We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Edge of the Forest is as you might expect...on the edge of the forest, it is also on the edge of the township (easy walking distance) and the edge of the highway (but not a noise problem) It also has very well considered renovated and equipped rooms. The bathroom makeover has been especially well done. Good new TV and DVD player, comfortable bed, microwave oven, fridge and the kitchen utensils you might need to self-cater. Electric blanket for cold nights and airconditioner for hot ones. Huge supply of (free) DVD movies, free WiFi, FRESH milk (fat or skinny) and hosts who obviously care that you enjoy your stay with them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

We love being on the Edge Of The Forest, the walk trail along the river from the back of the property has some stunning scenery. Walking home from dinner is great to help dinner go down.
We do care that everyone who stays with us has an enjoyable time in this beautiful holiday region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 424 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

This very small family-run motel is set in a pretty garden with plenty of private outdoor spaces to enjoy, even in mid-winter. The room was compact but so well-stocked that we had everything we could have wanted – including an electric blanket. Plenty of drawers and open shelves and counter space. Good advice on attractions and adventures. Reception hours are limited.

Room Tip: Owner says Room 5 consistently has trouble with internet for Apple devices only. He’s getting a boos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knittergram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We constantly hear from our Guests that our rooms are very well set out and supply more than the average Motel. Guests can enjoy the birds in the garden from the outdoor areas outside each room.
A booster has been installed with much success:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were certainly impressed with this place. The staff were great, friendly and room was clean. Even though it is situated on the highway, it was still quite quiet.
We stayed for a week and was pleased with our choice. My little girl loved the place and loved saying hello to the staff every time she saw them and they responded in a friendly manner. Thanks for the choice of children's dvd!!!

We will be recommending this place to our friends and family. And certainly will be our number one choice when we go back.

Thanks once again for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Such the cutest little girl you have, so friendly it would have been hard not to respond:)
The dvds' are a real hit with everyone. Hope Gran was ready when you went to pick her up and you had a safe trip home.

We look forward to having you back with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the warm welcome, location and amazing selection of DVDs for free! Unfortunately the WiFi which is meant to be in every room didnt reach ours as there was only one wifi box by reception. This was a big shame for us and a reason we chose this place. Apparently the owners are working on it.

Also, our room (4) had a very loud, long and frequent noise (every 5 minutes or less) of what I presume was water was refilling when someone flushes. It does stop after midnight, but if you sleep before that, bring some ear plugs.

Otherwise, a great place in a great location and lovely that you are given plates, cutlery and a nice big tv!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

More and more guests are travelling with Apple devices and we have noticed over the last few weeks that these products seem to have difficulty picking up the WiFi in the top 2 rooms, we have a technician coming in Sunday and hope to have this rectified asap:) Other Margaret River accomodation providors also state that Apple products have difficultly on occasion at their premises also.

Can't begin to imagine what the noise was that you were experiencing, havn't had anyone mention this before or after, so we can't throw any light on that one for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room at edge of the forest was excellent. A really modern bathroom and a king size bed. The free wifi is a bonus as we have to pay for this at many other hotels. I would recomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpdp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time.
Who doesn't love a King size Bed? 3 of our rooms have King Beds.
5 of our bathrooms were renovated in May this year, so you ejoyed the new look.

WiFi is so important and a great feature for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in an awesome room. Clean, recently renovated with everything you need to chill and relax in the magnificent Margaret River region. The owners will highlight the options available in the time you have, but hint make sure you stay long enough to see what the region offers. Well priced, great service.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks so much for chosing to stay with us, we loved having you here and hearing about your daily outings.
You are quite right about having enough time as many guests are quite blown away by the amount of attractions that this beautiful region has to offer.
Hope you are enjoying your "Special Purchase" from your chosen Artisan, that we were so lucky to have shown to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days and the service and amenities were fantastic. The room was spotless and the owner was veg attentive and explained all the facilities and showed us a map of restaurants. We would definitely stay here aga s as the definitely go the extra mile

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Irwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you W & M it was lovely to have met you both and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Menu folder is a hit and definately helps quite a few people decide where to dine:) Trust the rest of your holiday was fabulous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
712 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,020 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: $109 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing