We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value motel in the heart of Margaret River”
Review of Grange on Farrelly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange on Farrelly
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value motel in the heart of Margaret River”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Good size room, queen bed, basic facilities but it's all you really need for one or two nights. Would recommend to anyone looking for good value motel accommodation in the heart of Margaret River - Walking distance to the main strip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnbosiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi dnbosiris, Thank you for writing in with your take on The Grange. What you have identified is what we are aiming to provide, so we are pleased that it came together for you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
When thinking: location, value, everything basic you need, select the Grange on Farrelly as your base.
Hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    109
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
129
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Did not like this place. Booked on-line where it stated absolutely no credit card was needed to book it. Booked it and then received an email and a phone call saying they would not accept booking without credit card. Wanted to know what time we would be arriving, told them 4-5pm. They rang us around 4:30 asking where we were as they wanted to lock up. Unit had a four-poster wooden bed and it creaked and groaned every time you moved. Also when you leave/enter the unit you need to place key in slot to turn on electricity. As power was off the fridge defrosted and left puddles of water on tiled floor (nice slip hazard).

Room Tip: Don't select Room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaide52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hello adelaide52. Very sorry you got caught up in a misunderstanding. You are right, there is on one site the option to book, at the last minute, without a credit card, it is very rarely used so I'm guessing the staff member just forgot about it, never mind you arrived safely. Reception closes at 7.30pm but maybe a bit earlier if everyone has checked in and it's a quiet time of year, but certainly not at 4.30pm. The fridge is a mystery, it won't turn off when the power tag is removed from the slot so it must have malfunctioned in some way - ok again now though.
Thanks for writing in as all comments are welcome and help us to improve what we have to offer.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Grange and found it very good indeed,Great location near to the main street,very good breakfast,shame the restaurant was closed for dinner,Rooms very clean and the fridge is a nice touch.Staff friendly and helpful .Highly recommended for a short stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinjam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hello martinjam 1.
Thanks for that good review, very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
The restaurant issue I have covered in the previous review response. Hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I own a B&B so I am really fussy where I stay. I would recommend this place to anyone, as far as a room goes. Its clean, different, and walking distance to the Main Street of Margaret River. The little garden area out back looked very run down which let the overall looks to the place down slightly.
No restaurant and it was Saturday night. Come on Grange be honest either you have a restaurant or not. It's advertised that there is. It sounds like there are a lot of excuses for this not to be open. I know I wouldn't get away with this.

Room Tip: These are only rooms with tea coffee facilities if you want more look for something different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Catherine Fred L.
Thanks for your review. Always nice to hear from another operator.
The Garden, yes, there is too much of it, what were they thinking in those days, land must have been cheap. Anyway, we do our best to keep it under control, it will never be manicured but it does harbour a lot of birdlife/wildlife, etc. which our guests can enjoy.
The restaurant will be re-opening soon, it had to close due to serious illness, and that's all I can say but it's not an excuse just a fact, and all of us wish it hadn't happened.
Hope to see you again one day, and thanks again for writing in.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent three nights at Grange on Farrelly. The room was spacious and comfortable with car parking outside the room. The motel is within easy walking distance of the main road through town but far enough away that the sounds of the huge trucks driving through town are not audible. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed for dinner (the chef was away in Perth) but we were able to have breakfast in the dining room each morning. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello tasgenie. Thank you for writing in, yes, we are so lucky to have the location that we do. It never ceases to amaze me how quiet the property is at night, thus ensuring a good night's sleep for the weary traveller or anyone who likes a quiet night to recover for the next day's activities.
Hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Kennedy, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay. Equipped with the essentials and enjoyed the free wifi (who wouldn't!)

A few minor issues:
1. Kept hearing someone run up and down outside our bedroom late at night (approximately 9:00pm.) probably a staff member as it was not the sound of children's feet and there were barely any other staying patrons nearby.
2. We didn't appreciate not being told the truth as to why the restaurant was unavailable. We rang up twice and were told both times that the bus wasn't back yet (assuming the chef/restaurant manager was on holidays). Didn't bother ringing on our 3rd night. By the last night we were finally informed that the chef was quite unwell hence the reason for the restaurant being closed. It would have made it easier to tell us from the start as we are open and honest people. Obviously divulging details is unnecessary but a simple "our chef is currently unwell" would have sufficed. Being lied to is a huge disappointment to us.
Perhaps look into hiring a temporary chef? Nevertheless, we wish the person a speedy and healthy recovery.

Would like to add a couple of improvements:
1. Basic DVD player! Haha, TV shows aren't want they used to be and the weather constantly interferes with the digital channels.
You could make a small profit out of charging people $2 to rent a DVD if you had a small selection.

2. Maybe a toaster, basic cutlery and a microwave? As we had brought some food but couldn't eat it due to not having these facilities made available. Definitely have the basic cutlery as some families might buy a cake or something to nibble on when they come back to their room and don't like using their fingers!

Other than all that, it was a pleasant stay. Enjoyed the old-style design the room had.

Would also like to thank the cleaners as they did a superb job! Came back to our room each night with our beds neatly made, PJs placed under the pillow and my teddy placed in the middle of the pillows. Was quite nice to receive these homely touches :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tellehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello Tellehunt. Thanks for your review. No idea why there was someone running around outside your room - certainly not a staff member, it's been quite a while since any of us ran anywhere.
You were not 'lied to' about the restaurant, we've got better things to do, it wasn't open on those days because of the reasons given, but as you say, you don't need the details, it's open or it isn't, there are, of course, numerous alternatives within a few minutes walk so it doesn't need to be a major issue for anyone. I will pass on your good wishes, thank you.
As always toasters and cutlery etc. are available on request. DVD players we're considering, but hesitating due to safety concerns, some of our TV's are in awkward positions so we have to err on the side of caution.
Thanks for writing in and we hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambewarra, Nsw
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed as a couple for 3 nights. The room was quite adequate for us. We had room 21 which had a big corner spa bath. Room had designated parking space outside.

The bed was comfortable and there was also a small table and two chairs, TV, basic toiletries and bar fridge

Critique wise (and these are minor points)
- Would have been handy to have an extra towel instead of just two. One of the towels did look like it had seen some service being a bit frayed but everything was very clean.
- it wasn't very clear where the pool was - it is right up the front of the property which wasn't exactly convenient to the rooms. We didn't use it due to weather.
- the central garden area seemed a bit run down but we didn't spend any time there

Overall good value for money considering the convenience of the location.

Room Tip: If you want to be able to sit outside your room and look at a garden, ask for a room which has direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fangfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello fangfluffy, thanks for your positive comments, that's it 'location and very clean', what can we add!
Thanks for taking the time to write in and we hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.3 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
5.1 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange on Farrelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange on Farrelly

Property: Grange on Farrelly
Address: 18 Farrelly St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange on Farrelly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Room Motel, four minutes walk from the town centre. Close to everything, good value.Time is of the essence? Ask our friendly staff to narrow down the numerous choices of activities available to suit you, we are here to help you to have the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange on Farrelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grange On Farrelly Hotel Margaret River
Comfort Inn Margaret River
Margaret River Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing