We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, perhaps overpriced”
Review of Grange on Farrelly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange on Farrelly
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good location, right in the centre of town near the visitors centre. Rooms and furnishings pretty old, but this does mean there is lots of space and things are solidly made, though the headboard on our bed was broken. We booked a superior spa room but were given a multi-room suit instead. When we went and asked for our original room we got it, thankfully, as the suite appeared to have only a single fan heater for many rooms, and it was pretty cold!

The spa bath in our room was amazing and we got a quiet night's sleep in comfortable bedding. Would stay here again, but definitely wouldn't pay as much!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hello Meg660. Thanks for writing in with your comments, which were of a positive nature over all.
Just a comment on the room you booked, you would have paid a bit extra for the first room because it had a sitting room as well as the bedroom and spa bathroom, but you weren't to know that when you booked it, the room you eventually occupied happily, is the standard spa room. Anyway, it all worked out because the person we upgraded from the standard spa room to make way for your change of rooms was very happy to have the extra space. We do our best to accommodate everyone and in this case it worked out. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Australia, and particularly Margaret River, and we look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Grange on Farrelly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 251 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I wanted to visit Margaret River but were very much aware of the long week end prices,so we decided to try the Comfort inn at Margaret River, we found it very comfortable and very handy to the main town, reception very good gave us all the information we needed,Room very clean tea and coffee in room had our evening meal ,Very Tasty ,thank you for a nice week end apart from the weather.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Hello Alan. You said you would and you did - write a review. Thank you for the comments. Many say that they will write but most don't once they've moved on to the next thing, it takes a little effort, we know, so again thank you for your time and effort which is appreciated by us.
Picking up on your point about pricing, the Grange is not in the first flush of youth, as we've written before, but for clean, affordable, accommodation in the town centre, walking distance to all the town centre facilities, and in a quite location for a good night's sleep, we're right up there.
Sorry we couldn't organize the weather better for you, it's something we're working on.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Rgds,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

A pleasant place for a short break from the normal routine. Room was a good size - the spa excellent. A comfortable 4 poster bed. We found it quiet, the manager and staff attentive. Alarm clock radio however was pretty useless. Close to all amenities. Will return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plantagenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Hello Plantagenet, took me back to my school days with your 'handle'.
Sorry about the alarm clock, they are one of those irritating gadgets that no one knows how to use, and you can't buy the same make twice; we've probably got six or seven different types scattered around the property. As a tip, for those who must be awake at a certain time and are having trouble working out the alarm clock, unplug it and ask reception for a wake-up call.
Thank you for writing in with your comments on the Grange, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again next time you are in Margaret River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel is in a time warp and in dire need of capital investment. The maintenance overall is non existent and the property looks particularly tired.
The accommodation however was clean but expensive in relation to the product.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grgsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Hello grgsez, thanks for your comments, it's always good to receive feedback from our clients. Sorry, I can't comment directly about the price you paid, because I don't know what it was, except to say that it would be very unusual that our price was out of line with other accommodation outlets in Margaret River, and right now we are busy. One thing (of many things) we take seriously is to make sure that our pricing and what we have to offer is in line with the local market, i.e, COMPETITIVE! If we weren't we'd soon be out of business.
Regarding your 'Time Warp' comment, well, yes, we are in a sort of time warp, the good old Grange is an institution from way back and to change it would mean that it wouldn't be the Grange any more. Funnily enough, I was discussing that very point, only this morning, with a client who loved their stay and saw virtue where you saw a problem.
The thing is that no outlet can be all things to all people, we are quite happy to accept your point of view, but we know our product and we have many repeat clients going back well over ten years, so, here and there, things can't be that bad.
Non-existent maintenance? Hmm, should I mention that to my maintenance people?
Anyway, again, thank you for your comments, any comment, positive or negative, adds to the mix and helps us to keep our staff on their toes and assists us to keep our focus on the things that matter.
Hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

When we arrived at The Grange, we were greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful receptionist. She took a great deal of time showing us a map of the surrounding area, finding out what our tastes were and recommending places to visit. We had decided to cut our stay down by one night and again this was not a problem to her and she dealt with it efficiently and without a charge. The man on reception later on was again very friendly and helped us to access the swimming pool and bbq and leant us equipment to use. The rooms were immaculate, cool and comfortable, with a pleasant terrace area outside for each room. The small swimming pool was clean and pleasant and provided a refreshing early morning swim.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubiubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Hello ubiubb. Thank you for your many positive comments above, we do our best to provide a service and when it all comes together for our guests, and we receive positive feedback, it makes it all worthwhile for us and our staff.
Thank you for coming onto TripAdvisor to share your experience with others, we will show your comments to staff members as they like to know that their efforts are appreciated. We hope your trip to Australia was a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My wife and I have stayed several times for personal breaks, and the company I work for (Greenline) use The Grange regularly.
We sometimes book on short notice and 9/10 manage to get a room, the motel is walking distance from the main street of Margaret River.
Rooms are a good size with TV, Fridge, Bathroom, Sofa & Chairs, Queen Bed (some rooms with 4 poster beds) and rooms are always excellent value.
We have had breakfast several times at the Grange and it has always been a great meal.
My wife and I have never had a bad stay at The Grange, and as far I know, none of my work colleagues have any complaints either, highly recommend
Cheers Paul & Teresa

Room Tip: All rooms we have used are fantastic and easy access and parking, they have a room with a Spa which...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nocky-1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Hello Nocky_SNR, sorry I didn't respond quite as fast as usual but I took a couple of days negotiating my way through TripAdvisor's new security rules. Oh well.
Anyway, we'd like to thank you for those kind words and we are pleased that you and your colleagues have enjoyed your many stays with us, the' guys and gals' from Greenline are always a friendly bunch and are always welcome at The Grange.
Thank you for taking the time out to come on TripAdvisor and post the positive comments that you made.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Comfort Inn Grange for a weekend in Margaret River. The location of the hotel is very convenient to the main town in Margaret River, allowing an easy 5 minute walk into town. We were also able to make a last minute booking, which was nice. However, the actual hotel is fairly average. Nothing special but nothing too wrong with it. It has a very traditional style to it and is tidy and well-kept. The gentleman at the front desk was a bit rough and didn't greet incoming guests too well. We were pretty much handed the keys without too much information about the property and the workings of the hotel restaurant was not very well communicated. Breakfast is from 6-9 am and dinner is only served based on bookings. The pool was also shut and locked, and since it was a particularly hot weekend, it would have been nice to take a swim. Overall, I'm sure there are nicer places to stay in Margaret River, but if you're more concerned about location and price and less so about your room, the Comfort Inn isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peenut557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 7, 2011

Hello peenut557, thanks for your comments which were positive overall.
The couple of things you've picked us up on we'd like to respond to: First, the locked pool is an issue familar to anyone who reads these pages, for the record, one more time, we keep the pool locked, when not in use, to stop local school children jumping in and taking it over to the point where our own guests cannot use it. Sounds silly, I know, but that's what happens. Of course, the pool is available for guests to use anytime during daylight hours and reception will happily unlock it on request.
Second, I am the rough gentleman you would have encountered on the front desk! Sorry, if I didn't impart as much information and knowledge as I usually do, the reason would have been that my receptionist resigned suddenly and so in addition to all that I have to do I am also receptionist until we find a replacement (which we now have) and get the training completed (on-going at the time of writing).
Oh yes, breakfast is 7.30am to 9.00am just to set that straight.
We are glad that you otherwise enjoyed your stay, we thank you again for your comments and hope to see you again one day.
Rgds,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.8 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.3 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange on Farrelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange on Farrelly

Address: 18 Farrelly St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: $89 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange on Farrelly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Room Motel, four minutes walk from the town centre. Close to everything, good value.Time is of the essence? Ask our friendly staff to narrow down the numerous choices of activities available to suit you, we are here to help you to have the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange on Farrelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grange On Farrelly Hotel Margaret River
Comfort Inn Margaret River
Margaret River Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing