We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you need to know about Margaret's River Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margarets Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“What you need to know about Margaret's River Beach Resort”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Let me start by saying that I had some reservations about booking this property given some of the more negative reviews.

I travel frequently and enjoy luxury accommodation. MRB resort exceeded my expections, I would rate it a four star family style property.

Reception - we were warmly greeted. We found reception staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Checkin/out was very easy.

We stayed in a two bed apartment. The apartment was immaculate. It is suitable for a family, friends or two couples travelling together. The second bedroom can be configured King or twin. Electric blankets are fitted on all beds. Note. Fans in bedroom no aircon.

Both bedrooms share a bathroom (combined laundry). The bathroom has a shower/bath (with tioletries provided). The apartment has a seperate powder room. This is a functional bathroom, not luxurious but fit for purpose.

Kitchen is fully equiped with gas cooktop, dishwasher, full sized fridge and microwave..

Bathroom/ laundry has washing machine and tumble dryer. Vacum cleaner, clothes horse and iron also provided.

The main living room has 2 x two seater leather lounges, dining setting (for 6), TV and DVD player. Our apartment had a small balcany with outdoor setting.

The resort has a pool, sauna and spa. Pool area is nice with a BBQ area.

The Gnarabup bar (onsite) serves well priced meals (3 main courses for $60) and drinks (additional) - very pleasant setting.

A Take-it-away menu is avail (you order by phone and pickup), we were very surprised at how inexpensive the menu was (bruchetta $10; fish and chips $16, burges & chips $16, mains $20) - very large portions.

Wi-fi. The resorts wi-fi is terrible. You can pay for 1 hour, 2hrs or 4 hrs - $10 (this can be used over the duration of your stay). We found it impossible to use skype or viber and it tooks ages to download emails. If you are on business or are relying on the resorts wi-fi then you may need to reconsider or make alternate arrangements.

Location - previous reviews have said this is a remote property. (that's rubbish). Most people visiting MR are here for the wineries, so regardless of where you stay, you have to drive. The resort is around 6kms from the centre of town. The beach is a 5 min walk from the property. The surrounding grounds have been severely burned during last year's bush fires (so the scenery is not the beautiful). If you want to be close to town then consider Margarets Forrest Resort. This is perfect resort for for those who are looking for a quiet property near the beach.

This resort offers some excellent specials during winter months. We booked a package through Hooroo (new travel website) - $174 per night which included a $100 voucher for Watershed Winery; bottle of Watershed wine and complimentary arrival drinks!

I would definately recommend this property for families or groups of friends travelling together. Couples may want something more intimate (having said that I haven't seen their studio or spa studio rooms).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JillHAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review is most welcome. Our Winter Specials are great value. Winter months in Margaret River are just as beautiful as the Summer months, just different activities. Thank you for sharing your visit with others, looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    225
    76
    20
    11
See reviews for
149
219
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family has stayed twice this year at Margarets Beach Resort during the school holidays.
We have also stayed here as a family when Margarets Beach Resort first opened.

I have read all the Tripadvisor reviews and would like to add my opinion.

The setting of the resort is magnificent I have stayed before and after the bushfire.
Thankfully the vegetation will grow back we have noticed changes between our stay in April and July this year.

We hope to return in September and look forward to seeing how the bush has regrown. Nature is a wonderous thing.I don't know how long it will take but the area will return to it's former beauty.

THE RESORT

Returning to Margarets beach resort is like returning to a friends wonderful holiday house.
This visit we stayed in a villa with a view of the ocean and a couple of spa's thrown in for good measure.
We had good weather went fishing, visited the caves, ate at a few restuarants, visited a few winerys and read a few good books in a beautiful setting with ocean views.
For us that is a perfect West Australian school holiday break.

THE RESTAURANT

We celebrated my husbands birthday during our visit with a meal at the onsite Gnarabar restaurant.The food was well priced and delicious, but most importantly the restaurant was fulled to capacity with a wonderful atmosphere.It was also a Tuesday night traditionally a dead night for the restaurant trade I am not positive but I think the locals know that they have a great bar and restaurant.
We have also ordered room service which was of a very high standard.

THE STAFF

This is where Margarets Beach resort excels.
The staff look genuinely happy to be working at the resort.
Our villa was spotlessly clean.
Our family would like to thank Tanya and Lee for making our holiday truly special.
Thankyou for organizing a birthday cake for my husband it's all the small touches that add up to making our stay memorable.
We will return and look forward to seeing the regeneration of the bush surrounding the resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskiaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are very glad you have not been deterred by the fires. We are also seeing the changes daily in the landscape. Our catch phrase here is welcome back and we extend that phrase to you and your family. See you in September
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Margaret's is a beautiful resort just a short drive from Margaret River. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with king beds in both rooms. It has everything you need for a self contained apartment. I would highly recommend Margaret's Beach Resort

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Margarets Beach Resort.
We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Don't be fooled by the Margaret River description - this property is a long and winding drive out of the township of Margaret river - it is close to the beach though.

Although our spa room was large, the design was so poor that is felt quite small. The bed was walled off from the rest of the living area in a pokey bedroom with little space to put bags. The resulting wall was divided into two closets - making each too small to be useful. The dark, awkward bathroom, which did not open from the bedroom, had a basic shower head over a basic corner spa with a shower curtain - meaning that it functioned poorly as either shower or spa.
The best view was saved for the kitchenette and dining table rather than from either the lounge or the bed.

On the plus side, there was a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom - although the dryer was mounted so high on the wall that even my partner, who is 180 cm tall, found it too high to operate conveniently.

Although the property appears new, a poor standard of finish and dowdy decor mean it already feels dated.

A bushfire in late 2011 means that what should have been a pleasant view across the dunes was a moonscape of burnt trees - although this is scarcely the resort's .

Positives - we did have a good night's sleep and the staff were pleasant and polite.

Room Tip: Only every second room has a balcony. If you are getting an upstairs room and want outdoor space - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
Unfortunately the bushfires in November 2011 have changed the landscape. However it is changing daily and hopefully will be back to normal in no time at all.
We are at present doing refurbishment of the apartments and do urge you to return in the future to experience the newly refurbished apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Hi,
We are a family of 4 ( 2 adults, 1 toddler and 1 infant 18months old) and just got back from Perth 2 weeks ago. We stayed at your property for 3 nights and really like it . The property is clean and apartment is sufficiently furnished with the basic necessities. We were give the upper deck room 2 bedroom during our stay. We arrived after hours and the keys to our apartment were placed in the security box as promised.

The children enjoyed the stay there except being rather annoyed by a neighbor who stayed directly one deck down. He described the kids running around the apartment ( even at the carpet area) like elephants stomping around. He even came up twice to warn us and in the second instance banged hard at the door like a hooligan.

Well, except for this, the stay was a memorable one :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeHan_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, my apologies for the interruption to your stay by another guest.
We do not condone other guests taking matters into their own hands. We do hope you will return to our resort when back in Western Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A pleasent drive from Perth taking around 4 hrs stopping once along the way... We stayed 2 nights during the off peak season... A well equipped unit with bath/DVD player and a modern TV.. Great views of the beach and a fantastic sunset from your balcony.... A well equipped kitchen which we used for out evening meals....Good beds,great heating and quiet for the duration of our stay. Upstairs is the better option...

Room Tip: Upstairs is the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carerontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Delighted to receive your comments, thanks very much for taking the time to submit them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a Studio Apartment during June 2012.
Being Kiwi's we didn't realize our planned trip to Margaret River coincided with Foundation Day long weekend so only really ended up at this hotel because it was some of the only available accommodation we could still find.
We did wonder where the heck we were going when we arrived on nightfall and ended up driving though all the Nov 2011 brushfire remains but when we woke up the next dy found Prevelly Beach to be a beautiful spot and within 10 mins drive from Margaret River township.
We were pleased with the facilities and it definitely provided all we needed in terms of a kitchen, comfortable bed and laundry facilities.
The only downside would be the bathroom toilet needs replacement as the flush buttons get stuck and water continually runs through the cistern...,also prefer a separate shower to the shower over bath provided.
This is good basic accommodation, it is not luxurious but does the job and I imagine would be a great spot for families.
We ate at the restuarant Gnarbar the first night and enjoyed the meal however chose to eat in Margaret River the second night.
We needed to use Wireless Internet which is a service you have to pay $10 for 4 hours however it was so slow we couldn't get onto the websites we needed so ended up complaining and getting this refunded on checkout.
A big thumbs up to the man who checked us in who provided good service and was very friendly. The only thing we found a bit weird was a knock on the door at 9.30 am the morning we were checking out to make sure we were on our way down to reception. We found this a bit rude given check out isn't until 10am and we only feel someone should be chasing you up after this time. It doesn't matter if they need the room we have paid until 10am.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our service! The issue with the toilet was reported to the maintainence team and has since been fixed. Apologies for our housekeeping staff disturbing you before checkout time – this was an error and is most definitely not our policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
5.9 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
5.5 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarets Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Beach Resort

Property: Margarets Beach Resort
Address: 1 Resort Pl | Gnarabup Beach, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#5 Family Hotel in Margaret River
#6 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Location Location Location ***Offering idyllic 4 star Margaret River Accommodation by the sea, Margarets Beach Resort is one of the best beach resorts in Western Australia (WA). It’s the perfect location for a romantic getaway or memorable family holiday in the renowned Margaret River Wine Region.Just 10 kilometres from Margaret River town, on WA’s spectacular South West Coast, and just 500 metres from pristine Gnarabup Beach, Margarets Beach Resort is the only resort accommodation by the sea.You can enjoy everything the Margaret River Wine Region has to offer, with easy access to the South West’s world-class wineries, caves, national parks, nature walk trails, surf breaks and other outstanding attractions and tours.The beach holiday resort offers a range of accommodation options for your Margaret River break. Choose from views to the magnificent coast, resort pool and gardens or the natural beauty of WA’s Naturaliste Ridge. And it’s just a short stroll to Gnarabup Beach, where you can enjoy the water playground or take in the stunning west coast sunsets.You’ll also benefit from a range of resort facilities to make your stay even more enjoyable.Relax, unwind and enjoy your Margaret River experience at Margarets Beach Resort.Includes Free WIFI. All our accommodation is Non Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Margarets Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Beach Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing