We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our romantic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our romantic holiday”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this property because it looked good on bookings.com but nothing prepared us for the brilliant old building, outstanding service (which is rare), freshly prepared breakfast, scones in the afternoon (cooked upon request), quality of the accommodation, magnificent grounds, and personal tour on arrival, all at an excellent rate. If you don't book and stay while you are in Margaret River, you are missing out.

Room Tip: The king room up stairs in the main historic building had beautiful views and gave you access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Debbie A,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of The Manor and the service given by all staff. They consistently strive to exceed all guests expectations and will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    88
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
514
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was very disappointed to learn on arrival that this ‘Manor House’ was not a hotel, not even a serviced apartment but merely a B&B. Even though I had done my research, nowhere was I led to believe this was just a B&B because if I had known I would not have stayed here at a price tag of $350+ per night. You had to get in the car for every meal! The rooms are laid out beautifully but only works in a hotel environment (that’s how I was fooled, so my mistake I guess). I was hoping to sit on my terrace overlooking the gardens with a nice glass of wine (it is the wine region after all), instead I had a terrace with a brick wall fronting onto the car park.

Booking (Online Agent):
I made my booking through an online agent and put in all my details for the room I wanted (including an infant) and it was processed straight away. However when the Manor got my booking they informed us that an infant could not stay in this room as it was too small and not sound proofed and required a cot by law. So we had to take another room at a higher rate, we made the point that our booking had been accepted with an infant and they should honour the initial rate, but they didn’t. Instead they offered a very slight discount so we felt backed into a corner really as there was very little else available in the area, thus we caved and agreed to the higher rate. I think that’s why they put us in the room with the brick wall terrace and surprise surprise there was no cot in the room either, so much for the ‘law’…..

Room (Semillon Suite):
The room next door to us decided to play loud music as they were getting ready for an evening out just as we were putting our baby to sleep so I guess none of the rooms are sound proofed as we were led to believe? Also our room was in the newer part of the building and was next to the exit door so from 5am each morning guests were coming and going with luggage, very annoying. Now I know it’s an old building and Australia has problems with damp in general but there was a clear smell of damp in the general areas of the building.

Food (Breakfast)
Cooked breakfast was awful and the fact that the platters of fruit had ants crawling all over them was very off putting so I ended up having only tea and toast. Shame really as a good breakfast could have redeemed the manor on its other faults.

Service (No room service):
Overall the service was what you would expect from a B&B. No room service (only linen change and room clean) and no bar! The staff were friendly and we got a ‘tour’ of the building on arrival! You had to haul your own luggage though so if you are staying in the heritage building beware there is a stairs and no lift!

Good points:
Nice and friendly staff, Tea and Coffee station open until 7pm, Good Location & Nice Grounds.

General comment:
Mercure could improve this Manor by either upgrading their services or reducing their prices.

Tip: For anyone who has travelled around WA or for that matter outside any major city in Australia, you will know that hotels are far and few between. So my advice is don’t look for what’s not there and instead of getting ripped off in these high end chain B&Bs stay in a local guest house and even though prices are still high for what you get at least that way the money is going back into the community. The people of Margaret River are very friendly and deserve your custom.

Room Tip: Suites facing garden best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jakers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jakers7,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so sorry to read of your dissatisfaction. A full investigation has taken place with the help of our Assistant Manager at The Manor.

Upon receiving your reservation made through an online booking site, our Assistant Manager called you directly to advise that whilst the booking engine had allowed you to enter two adults and an infant, the room type you had booked was not large enough to take a travel cot. You were offered a larger room in a different wing which usually carries the upgrade cost of $80. This was reduced to $50.00 for you.

Upon checking the booking website you used, we can see that the description and information given is correct. It does advise that babies and children cannot be accommodated in a Manor room and that whilst buffet and a la carte breakfast is served, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed at any of the many restaurants in the area.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the garden courtyard. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast as so many guests do. We have not had a problem of ants reported to us but be assured we will monitor this.

Our staff at the Manor take a great pride in there guest service and strive to exceed all expectations. They are always happy to help with anything a guest may need.

Again, we thank you for your review and apologise for the dissatisfaction caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irymple
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location. As a member of Accor the only downside was there were children onsite where the advertising stated that no children allowed.
Great rooms on the south side overlooking the garden which is beautiful to walk around. Plenty of rooms to sit and read and a great breakfast which was a good start to the day.
As it is located on the edge of town it is a good walk into Margaret River and is very quiet tranquil location with plenty of bird and wildlife in the garden at the right times.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
Good access to beach and path on Walcliffe Road is great for bike riding.
Not far to the golf course which is challenging layout and not far to some very good wineries and breweries.

Room Tip: Get the bath suites. Bigger room and nice outlook over gardens on south side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macca1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Macca1168,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. To clarify, whilst the Manor is not a family resort, we do not disallow any guests who may wish to make a reservation. We would be grateful if you could you let us know which advertising led you to believe this.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth,australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent place for rest and relaxation.
Lovely sunroom for breakfast. Go early for breakfast otherwise it gets busy and it takes longer for your meal to arrive. We waited over half an hour the first morning. But there's lots of fruit, cereal, toast, jam and coffee to fill you up while waiting.
Stayed in one of the suites upstairs in the new extension. Nice and spacious. Beautifully decorated. Nice verandah to sit on and look out over the manicured gardens.
Would highly recommend for a weekend getaway from it all.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have view of gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklingshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear sparklingshoes,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased to read that you has an enjoyable relaxing stay with us. The breakfast is a firm favourite with all guests and as it is always freshly made to order it can take a little longer at busy times. we are glad that you also enjoyed the continental breakfast whilst you were waiting.
Again we thank you for your review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Surprised my husband for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The staff were wonderful and arranged for a bottle of Moet to celebrate our milestone. The room was very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The gardens are just beautiful. Thank you for making our brief stay wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Julie6766,
Happy 20th Wedding Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your short stay, which was made all the more enjoyable by our wonderful staff. They will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon - maybe for longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The only down side was that the reception room smelt like cat wee :( The rooms were lovely and the staff were helpful. The gardens surrounding the hotel are lovely and the bath is nice and big. The breakfast was really nice but a little overpriced and they didn't clean our rooms at all the entire stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Istarae,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are shocked to hear that you felt that the reception smelt of cat urine. Please be assured that we do not allow any animals into the building. We have never received complaints of unpleasant smells in any part of the building. Reservations made using an Accor Vacation Club membership do not include a mid-stay clean, but are cleaned upon check out. Of course if a mid-stay clean is required this can be arranged at the time of booking or with reception. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room , in particular the lovely bath.
Again, we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife Lynne and I have spent 3 wonderful days in the Margaret River region. We stayed at Basildene Manor and were pleasantly surprised by our experience there. The staff were really friendly and most helpful, the quality of the accomodation was excellent and the gardens surrounding the Manor were beautifully manicured. Its the perfect place to unwind after a day out in the beautiful Margaret River Region. Well done and keep up the high standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear DAVID A,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us. The Margaret River region is such a beauty to explore, and what better way to end the day but to return to stay at The Manor. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
22.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
948 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing