We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here just for a night at end of July 2014. The place is a very clean and cosy one with most of everything required for a short stay. The kids loved to watch the free DVD, and we had a wonderful BBQ. A basic complimentary continental breakfast was very useful given we were a family with young kids. We found the lady in the reception very courteous while welcoming us and showing our room round.

It is a bit expensive for winter outside the school holidays period. The management may think to review if 10-15% discount can be offered at these times as it could be a better deal bot for attracting the customers and helping sell-out the property in full. As it offers BBQ burners, a small wash sink facility beside the BBQ would be very useful, as one should not use the well-appointed bathroom for kitchen wash purpose! While the customers are offered with some degree of cooking facility, it would be more convenient and hygienic, if this small wash facility can be provided. Adequate lighting in the BBQ area is also a need.

We certainly like to stay again and recommend this property to our friends and families.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shafique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we would welcome you and your family and friends to stay with us.
The Family Room you stayed in with the BBQ does in fact have a light above it, look out for the switch on the wall next time. We do not expect any guests to wash dishes so no need for a sink. Dishes are replaced by housekeeping with fresh from the storeroom. We also clean both barbeques when used, so no need here either.
We do try to keep our prices in line with seasonal rates but feel we provide good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 421 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went away for the weekend and stayed at the Edge of The Forest for two nights. The owners were very knowledgeable in advising us about the region & local attractions.

The quality of our room and value for money was nothing less than exceptional. We would highly recommend this place to our family & friends.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

We are only too happy to pass on local knowledge so all of our guests have a great experience in the Margaret River region. The rooms were renovated last year and we feel are good value for money too.
Hope to have you both back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Owner was fantastic, she gave us many excellent recommendations on what to do and were to dine. Location was very good at short walk from the town. Nice room, comfortable beds, electric blankets, nicely decorated room with microwave, kettle and fridge and also a full size BBQ. Nice attention to details, free DVD and very clean motel. We recommend this motel, great value for money.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Filippo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendation. It was lovely to meet you and your children and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The dvds' are a bit of a hit with the children :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was so grateful for owner's kindness. Room was much better than the pictures I saw in website. Very clean and tidy. Location is awesome, which takes less than 2 minutes to the town. Barbecue area is wonderful as well. I definitely visit again. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 혜윤 권
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and high recommendation.
The barbeque area is wonderful as you say and as the weather warms up will be in full use.
Our housekeepers are very diligent with keeping our rooms clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This motel was a delight. an easy walk or car ride to Margaret River proper. The service was excellent for what we wanted, available when you want it and non-intrusive when you didn't. The beds were heaven...best sleep I've had in years. Wall mounted tv with endless access to dvds. Electric blankets and air-con/heater...we were there in winter so yummy and warm.

It had a delicious soft smell...fresh and inviting when we arrived and whenever we returned from a day out. All in all we had a really lovely time at the Edge of the Forest and have no trouble recommending it. We will be going back!

Room Tip: There are rooms closer to the road than others, ours was close but with the door shut we could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

What can we say but how delighted we are that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Me and my friend booked a room for a night and even though it was a short stay, the owner on reception was super friendly, and even asked us if we would want an upgrade, since it was off season and there were other rooms available. Clean, comfortable, cozy... we could even borrow some dvds to watch during the night... what more can we ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review and for such great comments. Hope we can have you back again some time:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a very comfortable place to stay with very helpful host. We had a quiet room at the back which was handy for parking and for using the BBQ. Very we'll equipped with everything that you need to cook dinner on the BBQ,

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Many thanks for your comments and we are happy that you found the accommodation and facilities comfortable and well equipped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
697 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,008 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing