We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious accommodation, great location”
Review of Grange on Farrelly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange on Farrelly
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Grange is located very close to the main street, but in a quiet area, with no noise at night. Rooms are spacious, and ours had an outdoor sitting area looking out onto a garden, which was great. The staff are helpful and friendly. Yes, as others have said, it could do with an update, but it was clean and comfortable, so no major complaints. Having laundry facilities was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hello Bernie P. Thanks for your positive review. The Grange is unique in its way, yes it is getting on in years but it also has a lot of history attached and those positive points you've mentioned, quiet at night, clean, comfortable, etc are the points we try to get across to prospective clients, so thank you for your comments, which are appreciated by us.
Hope to see you again one day, when you are next in this part of the world.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have stayed here twice in August 2013 and recently March 2014, we have no hesitation in returning again. The staff are friendly and the rooms are spacious with their own fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, wine glasses (especially good for Margaret River) and TV. The decor is a little dated but rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Margaret River and all the restaurants, pubs and shops you could need. Breakfast is served between 7.30am-9.30am and offers a choice of continental and cooked with this consisting of bacon, sausage, 2 eggs of your choice, beans and tomato. There is a plentiful supply of cereals, juice, toast and coffe for you to help yourself.

Room Tip: No bad rooms here, all reasonably similar in size and quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanner73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Spanner73, thanks for writing in, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again one day. I'll admit we're not sure who you are but positive feedback and return clientele is the life-blood of this industry so, again, thank you.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The rooms are huge and beautifully furnished with a canopied bed and full sofa and coffee table. There is a foyer with a refrigerator and we borrowed a microwave. It had a beautiful patio overlooking the garden with nice table and chairs. The bathroom was immaculate. Lee the manager and chef was more than gracious. We had a wonderful lamb dinner that she cooked in their alfresco dining room for a very reasonable price. It was so quiet and peaceful and just 2 short blocks to the main part of town. The Visitor's Center showed us pictures and booked this wonderful accommodation for three nights. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skidollsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hello skibumsandiego (nice handle), thank you for writing in with such a positive review. Of course, Lee has seen it and sends her appreciation for your comments. Generally, as well as informing the travelling public in an encouraging way, reviews like yours also lift the spirits of management and staff, whose job it is to make people's travel experience an enjoyable one.
Thank you, and others like you, who have not only enjoyed their stay in Margaret River but have also then gone on to take time out to write of their experience for the benefit of others.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The accommodation was half a block from the main part of Margaret River, the service was friendly and great.
The rooms itself were a little outdated but were clean and I loved my four poster bed with spa room. I would stay here again and would recommend.
Area was safe and the accommodation had a pool, tennis court and bbq area with ample parking.
The price was also a bonus, I had the buffet breakfast which was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear STG123, Thank you very much for posting about your experience at the good ol' Grange on Farrelly. We are very pleased that it all worked out well for you, and looking at your other reviews it seems that your stay in Margaret River was a success all round, which is good for us as a destination.
Thank you for taking the time out to spread the word, on tripAdvisor, to other prospective travellers.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely, comfortable room (#7) in a quiet location, close to the town. The room was clean, well decorated & I loved the four poster bed! It contained everything I could have wanted, with the possible exception of glass tumblers in the bathroom (wine glasses provided).
Outside, it has a lovely private garden area, accessed from a rear door, and an individual patio table & chairs. The garden is shared with the other guests, & included a central wooden seating area with swing seat, and a half sized tennis court off to the side. The outside area is ideal for parties travelling together, especially if in adjoining rooms. There is also a pool, which I didn't get chance to try!
I was only passing through and stopping for one night, but would have been happy to spend longer here.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi Duncan W.
Thank you for writing in with your positive observations. It's always nice to know when our product 'hits the spot'.
It's a pity you couldn't have stayed in Margaret River a little longer as there is a great variety of things to do and see here, which is what keeps people coming back. Oh well, maybe another time.
Again, thanks for making the effort to say something positive which we appreciate, and it all adds to the pool of knowledge available to the travelling public via TripAdvisor.
Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This motel is very conveniently located to get to the wine areas around and the tours from Margaret River. The rooms are huge but a bit dated and it shows. Every room is named after a grape and it is quite pleasant to sit on the chairs overlooking the central wooded area. I was a little bit put off by the sheets as they were not sparkling white as I would have expected them to be. Lots of trees around the compound with lots of leaves on the ground. The lady at the front desk was really helpful. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Ladybeans,
Thanks for your review. Yes, the Grange is a little dated but it also has an interesting history attached; in its day it was 'The Place' to stay, and it still does the job of providing centrally located affordable accommodation suitable for the majority of travellers, everything within an easy reach.
By the way, as I've mentioned before on these threads, we are one of the few places still doing our own laundry on-site, which proved useful when the local laundry burnt down a few years ago. However, everything is clean so rest assured on that point.
Again, thank you for writing in and we hope you enjoyed your visit 'down-under'.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Excellent centrally located, well appointed and comfortable motel. Very conveniently located for day trips out to the attractions located in this region of the Margaret River. Within easy walking distance to all key shops, restaurants and health facilities. The only complaint was the lack of free WiFi which had to be paid at an extortionate hourly rate. Wifi should be like water "on tap" and essential

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank chrisrkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Hi chriskemp,
Thanks for that review, which summed up the Grange quite neatly, EXCEPT WiFi is free these days, ask for your voucher at reception. Free WiFi only started during December so we are still learning about it. I think the old pay-for-it option is still available to select but, of course, nobody does that any more. Sorry, if there was confusion about that.
We hope to have further news about WiFi in the near future as our provider is poised to upgrade, as I mentioned in an earlier response.
Thanks for writing in and we are pleased that you were satisfied with our product and had a pleasant holiday in Margaret River and Australia.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.3 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,031 reviews
5.1 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange on Farrelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange on Farrelly

Address: 18 Farrelly St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: $87 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange on Farrelly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Room Motel, four minutes walk from the town centre. Close to everything, good value.Time is of the essence? Ask our friendly staff to narrow down the numerous choices of activities available to suit you, we are here to help you to have the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grange on Farrelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grange On Farrelly Hotel Margaret River
Comfort Inn Margaret River
Margaret River Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing