We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just the place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The service at Basildene Manor was excellent, all the staff were most helpful and extremely accommodating. The room was clean and beautiful. Location was central to the town, wineries and cafes should you have your own transport. If not bus tours are available. Loved the fresh Devonshire teas whilst you overlooked beautiful gardens. Nice and cosy sitting by the fire reading or enjoying a glass of wine. Stayed for a week can't wait to go back there. Recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Cheryl M, Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    81
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
484
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Basildene Manor is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. The gardens, the building, the breakfasts - everything was perfect. My partner and I have enjoyed many wineries in both the Hunter and Barossa Valley and now Margaret River, but of our time in Margaret river we couldn't wait to get back to the Basildene and cook our own barbecue overlooking the beautiful garden. We even discussed getting married there! (If only it wasn't so far from home). Next time we will stay longer than two nights!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Melissa C, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after stay with us at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. The perfect spot for a wedding! Please let us know if there is any further information you need regarding this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Basildene Manor for 5 days. It was absolutely beautiful. The grounds are picture perfect. The buidling is just amazing inside and out. The staff where very friendly and helpful and nothing was a bother to them.
The hotel itself is not on the main drag but still close enough to be able to walk to the shops etc if you want to.
Just loved it and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear radronny, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. So pleased that you enjoyed our gardens which are lovingly tended to by our award winning gardener. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Basildene Manor was a beautiful place to stay. The room, service and food were impeccable. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a little more luxury than the usual. I wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Cathy F, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Manor. We agree - a beautiful place to stay with out of this world service. We look forward to welcoming you back again for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful peaceful stay in a heritage property that is well appointed and is run by great staff who were knowledgeable about the Margaret River area. The room was spacious and tasteful. The grounds are stunning. Lived up to our expectations and more.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Stephen M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Manor. We are delighted to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Junction, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've just arrived home after another wonderful stay at the Manor. This has become our favourite place for a relaxing getaway. The staff are friendly and helpful and Daniela always remembers us from our previous stays which we love. Our room, named the "Grange" was lovely and spacious with the most delightful view from the balcony overlooking the well manicured lawns and gorgeous gardens. If your very lucky on one of your garden walks, you might see the delightful blue wrens. You must be quick to photograph them though! The breakfasts are scrumptious and as you dine you overlook the manors gardens. This is such a peaceful, romantic place to stay. One thing we didn't manage to organise whilst we were staying this visit, was to indulge in their Devonshire tea but to my absolute delight, on departure this morning, we were handed a farewell gift of two scones to take home with us. Thank you Daniela and Jenny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Colleen H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It is always a pleasure to welcome back our valued guests. So please you enjoyed the homemade scones to take home.
We look forward to welcoming you yet again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family and new sister in law stayed at Basildon for pre wedding photos. The staff went above and beyond to help us enjoy our day photographing. The grounds were perfect for wedding photos the scones were to die for and the breakfast will keep us coming back. Everything we could have wished for and more. We will be back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenjoanianandmarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Helenjoanianandmarsha,
Thank you for the review. It is great to hear that you have a great day doing pre wedding photos at our property. We are ecstatic to know that it was everything you could have wished for and more. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
0.9 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest
Edge of the Forest
#3 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
22.1 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing