We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Margarets Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stay Margaret River(Margaret River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Resort(Margaret River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grange on Farrelly(Margaret River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Hotel(Margaret River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
215
246
84
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
246
84
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite elephantocean viewcommon restaurantsurf shopshort walk to the beachwashing machine and dryeronsite restaurantstudio apartmentkids playgroundthe ground floorten minute driveself containedgreat spotelectric blanketslaundry facilitiesstayed here for nightsmargaret river town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 578 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Amazing! This place was perfect. Great rooms and the resturant was fantasic, I had the best meal I have had in a long time! A great walk to the beach to watch a beautiful sunset. Would stay here over and over again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you, your review describes how we feel about the resort. Look forward to seeing you again.
Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Let me start by saying that I had some reservations about booking this property given some of the more negative reviews.

I travel frequently and enjoy luxury accommodation. MRB resort exceeded my expections, I would rate it a four star family style property.

Reception - we were warmly greeted. We found reception staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Checkin/out was very easy.

We stayed in a two bed apartment. The apartment was immaculate. It is suitable for a family, friends or two couples travelling together. The second bedroom can be configured King or twin. Electric blankets are fitted on all beds. Note. Fans in bedroom no aircon.

Both bedrooms share a bathroom (combined laundry). The bathroom has a shower/bath (with tioletries provided). The apartment has a seperate powder room. This is a functional bathroom, not luxurious but fit for purpose.

Kitchen is fully equiped with gas cooktop, dishwasher, full sized fridge and microwave..

Bathroom/ laundry has washing machine and tumble dryer. Vacum cleaner, clothes horse and iron also provided.

The main living room has 2 x two seater leather lounges, dining setting (for 6), TV and DVD player. Our apartment had a small balcany with outdoor setting.

The resort has a pool, sauna and spa. Pool area is nice with a BBQ area.

The Gnarabup bar (onsite) serves well priced meals (3 main courses for $60) and drinks (additional) - very pleasant setting.

A Take-it-away menu is avail (you order by phone and pickup), we were very surprised at how inexpensive the menu was (bruchetta $10; fish and chips $16, burges & chips $16, mains $20) - very large portions.

Wi-fi. The resorts wi-fi is terrible. You can pay for 1 hour, 2hrs or 4 hrs - $10 (this can be used over the duration of your stay). We found it impossible to use skype or viber and it tooks ages to download emails. If you are on business or are relying on the resorts wi-fi then you may need to reconsider or make alternate arrangements.

Location - previous reviews have said this is a remote property. (that's rubbish). Most people visiting MR are here for the wineries, so regardless of where you stay, you have to drive. The resort is around 6kms from the centre of town. The beach is a 5 min walk from the property. The surrounding grounds have been severely burned during last year's bush fires (so the scenery is not the beautiful). If you want to be close to town then consider Margarets Forrest Resort. This is perfect resort for for those who are looking for a quiet property near the beach.

This resort offers some excellent specials during winter months. We booked a package through Hooroo (new travel website) - $174 per night which included a $100 voucher for Watershed Winery; bottle of Watershed wine and complimentary arrival drinks!

I would definately recommend this property for families or groups of friends travelling together. Couples may want something more intimate (having said that I haven't seen their studio or spa studio rooms).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JillHAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review is most welcome. Our Winter Specials are great value. Winter months in Margaret River are just as beautiful as the Summer months, just different activities. Thank you for sharing your visit with others, looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family has stayed twice this year at Margarets Beach Resort during the school holidays.
We have also stayed here as a family when Margarets Beach Resort first opened.

I have read all the Tripadvisor reviews and would like to add my opinion.

The setting of the resort is magnificent I have stayed before and after the bushfire.
Thankfully the vegetation will grow back we have noticed changes between our stay in April and July this year.

We hope to return in September and look forward to seeing how the bush has regrown. Nature is a wonderous thing.I don't know how long it will take but the area will return to it's former beauty.

THE RESORT

Returning to Margarets beach resort is like returning to a friends wonderful holiday house.
This visit we stayed in a villa with a view of the ocean and a couple of spa's thrown in for good measure.
We had good weather went fishing, visited the caves, ate at a few restuarants, visited a few winerys and read a few good books in a beautiful setting with ocean views.
For us that is a perfect West Australian school holiday break.

THE RESTAURANT

We celebrated my husbands birthday during our visit with a meal at the onsite Gnarabar restaurant.The food was well priced and delicious, but most importantly the restaurant was fulled to capacity with a wonderful atmosphere.It was also a Tuesday night traditionally a dead night for the restaurant trade I am not positive but I think the locals know that they have a great bar and restaurant.
We have also ordered room service which was of a very high standard.

THE STAFF

This is where Margarets Beach resort excels.
The staff look genuinely happy to be working at the resort.
Our villa was spotlessly clean.
Our family would like to thank Tanya and Lee for making our holiday truly special.
Thankyou for organizing a birthday cake for my husband it's all the small touches that add up to making our stay memorable.
We will return and look forward to seeing the regeneration of the bush surrounding the resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskiaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks for your wonderful review. We are very glad you have not been deterred by the fires. We are also seeing the changes daily in the landscape. Our catch phrase here is welcome back and we extend that phrase to you and your family. See you in September

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Margaret's is a beautiful resort just a short drive from Margaret River. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with king beds in both rooms. It has everything you need for a self contained apartment. I would highly recommend Margaret's Beach Resort

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Margarets Beach Resort.
We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Don't be fooled by the Margaret River description - this property is a long and winding drive out of the township of Margaret river - it is close to the beach though.

Although our spa room was large, the design was so poor that is felt quite small. The bed was walled off from the rest of the living area in a pokey bedroom with little space to put bags. The resulting wall was divided into two closets - making each too small to be useful. The dark, awkward bathroom, which did not open from the bedroom, had a basic shower head over a basic corner spa with a shower curtain - meaning that it functioned poorly as either shower or spa.
The best view was saved for the kitchenette and dining table rather than from either the lounge or the bed.

On the plus side, there was a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom - although the dryer was mounted so high on the wall that even my partner, who is 180 cm tall, found it too high to operate conveniently.

Although the property appears new, a poor standard of finish and dowdy decor mean it already feels dated.

A bushfire in late 2011 means that what should have been a pleasant view across the dunes was a moonscape of burnt trees - although this is scarcely the resort's .

Positives - we did have a good night's sleep and the staff were pleasant and polite.

Room Tip: Only every second room has a balcony. If you are getting an upstairs room and want outdoor space - be sure to ask.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
Unfortunately the bushfires in November 2011 have changed the landscape. However it is changing daily and hopefully will be back to normal in no time at all.
We are at present doing refurbishment of the apartments and do urge you to return in the future to experience the newly refurbished apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews