We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the right place to stay in Margaret River.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Definitely the right place to stay in Margaret River.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spend 2 nights here & it was just great. Our host Denise was very nice & helpful in giving advice & information for our travels in the region. Our room #4 was very well furnished & a good size for 3 persons comfortably. It was the end of winter during our visit and it gets very cold in the mornings & nights. Fortunately the room comes with air conditioning, electric blankets & even more blankets in the cupboards. My wife loves this.

We will definitely recommend to stay @Edge of The Forest.
Thanks alot & God Bless Alan & Denise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    122
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
221
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We recently spent a winter getaway at the Edge of the Forest and had an excellent time in no small part due to the quality of the rooms and the excellent service provided by Alan and Denise. The room was delightful with a view over the garden and it was nice and warm when we arrived thanks to our hosts switching on the air-conditioner prior to our arrival. We had great access to forest walks from the motel, down to the river and also to the nearby playground. Our hosts were also helpful with advice on what to do for outings in and around Margaret River and the region. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Edge of the Forest, and especially in Winter!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend in this quaint and rustic motel. The owners, Alan and Denise, were very friendly, helpful and so welcoming. The room was lovely, clean and well appointed with a comfortable bed, made super warm with the heated under blanket, plasma tv, microwave, kettle etc and even washing up liquid !! The grounds were beautifully maintained and there was a bbq for the use of the residents and little courtyards outside each room where we could enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. It's close to town, just a walk up the hill which we really liked too, no need to jump in the car! We had a walk in the beautiful forest on Sunday morning which is a stones throw from the motel. We will definitely we visiting again and will make it our 'place to stay' in Margaret River!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Recently spending a weekend in Margaret River during the cold winter months we were very pleased to arrive late in the day to a warm room were the heater had thoughtfully been put on for us by the owners. Alan and Denise are very friendly and were pleased to answer all our questions and provide advice on what to do and see in the area. Our room was very clean and well maintained, with our four year old daughter stating that this was the cleanest motel we had stayed in and that we should come back! We stayed in the very reasonably priced family room and both our children loved the proximity of the forest and the near by playground. Highly recommend the Edge of The Forest for its value, friendly owners and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel recently (July). My experience was one of how a good operator can deal with a mistake in the most positive way. I booked a room for two nights through Wotif, paid my fees and headed down to Margaret River. On the way I was advised there had been a mistake and I could only stay at the hotel mfor one night. The owners were organising my second night at another hotel in the town. They werre very professional and genuine in their desire to ensure that our family break was not disrupted further. I received three calls on the way down there, updating me on the progress of alternative accomodation. Upon arriving, we were met by a smioling faced owner who was pleased to advise the y had been able to provide the second night as there had been a late cancellation....and weren't we fortunate!
The room has a rustic warmth with feature bricks, it is very roomy, perfectly cleaned and due to our hiccup with the booking a nice bottle of Margaret River Red was on the table! During our stay, the owners were without a presences...which is exactly how the break was intended to be. Room was cleaned in our absence and perfect when we arrived after a day of looking around Margaret River.
I recommend this spot to anyone travelling to Margaret River... a perect holiday at a family run hotel where customer service and standards are outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Edge of the Forest, my room #5 was exceptionally clean, cosy and very fairly priced. Literally on the edge of the Margaret River forest I woke up to a beautiful morning and enjoyed a hot cup of coffee in my court yard over looking the lush garden area. Then took a 15 minute stroll into the centre of town did some shopping, met some friends for coffee and then a short 15 minute stroll back to my room. Denise and Alan were very friendly and welcoming. I will recommend Edge of the Forest to all my friends that are planning to visit Margaret River.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LatravelsAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Rooms are fairly priced and the bedroom was nicely decorated and equipped with toaster, kettle, microwave, tv, dvd player, lots of tea and coffee, fresh milk etc, etc... The family that run Edge of the Forest were really helpful and the free dvd loan service is brilliant, exactly what you need in a town that shuts down at 8:30pm! We would totally recommend Edge of the Forest to our friends and family and my partners Grandmother is going to stay here in August!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
949 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Property: Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing