We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely manor with lovely breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is simply beautiful. The surroundings and building is very well-taken care of for a century old place. The Ala-carte breakfast was very good with great sides for buffet. We get a good view of the lawn and lake while hvg breakfast.

We wld hv given them a 5 star rating if not for the lack of service from the staff. We arrived at 8pm on our first nite and there was no one to greet us. Instead an envelope with my name was left on front counter with the key to my room. And the 2nd incident was at breakfast when I picked up a plate at buffet table. A staff came up to me spoke in a rather curt tone asking what I had wanted. Told her I wanted a plate to pick up some fruits. She pointed to the bowls and said use this. It was rather disappointing tt the staff didn't match up with this fine establishment.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank StephSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear StephSoh,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so sorry to read that you felt that there was a lack of service from the staff on two occasions. This is most unusual and as you will read from other posts certainly not what many guests tell us they enjoy.
Again, we apologise for the experience you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 759 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

This glorious hotel was our home for two days on a recent visit to Margaret River. We loved it; the welcoming ambience of the entrance as you step inside, our beautiful room, the quiet and peaceful lounge rooms where you could read and play with those tablets none of us can live without, lovely breakfasts, the magnificent gardens, crystral clear swimming pool which was just the right temperature...and, last but not least the friendly, helpful staff. Those scrumptious freshly baked scones we were presented with as we checked out (which we are sitting overlooking Bunker Bay) were the icing on the cake. What more can I say! We gave it eleven out of ten and can't wait to return!! Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We had the only room with the original stone call (as featured in the photo on the Basildene Manor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Michav,
Wow - what a wonderful review. Thank you! Its is great to hear from guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their stay from the moment of stepping foot into the entrance to the farewell scones.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were blown away by the standard of the room, the breakfast, the grounds and the pool (a perfect place to cool down after visiting wineries). Would highly recommend it and would love to stay again. It's in a great location. The scones for the trip home were a thoughtful touch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear DianneP64,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jockrose
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer! We loved Basildene Manor from the moment we viewed it on the internet. From the moment we arrived and were given the tour by Max, we were hooked! Perfect place to relax, the gardens are beautiful and our court yard suite was amazing. Next time I am hoping to have a Lake view Suite:) All the staff from day 1 were genuinely friendly. Loved our freshly baked scones to see us on our trip home to Perth or is Baslldene Manor home?......... We loved the late check out at 12 noon. To be honest, we don't think that there was anything we didn't like! We did think that the staff "deserve" a more comfortable office, looks a tad to little!! We will definately be going back there soon and recommend it to anyone:)

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a Deluxe room to the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveandPamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear PammyD62,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay after waiting for so long! Max and all the team at the Manor work tirelessly to ensure that all guests have a fabulous stay with us and they thrive on the wonderful feedback we receive.
Again, we thank you for your review and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at Basildene Manor for a week. It was a perfect place to base ourselves to explore the Margaret River. The rooms were a generous size and the furnishings were new and very comfortable. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. When you visit make sure you have a Devonshire Tea in the atrium over looking the beautiful gardens and at night sit by the fire and have a glass of the exquisite local wines.

Room Tip: The Superior Studio in the renovated wing on the ground floor is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clare_lovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Clare_lovestotravel,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you had such a great stay - certainly sound like a perfect break.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014


My niece and I stayed for two nights in "Riesling", one of the fancy suites with a bright private courtyard.

Loved everything about the stay and we couldn't fault anything at all. The service was excellent from the moment we walked through the door and were greeted by Max at the front desk... to the time we left with our little surprise gift at checkout.

The Manor itself gave you the feeling you were stepping back in time - with classic styling and tasteful interior design right through. Gardens were immaculately manicured, there seemed to be acres of lush green lawn, there was a great pool (which we enjoyed!) and the included breakfast was one of the best I have had.

Lastly, it was a real bonus to be able to do some washing while we were away, which we could do using the guest laundry.

Had a great few days.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellabarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear bellabarrett,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased so read that you and your niece enjoyed your stay. Max will be delighted to read your comments. All staff at the Manor work so hard to ensure that all guests have a wonderful stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
737 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
572 reviews
20.5 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: $256 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing