We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margarets Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Margarets Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were glad we booked by the sea. Fantastic beach a 5 minute walk from the resort with a fantastic cafe (White Elephant) overlooking the beach. Food was excellent at the cafe. Accommodation was good, fairly basic but adequate. We took our wine tour from here - Margaretrivertours - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony that overlooks the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate you kind comments. The winery tours in the region are excellent and we very happy you go to experience it. We agree very much with your note about the beach, it is very lovely down here at Gnarabup and yes the food it fantastic at the White Elephant. Don't be strangers if your heading this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 562 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

I love this hotel, they have excellent apartments, clean and good sizes. Good facilities for kids (there's a pool and a playground on site, plus walking distance to the beach). It's a drive from town, so you need a car, but you need a car for the entire region. The restaurant on-site isn't wonderful, although they market it as fine dining. The cafe on the beach, which is also owned by the same chef, is absolutely amazing. We had breakfast there every morning. I've stayed here several times in the past, and will continue to use as my base in Margs, it's wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room - and if you have kids make sure you ask for pram accessibility. Life is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnocentTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We are very happy you got to enjoy the beach cafe and our onsite restuarant "Gnarabar'. They are both great value for money and quality food and service. We look forward to seeing you everytime. See you again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed all there was to offer. The rooms were reasonably priced and clean and tidy. The kids had a great time in the pool and the playground was well situated too. The staff at Reception were lovely and helpful. Close to the beach, wineries and all this fantastic region has to offer.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom spa apartment was right up the end and out of the way, alot of space for the family.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again in the future.
We are very happy your whole family got to enjoy what our resort and region has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

First time here and just looking for an overnight as we explored Oz. Adequate accommodation and a nice walk to the headland. Food overpriced so take something with you. No time to try the pool but it looked good.

Room Tip: No noise or neighbour problems but this could be the case at busier and hotter times
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Owner at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We wish you well on your travels around OZ. Enjoy the rest of your adventure. If you are back down this way, pop in and say hi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. It is in a great location, near the beach and Margaret River town. The staff were very helpful and responded positively to any request. We stayed in a studio apartment which was big and it had a little verandah to sit on. We used the facilities and greatly enjoyed our time there.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Owner at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We decided fairly much at the last minute that we'd like to go away for the Australia Day long weekend - and consequently had little choice of accommodation - however managed to secure a two bedroom apartment here, and were very glad we did! We were welcomed very warmly by the manager, Lee, who explained about the room, restaurant, pool etc. The apartment was lovely and had all the amenities we required. Two bedrooms, big bathroom ( with washing machine and dryer ), fully equipped kitchen, dining area and living room with tv (some foxtel channels), DVD player, iPod dock and A/C. There was also a balcony from which we had ocean views ( upper storey) with table and chairs. We had dinner in the Gnarabup restaurant one night which we enjoyed. The kids loved the pool area, but Gnarabup beach is beautiful and we spent quite a few hours there - only a 500 metre walk away. The coffee from the beach cafe was pretty good as well. Margaret River is a short drive and there are plenty of restaurants and wineries nearby. All in all we had a very happy stay here and would definitely return.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank jenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Owner at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your long weekend with us. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went to Margarets River Beach Resort as our first time to the Margaret River Valley. It was a busy weekend on the Australia Day Public Holiday, but I looked in advance to book something which was not too expensive for what we received. The idea of being on the beach with a close drive to all of the wineries was appealing. It wasn't cheap but we booked via expedia as it was rated highly.

First, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The problem with our visit is the property is contstructed in a way that 2/3's of the accomodation is light, open with some partial views and balconys. The other 1/3rd is unfortunatley very dark, confined rooms. We stayed in room 122 which I would not recommend to anyone one. It was very basic with an old shower, two twin beds pushed together called a king, and a balcony which was looking at a set of hedges with no light.

We asked for another room but due to the busy period, they had nothing else available. There were much nicer rooms with light, etc, and they indicated we should have asked for a light room in our booking. So word to the wise is call ahead, they are helpful and nice, but don't expect them to put you in a nice room unless you ask.

The proximity to the beach is great where you can take a bottle of wine to the beach in the evening, watch the sunset, and just chill. It was windy when we were there, but that wasn't a bother as the beach is fairly sheltered by the cafe. Also, we had a couple of excellent walks along the beach in the morning when the tide was out.

Finally, the restaurant which is not part of the resort, but located very close is excellent for a casual meal at ok prices for WA. Be prepared everything is more expensive than Sydney...coffes are $5, mains are $30 minimum and go up from there. For some reason being in WA means 30-40% more $$ for not the same quality you would get in a Napa or a Barossa, etc. So we didn't know, but in the end we visited all the excellent wineries and discounted the room.

We wouldn't go back to this particular resort as it was too expensive for what they delivered. For the same money you would look at another option in Prevelly or pay more for a more upscale place. Just remember to ask for the room you want before you go and you'll be right!

Room Tip: Ask for a room wtih light and a balcony 2nd level if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Owner at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort. Great that you got to enjoy everything that the resort and surrounds has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
728 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
258 reviews
5.9 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
273 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,018 reviews
5.5 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarets Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Beach Resort

Address: 1 Resort Pl | Gnarabup Beach, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#5 Family Hotel in Margaret River
#6 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: $132 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Location Location Location ***Offering idyllic 4 star Margaret River Accommodation by the sea, Margarets Beach Resort is one of the best beach resorts in Western Australia (WA). It’s the perfect location for a romantic getaway or memorable family holiday in the renowned Margaret River Wine Region.Just 10 kilometres from Margaret River town, on WA’s spectacular South West Coast, and just 500 metres from pristine Gnarabup Beach, Margarets Beach Resort is the only resort accommodation by the sea.You can enjoy everything the Margaret River Wine Region has to offer, with easy access to the South West’s world-class wineries, caves, national parks, nature walk trails, surf breaks and other outstanding attractions and tours.The beach holiday resort offers a range of accommodation options for your Margaret River break. Choose from views to the magnificent coast, resort pool and gardens or the natural beauty of WA’s Naturaliste Ridge. And it’s just a short stroll to Gnarabup Beach, where you can enjoy the water playground or take in the stunning west coast sunsets.You’ll also benefit from a range of resort facilities to make your stay even more enjoyable.Relax, unwind and enjoy your Margaret River experience at Margarets Beach Resort.Includes Free WIFI. All our accommodation is Non Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margarets Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Beach Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing