We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf”

Margaret River Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Margaret River Golf Club is a private club open to both new members and visitors. The club is located in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Region, just 5 minutes drive from the town centre, and situated on the Leeuwin-Naturaliste Coastal Ridge. The 6092 metre par 72 course is one of Western Australia’s most highly regarded country courses. The golf course was created by a group of golfing enthusiasts in the early 1950's in a bushland cleared setting near the mouth of the Margaret River and winds its way up and down the slopes of the coastal ridge. This spectacular setting is complemented by an abundance of flora and fauna, native and local trees. The resident kangaroos have been a major attraction for visitors, golfers and non-golfers alike for many years. Although not heavily bunkered, the course features numerous water hazards, mostly on the front nine holes. The back nine in particular requires careful shot consideration owing to the undulating fairways and large trees. The Margaret River golf course is in pristine condition year round and at its perfect best during the winter months especially. Visitors are welcome but bookings are essential. Clubs, buggies and carts are available for hire at the Margaret River Golf Shop on course, that also stock a wide range of Hire Golfing equipment, Golfing essential and also has a great stock of Golfing Fashion apparel. The clubhouse offers a well stocked bar and stunning views over the course from the verandah. Visitors Price List & Information Visitors are welcome to play at Margaret River Golf Club. Visitors with an Official AGU Handicap and are a current member of an Australian Golf Club are eligible to play in Club Compeitions, with the exception of Honour Board and Presidents Trophy events. Visit Margaret River Golf Club for Hole Descriptions A challenging 18 Holes, Par 72 Golf Course set in scenic surroundings of native fauna and flora. Situated 8 kms from the Town Centre Par 72, 6092 metres Bookings recommended and are essential during Christmas/New Year and Easter The course was created by a group of golfing enthusiasts in the early 1950s in a bushland cleared setting midway between the town of Margaret River and the Coast. The course winds its way up the slopes of the Leeuwin-Naturaliste ridge with the last five holes in particular affording spectacular view of the rolling countryside and vineyards. Green Fees 18 Holes ( Adults) $49.00 9 Holes (Adults) $30.00 18 Holes (Juniors) $22.00 16 years and under 9 Holes ( Juniors) $12.00 Electric Carts 18 Holes $40.00 9 Holes $27.00 Hirer of Electric Carts must be 18 years of age and over HIRE CLUBS including a Hand Trolley from $25.00 Hand Trollies $ 5.00 Public are invited to play outside Competition Times, Children under 12 must be accompanied by an Adult. DRESS REQUIREMENTS A Neat Standard of Golf Attire is a requirement. NOT PERMITTED are short skirts, singlets, tank tops, track suits, sandals and thongs. COURSE RATING Men Blue Tees 124 Women Red Tees 126
Christopher Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great golf”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are in the area and have the time, you will really enjoy a game of golf on this golf course. The golf professional and his staff are very helpful. The course has plenty of kangaroos to also add to your game.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Didn't play there, just wanted to buy a shirt but there was no-one to serve us.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stopped off on our way through the region especially to buy a souveneir golf shirt for my father in law. There was no-one in the golf shop and my husband had to walk around to find another staff member to ask about it, and was met with disinterest by a rather unhelpful man in the bar. He was told that the owner of the golf shop was out on the course but his wife "should be around somewhere". She was nowhere to be found. We left in disgust and my husband was very disappointed that he couldn't get his father a shirt.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lazy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Manager at Margaret River Golf Club, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
apologies that the shop was unattended, which is very rare. Unfortunately we had an emergency on course which we had to attend to quickly. We are open 7 days a week from 6.30 am until 6.30 pm, but sometimes circumstances happen that are beyond our control and sometimes they require a quick response. I do hope you come back again in the future as we have a great range of golf apparel.
regards
Amanda Farrell
Margaret River Golf Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toshima-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great course and a great custodian - camera lost and found!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I enjoyed this course immensely. It plays very well and is kept in top-notch condition by John and his groundsman. John is so knowledgeable about the course, where to play to, where the best shade is, the shortest walking routes/short-cuts, where to find toilets and most importantly water. The wildlife is beautiful too; kangaroos, parrots and other birds. What a great experience. Great value too. Definitely worth getting a buggy.

On a personal level I must thank John so much as I walked off the course having not realised that my $800 SLR camera had fallen out of my bag during the round. I returned later and spoke to John and we immediately went out in a cart (with his dog) and drove around the entire course hunting for it. John stopped and asked many of the local golfers if they had seen it and to keep an eye out too. I felt so sick at the thought of losing it but John had such a cheerful and positive attitude and sure enough we got to the last group of (Irish) guys out on course and they had picked it up.

I tried to give John a tip for being so kind and spending so much time out on course but he wouldn't accept it. What a selfless and decent chap. I left a tip behind the bar for the Irish guys too ;)

Thanks a lot John. You're a legend. Thanks to the Irish guys too! I'll definitely recommend this course to friends and family far and wide.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Country gem”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have been in the Perth area on a golfing trip with a group of 10. Now down to a group of 4 it was suggested that we play this course. WOW what a great suggestions we had no trouble getting a booking even though it was a Saturday. Received a very warm welcome from John. Everything was ready for us all we had to do was load up our carts and tee off. The course is great, the tress are challenging and the greens were some of the best we had played. Pro shop is well stocked with both men and women's gear something we hadn't found at a lot of the other golf clubs. Keep up the good work and if you are golfer don't miss this one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pommiegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a great course”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are visiting Margaret River bring your clubs...you won't be disappointed. Great club and wonderful staff here. A challenging course for any golfer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret River Golf Club also viewed

Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Augusta, Margaret River Region
 
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing