or take in the stunning west coast sunsets.You’ll also benefit from a range of resort facilities to make your stay even more enjoyable.Relax, unwind and enjoy your Margaret River experience at Margarets Beach Resort.Includes Free WIFI. All our accommodation is Non Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Margarets Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Beach Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing